We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant place in old Melaka”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
River View Guest House
Ranked #16 of 217 Melaka B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 3, 2010

You only have to think of the bleak and/or grubby hotel rooms so often proposed to travellers (in Malaysia and elsewhere) to realize what a brilliant place this is. The River View does indeed overlook the river and is one of the most pleasant budget guest houses in this part of the world. Fully half of the old Chinese shop house is taken up by common areas and lounge space. I first visited last year and some improvements have been made, including a new riverfront deck and garden in the back. This is great at night when the seabreeze travels up the river and makes sitting out there a delight.

Owners Raymond and Mani, a couple from KL, are bright, caring and generous with information and homemade biscuits. (How many guest houses smell of choc-chip biscuits fresh out of the oven?) Be nice to them, please. The place is usually full, so reservations are essential.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dvertongen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (280)
There are newer reviews for River View Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

180 - 186 of 280 reviews

Reviewed December 20, 2009

Mani and her husband couldn,t do enough for guests. The room was large and clean with a very comfortable bed. The balcony is a joy to sit on and watch passing pleasure boats, kids swimming in river and catching glimpses of iguanas. When I was there there was a lovely older couple there. It was the lady's 65th birthday. Mani baked her a beautiful cake with blue flowers .She spent all afternoon making it. We all sang happy birthday. I really hate sharing this ,as I might have difficulty booking my room next year !!!!! This couple deserve all the guests in Melaka in it's central location.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tourist0005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2009

This place was wonderful, perfect location for exploring Melaka. The hosts were so hospitable with advise on where to go to, what to see ad some of the best restaurant suggestions. River view is a very relaxed place which backs onto the river and feels like a home away from home with plenty of space to relax and a perfect balcony overlooking the river to watch the world go by, even with freshly baked cakes on the kitchen table for guests. rooms are basic fan rooms but the beds are huge and comfortable.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PhillipaLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2009

We extended our stay here for a couple more nights as we enjoyed it here so much. The guesthouse was a former shop/warehouse and is in the historic Chinatown. You can walk right out onto the sidewalk along the river and stroll into the main part of town.
Our room was very large and had a/c and a fan. We enjoyed the terrace looking out over the river. The owners, Mani and Raymond, are very friendly and helpful and let us know all the great places to eat and things to see in town.
This guesthouse was very good value and had the added benefit of being charming and comfortable. Strongly recommended for those who go to Melaka!

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank projectrunaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2009

Stayed in twin room as doubles booked -twin beds each big enough for two, feather pillows, ceiling fan worked a treat -walls so thick not much heat gets in anyway. A refuge to come back to after a hard days exploring. Hosts -agree with all other comments. Other guests great , security excellent -beautiful location and lovely atmosphere -has to be best value guesthouse in Malaysia .

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FootscrayMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2009

We've stayed in the guesthouse for 2 nights and we really loved it.
Owners are really kind and helpfull, the place is peacefull and even if there's a lot to see just around the corner it was really hard to leave in the morning!
We definitly recommand this place to anyone who wants to visit this beautifull city and have an excellent stay.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ricam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2009

Happy to endorse the other great reviews. Stunning little place with lovely owners. Arrived mid afternoon to be welcomed with a cold drink and a complete guide to Melaka. Mani and Raymond took the whole house out for a meal at the wonderful Capitol Satay on our second night. This is a hostel - shared bathrooms are a little compact, but spotlessly clean. Highly, highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 17cj_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Puri
Hotel Puri
#12 of 167 in Melaka
1,224 reviews
0.2 mi away
Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel
1.6 mi away
The Settlement Hotel
The Settlement Hotel
#4 of 167 in Melaka
634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
QuaySide Hotel
QuaySide Hotel
#57 of 167 in Melaka
238 reviews
2.2 mi away
Sunflower Hotel Malacca
Sunflower Hotel Malacca
#33 of 167 in Melaka
65 reviews
0.1 mi away
Roof Top Guest House Melaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River View Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River View Guest House

Address: 94 & 96 Jalan Kampong Pantai, Melaka 75200, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 217 B&Bs / Inns in Melaka
Price Range: $13 - $19 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The guest house offers accommodation in comfortable twin or double divan bedded rooms with fan and common bathrooms (hot & cold shower) for up to 14 guests. All rooms have windows. Towels are provided for guest use. There is a sitting, tv and dining area with a kitchen for light cooking. Drinking water, coffee & tea is provided complimentary. The first floor terrace has a magnificent view of the Melaka River. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your River View Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River View Guest House Hotel Melaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing