We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming and Relaxed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
River View Guest House
Ranked #15 of 211 Melaka B&B and Inns
Victoria
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Charming and Relaxed”
Reviewed December 3, 2009

We extended our stay here for a couple more nights as we enjoyed it here so much. The guesthouse was a former shop/warehouse and is in the historic Chinatown. You can walk right out onto the sidewalk along the river and stroll into the main part of town.
Our room was very large and had a/c and a fan. We enjoyed the terrace looking out over the river. The owners, Mani and Raymond, are very friendly and helpful and let us know all the great places to eat and things to see in town.
This guesthouse was very good value and had the added benefit of being charming and comfortable. Strongly recommended for those who go to Melaka!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank projectrunaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    82
    17
    13
    4
See reviews for
12
124
59
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2009

Stayed in twin room as doubles booked -twin beds each big enough for two, feather pillows, ceiling fan worked a treat -walls so thick not much heat gets in anyway. A refuge to come back to after a hard days exploring. Hosts -agree with all other comments. Other guests great , security excellent -beautiful location and lovely atmosphere -has to be best value guesthouse in Malaysia .

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FootscrayMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 24, 2009

We've stayed in the guesthouse for 2 nights and we really loved it.
Owners are really kind and helpfull, the place is peacefull and even if there's a lot to see just around the corner it was really hard to leave in the morning!
We definitly recommand this place to anyone who wants to visit this beautifull city and have an excellent stay.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ricam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2009

Happy to endorse the other great reviews. Stunning little place with lovely owners. Arrived mid afternoon to be welcomed with a cold drink and a complete guide to Melaka. Mani and Raymond took the whole house out for a meal at the wonderful Capitol Satay on our second night. This is a hostel - shared bathrooms are a little compact, but spotlessly clean. Highly, highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 17cj_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shah Alam
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2009

Airy and clean. Considering the fact that I had travelled from Kuala Lumpur, I thought that staying in Riverview was similar to a trip to a cottage house. Atmosphere was calm and quiet, and can be a balm to the soul. Nevertheless, I was not there for the balm; I was there for fun, and found much help and advice from the owners [Mani and Raymond] in looking for happening events and places. And food. They're all nearby. Room size is average, but that's the reason why it's cosy. Ultimately, you find a good mixture of privacy and friendliness there.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lexuazl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thailand
1 review
Reviewed July 13, 2009

We arrived as walkins for 1 night only and was greet by Raymond and Mani and shown the last room they had available - Raymond was so upfront, he said he usually didn't sell the room as it was the only one right on the street and there was noise from the cars (it's really more a lane then a street), however my husband and I decided that we didn't mind this at all and stayed. Raymond even offered us earplugs but we neede to be up early so didn't need them at all.

The Room was fabulous - clean spacious and great high ceilings - very homely.

The Showers/Toilets were share but super clean and had lovely ammenities and great hot water!

On the ground level there is a wisely plotted main area to allow sitting and reading, watching TV or gathering around the dining table.

We returned later in the night after venturing around the markets (thanks to a great brief from Raymond prior - including the best Laksa) and there were a lovely group sitting around the table with Raymond and Mani. The group did not impeed on noise levels to any of the rooms and it had such a warm friend air about it.

Raymond and Mani have the very fine blance of hospitality sorted out to a tee...not too intrusive, there when you need and a wealth of information so you wish to seek their knowledge.

By far the best hostel experience ever!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2tootango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
1 review
Reviewed July 9, 2009

The riverview was amazing value. The room while small were clean and comfy. The single beds we had were quite large and the nights were quiet, being on a side road from the weekend night market.

The best part of the guest house however is its owners Mani and Raymond. They sit down with you and go in detail about all the aspects of Melaka. It's like having your own personal tour guides. They are so amazing and friendly, they even gave us home made cookies and took us to breakfast. If I ever backpacked in Melaka I would definately choose the river view again.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CptAwesome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.2 mi away
Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
Jonker Boutique Hotel
Jonker Boutique Hotel
#6 of 166 in Melaka
719 reviews
0.1 mi away
Timez Modern Heritage Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Puri
Hotel Puri
#10 of 166 in Melaka
1,194 reviews
0.1 mi away
Layang Layang Guest House
0.2 mi away
Wayfarer Guest House
Wayfarer Guest House
#7 of 211 in Melaka
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River View Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River View Guest House

Property: River View Guest House
Address: 94 & 96 Jalan Kampong Pantai, Melaka 75200, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 211 B&Bs / Inns in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The guest house offers accommodation in comfortable twin or double divan bedded rooms with fan and common bathrooms (hot & cold shower) for up to 14 guests. All rooms have windows. Towels are provided for guest use. There is a sitting, tv and dining area with a kitchen for light cooking. Drinking water, coffee & tea is provided complimentary. The first floor terrace has a magnificent view of the Melaka River. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your River View Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River View Guest House Hotel Melaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing