We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (215)
Filter reviews
215 results
Traveler rating
92
85
20
6
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
92
85
20
6
12
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
76 - 81 of 215 reviews
Reviewed July 3, 2012

Great location, very clean and comfortable! Free wifi and computer access. Good selection for free breakfast. Highly recommended.

Date of stay: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tebay2
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2012

We were looking for a quiet place to stay after spending 5 intense weeks in India and we felt we made the right decision in heading straight to Melaka as soon as we walked out of the airport (Kuala Lumpur)...Cafe 1511 wasn't our first option since bathrooms were shared but the other hotels in the same location were all full so we called Collin and he booked us the attic room...we were so glad we stayed here instead since the place did feel homey...the GH is a former shophouse so it has character and is very well kept...rooms are small-ish but we usually care more about cleanliness and the shared bathroom wasn't even an issue anymore...staff are friendly and discreet and the laksa we were served for breakfast was fantastic! (we ended up having the same dish every morning during our stay)...location-wise, it's just a block away from Jonker St without the noise and a few steps from Hainan Food Street..we also had lunch here one day and were not disappointed..

I can't remember how much we paid but probably around US$30 per night for 2 adults so found it to be very good value..

A friend happens to be going to Melaka in a couple of weeks and I've insisted he stay in Cafe 1511...

Date of stay: March 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Buquing
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2012 via mobile

Nice cafe with rooms on d 2nd and 3rd floor. Room comes with air con and shared bathroom. There's a common place where u can watch dvd and there's a big shelf of books. They serve nice laksa nyonya as well.

Date of stay: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tieneit
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2012

We stayed at the cafe 1511 for one night and had a great experience. We had the attic room, initially felt awkward, but in no time, it felt like your bedroom. The place is very clean. Bathroom located a floor below attic, but was not a problem. Privacy is respected. The owners were very friendly and did a fantastic job. The breakfast was simply ample and delicious.
We had a choice of movies from a movie library and books for a full shelf. If I have a chance to visit Melacca again, I will consider to stay there again.

Room tip: Consider asking if you are being booked for attic room ; given about 4 flights of stairs and small steps. And also note the the bathroom is on a floor lower than attic .
Date of stay: April 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Helena R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2012

At the outset, let me state that we stayed in the sister property of Cafe 1511, Cafe D'Laksamana. As there is not entry yet for the new property, I thought I could put my review here as it is under the same management.

The house is a short walk away from all the action near the Jonker Street area. But it's only about 5 minutes, 10 minutes maximum. There were 7 of us, so we booked all four rooms in the house. Sadly, we could only stay for 1 night but as a base for exploring Melaka, the property is great.

The house has 4 rooms, 2 rooms with double beds, 1 with twin beds and 1 with a single bed. There are mattresses available so potentially, you could fit around 10 people in there. The toilets were nice and clean. There is free wifi and a computer if you don't have a laptop with you.

I want to make special mention of Colin, the owner. He went out of his way to make sure our stay was good. The free breakfast which is to be served at Cafe 1511 was only going to start around 9 am. Our bus was leaving at 8. So he picked us up at around 7 am from the house and drove us himself to Cafe 1511 where he had breakfast prepared extra early for us. Then he brought us to the bus station himself! Talk about service. It was amazing!

Kudos to Colin and his staff! According to him, they are going to open another property this year. I personally recommend staying in his properties. Go!

Date of stay: March 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sleepyinsomniac
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews