We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap n Cosy n Convenient”
Review of Cafe 1511

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cafe 1511
Ranked #16 of 212 Melaka B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Penang, MY
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Cheap n Cosy n Convenient”
Reviewed June 3, 2012 via mobile

Nice cafe with rooms on d 2nd and 3rd floor. Room comes with air con and shared bathroom. There's a common place where u can watch dvd and there's a big shelf of books. They serve nice laksa nyonya as well.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tieneit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    83
    15
    6
    12
See reviews for
25
81
42
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Ann Arbor
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2012

We stayed at the cafe 1511 for one night and had a great experience. We had the attic room, initially felt awkward, but in no time, it felt like your bedroom. The place is very clean. Bathroom located a floor below attic, but was not a problem. Privacy is respected. The owners were very friendly and did a fantastic job. The breakfast was simply ample and delicious.
We had a choice of movies from a movie library and books for a full shelf. If I have a chance to visit Melacca again, I will consider to stay there again.

Room Tip: Consider asking if you are being booked for attic room ; given about 4 flights of stairs and small s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Helena R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2012

At the outset, let me state that we stayed in the sister property of Cafe 1511, Cafe D'Laksamana. As there is not entry yet for the new property, I thought I could put my review here as it is under the same management.

The house is a short walk away from all the action near the Jonker Street area. But it's only about 5 minutes, 10 minutes maximum. There were 7 of us, so we booked all four rooms in the house. Sadly, we could only stay for 1 night but as a base for exploring Melaka, the property is great.

The house has 4 rooms, 2 rooms with double beds, 1 with twin beds and 1 with a single bed. There are mattresses available so potentially, you could fit around 10 people in there. The toilets were nice and clean. There is free wifi and a computer if you don't have a laptop with you.

I want to make special mention of Colin, the owner. He went out of his way to make sure our stay was good. The free breakfast which is to be served at Cafe 1511 was only going to start around 9 am. Our bus was leaving at 8. So he picked us up at around 7 am from the house and drove us himself to Cafe 1511 where he had breakfast prepared extra early for us. Then he brought us to the bus station himself! Talk about service. It was amazing!

Kudos to Colin and his staff! According to him, they are going to open another property this year. I personally recommend staying in his properties. Go!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sleepyinsomniac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2012

Nice, clean and perfect hotel......The owner and staffs are very nice.
Room is very comfortable.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nat P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2012

The guesthouse is the first house of three historic buildings within the old quarter of Melaka and connected to the Baba Nonya House/Museum. Its conversion into a guesthouse has ensured that there is regular income to the complex to ensure the buildings can be maintained in their original historic state.
We were not expecting shared toilet and showers...and did not know we had to climb a very long staircase (though beautiful!), which, with my sore knee at the time, was too much of a challenge to stay longer than one night. The room we were given was very small and I needed my eyeshades to get to sleep owing to lights blazing outside our room. But it was very clean, the breakfast was excellent, the waitresses delightful and we appreciated access to the internet. We were advised of a very new guesthouse, only just opened, that was connected with Cafe 1151 in a nearby street. The house was completely newly renovated and was just being finished when we stayed there. it was located in a quieter street yet still walking distance to Cafe 1151 for the provided breakfast. No big stairs to climb, still internet access, modern bathroom with toilet away from the shower and the great breakfast--- it was great! And the staff were so friendly too!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mackay, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2012

Well, it would be if Mumma was cooking these tasty dishes. Very fresh, fragrant and flavoursome. Not flash or fancy. Probably what the locals call 'home-cooked' meals.

Helpful?
1 Thank Aquagal44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mackay, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2012

This was one that I had a feeling was 'too good to be true'. For the price I was thinking it would be one of the 'uh-oh' places when I pre-booked through Agoda (we were on a 27 day trip of Malaysia and I researched and pre-booked most hotels). What a delightful surprise. I am so glad I pre-booked because the crowds flooded in to the area on the weekend. We would have been left out in the cold - or the heat as it was then! The staff were so friendly and helpful even though the girls spoke very little English they still communicated and assisted us in every possible way. I hadn't stayed in a place without an ensuite before but I had no problems with the set up here. Just a short walk to the clean and well maintained (modernised) bathrooms. There are enough so that you end up feeling like yours is an ensuite anyway. Loved, loved, loved Melaka. Should have stayed for five nights at least but off to Singapore after 3. So many places to see, so little time. I would stay here again and again and again. Even lugging the backpack up those stairs and vertigo on the way down did not put me off.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aquagal44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.1 mi away
Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hotel Puri
Hotel Puri
#10 of 166 in Melaka
1,209 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gingerflower Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Casa del Rio Melaka
Casa del Rio Melaka
#1 of 166 in Melaka
1,385 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jonker Boutique Hotel
Jonker Boutique Hotel
#6 of 166 in Melaka
725 reviews
0.1 mi away
Timez Modern Heritage Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cafe 1511? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cafe 1511

Property: Cafe 1511
Address: 52 Jalan Tun, Melaka 75300, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 212 B&Bs / Inns in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Cafe 1511 1*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Cafe 1511 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cafe 1511 Hotel Melaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing