We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Stay at this stunning spot”
Review of Cafe 1511

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cafe 1511
Ranked #18 of 227 Melaka B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 7, 2009

We stayed here for three nights on our 3.5 month trip in South East Asia. We can honestly say that it was one of the best, if not THE best, spot we stayed at. It is a traditional house, which has their Café down stairs and the rooms upstairs. It is a gorgeous, homely guesthouse and the owner, Colin, makes you feel right at home. There are three toilets&showers for 4 immaculate bedrooms and breakfast included. He has a little lounge area where you can pretty much chill out and watch any movie you want. Colin's family has owned the property for a couple 100 years now, including the museum next door and can fill you in about all the history of the town like no one else can.

This accomodation has only been open for about 2 months and I can see that this will become one of the most popular places to stay in Melaka.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SamandAndre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (209)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

154 - 160 of 209 reviews

Reviewed May 31, 2009

This guesthouse only opened 2 months ago and have 4 rooms. I would say that the place is clean, tidy and provide good facilities. It is very near to Jonker Street and easy accessible to many shops and restaurants. For a budget guesthouse like this, the cleanlinest is at its top ranking. However, the owner wants his guests to treat his place with respect and this place is only for guest whose age is 30 and above only. So if you are happened to be some junkies or drunkards, sorry, this place is just not for you. The only drawback about this place is the HUNGRY mosquitoes, so please have an insect repellant ready.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Grgeous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2009

It had been open only two weeks when we got there, but a wonderful place to stay. Rooms were clean, and any concerns about a shared bathrooms were soon dispelled, they were clean, and only shared with three other rooms, were brand new. Owners were extremely charming and helpful. The location was top notch in Chinatown, in an old Chinese shophouse, with a lovely cafe downstairs. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wildhaggis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Emeline-Julien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2017, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Arthur L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2016, traveled with family
Thank Sky Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2016, traveled with friends
Thank sissirina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Puri
Hotel Puri
#11 of 168 in Melaka
1,259 reviews
2.3 mi away
Sunflower Hotel Malacca
Sunflower Hotel Malacca
#39 of 168 in Melaka
68 reviews
0.1 mi away
Layang Layang Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Nomaps
Nomaps
#1 of 153 in Melaka
110 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Hong
Hotel Hong
#3 of 227 in Melaka
252 reviews
0.2 mi away
River Song Residence
River Song Residence
#47 of 227 in Melaka
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cafe 1511? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cafe 1511

Address: 52 Jalan Tun, Melaka 75300, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 227 B&Bs / Inns in Melaka
Price Range: $20 - $28 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Cafe 1511 1*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Cafe 1511 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cafe 1511 Hotel Melaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing