We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too many renovations going On”

A'Famosa Cowboy Town
Ranked #115 of 143 things to do in Melaka
Attraction details
Kluang, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
223 reviews
101 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
“Too many renovations going On”
Reviewed May 17, 2014

For senior citizens, you have to pay MYR20 without meal, for OKU, MYR21.
It is open at 6pm.
There are a lot of renovations going on. e.g: 4D theatre.
The souvenirs are expensive and so are the foods.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank HRS_6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    6
    24
    20
    22
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cairo, Egypt
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Not worth the time and money spent”
Reviewed April 19, 2014

It took 4 hours to reach afamosa in melaka, we took TBS ( station could be reached by kl senteral metro) we reached Melaka senteral then taxi with 45 MYR to reach afamosa ticket with 142 MYR to watch shows for birds, elephant and cowboys and feed tiger. It took the whole day and we reached KL at midnight and spent lot of money and enjoined but it not worth it

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank taghreed_ali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Attraction at A'Famosa”
Reviewed January 19, 2014

Hi,

Last weekend I have been A'Famosa Safari Wonderland, Cowboy Town and place nearby there. Unfortunately, the attraction is very poor. Some of the things there is not manageable. Supposedly it manage well for tourist. Please do some housekeeping on A'Famosa attraction as it might be can attract more people after. The shop is selling expensive, the place is not very good as a review. Also, I can suggest that doing some renovation is a must.

Thanks.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank kellsea_witwicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johor Bahru
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Not worth the money.”
Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

I visited the water world in the day which was an amazing experience and went to the cowboy town in the evening. The entrance looked beautiful and was well decorated showing and portraying the true beauty of christmas.

There were Santarina's singing and dancing Christmas carols in the front. And as we got it we we're welcomes with a bird in the front to take a picture with.

But I was sad to see that once I got in there was nothing much that was free which was included in the ticket price. All the nice things to do was to be paid separately.

There were only two free highlights for the day.

8.30 Red Indian Show &
9.15 Carnival show.

Both at the same place one after another. It was a nice experience but nothing that made me feel really exciting about the show. The 9.15 carnival was held by a nice and friendly young girl but I couldn't understand whatever she was saying. Her Tagalog accent was just too thick. But it was the best highlights of cowboy town.

No doubt, there are really nice things to do in cowboy town but if you're on a right budget and have many children with you, you will have to spend a lot to have a good time.

Elephant Ride - RM 15 for 1 person
- RM 25 for two adults + 1 kid

4D theater RM 20 per person.
Tram ride RM 2 per person
Car ride RM10 per car.
Pony ride RM10 per person.
Carnival RM20 for 6 tokens
Bowling & pool table - unsure of price

I personally feel that there should be more free things to do. Say for example, if I was to not spend on anything, il only get to see two events for free. That's not right, right?

However, I would like to end by saying that, it isn't bad after all. It's a nice place but just not worth paying that amount for things that you Gould pay extra when you get it.

Also, so many shops and part of the place is closed. Hopefully, they place is expanded and made into a better place.

Good job A'Famosa for the lights and beautiful decorations though. That caught my attention. But please not you have very rude staffs at the counter. They speak very rudely to the people buying the tickets. Should really take stern action!

Helpful?
3 Thank AdrianSingh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shah alam
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Need to improve”
Reviewed December 3, 2013

Area - not so big compound for this town

Fees - quite high - not suitable compare to the area - the attractive

Cleanliness - should improve in cleanliness (please take all the stuffs that u use for any events - in front photo table counter)

Attraction - so many attractions closed by this time, not very well maintain

Fun fair - should add some more games

4D theater - quite okay, should maintain the screen - clear while watching movie

shops - least variety souvenirs sold

Food - i bought package for dinner - nice taste

show - the best things here is the show

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank lyaza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed A'Famosa Cowboy Town also viewed

Melaka, Central Melaka District
Melaka, Central Melaka District
 
Melaka, Central Melaka District
Melaka, Central Melaka District
 

Been to A'Famosa Cowboy Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing