We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I love River View Guesthouse!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
River View Guest House
Ranked #16 of 220 Melaka B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 16, 2014 via mobile

I stayed at River View for 4 nights and loved it!

It is in the perfect location, easy walking distance to most places and right by the river.

I stayed in the dorm room at the front and it was fine, maybe the bunk bed could do with replacing though. There is only 3 people in this room which is great too.

There are 3 shower/toilet rooms but I never found that I had to wait for one.

The building is lovely (see my photos I added) with a great communal area.

The whole stay was made better by Raymond who will go out of his way to help his guests. When I checked in he gave me a complimentary drink and a map which he explained in detail. I haven't had that service from a guesthouse before!

Also the complimentary cakes, bread and fruit is a nice touch in the morning. I looked forward to seeing what there was each day. They were delicious and Raymond said that his wife bakes them everyday.

I could easily stay here again.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
Thank rachelstravels09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (280)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 280 reviews

Reviewed January 13, 2014

The hotel has lots of character and is nicely furnished making it feel quite authentic. We stayed in a double room and the beds are huge and very comfortable. The common areas are a nice place to relax, especially upstairs looking on to river. The complimentary cake is a nice touch, especially the delicious apple cake. I just had 2 issues that stopped me from giving 5 stars... if you have a room at the front then it is very noisy, all night there is traffic and motorbikes and worse of all, trishaws blaring out hip hop so loud you think you woke up at a disco. The second problem is that the bathrooms are not very private at all, right next to the common areas with open ceilings. But overall, we had a good stay at River view and would stay again but with ear plugs.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Poppy612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2013

This is the guesthouse that so many guesthouses try to be: modest but well-done, affordable but not "cheap", comfortable, friendly, etc. I can't really say it's "no frills" cause there's lots of little touches that make the place so comfortable: stellar terrace, well-equipped kitchen, constant fruits + tasty treats on hand. The rooms are simple but quality--everything works. And it's super clean.

Can I just point out how many places try to do the cheap-but-cheerful thing and fail?? This place is exactly what it's trying to be, and it's goddamn refreshing.

Ok, that's my rant, but really, it's great, super chill, good vibes, etc.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelerLauren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2013 via mobile

Near Chinatown, and still extraordinarily quiet and cozy, THIS is your best choice to spend a very pleasant time in Melaka!
Rooms are big and tidy, common showers & WCs always very clean, price a really good deal.
Enjoy sitting on the balcony on the river, apart from busy Chinatown.
Raymond is an excellent host and his wife Mani will treat you everyday with her delicious cakes. Don't miss it!!!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marina_2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2013

Probably the best guest house we have stayed in, when we visited Malaysia. The rooms are clean and the staff and the owner are friendly. But the best the best thing about River View are the common area's: spacious hall and kitchen and a lovely terrace and, on top of that, a nice chill balcony with a view of the... River. A good place to meet other travelers. The location is just on the edge of the city center, which makes that you can explore everything on foot. Only thing negative about Riverview maybe is the shower. Which are not always as clean as you want. We booked 3 nights and ended staying a week. I think that should say enough.

Make sure you book ahead, this place is popular.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frank B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for two nights. Raymond was very nice and very helpful. He welcomed you with a map of the city and recommendations for eating and sights. The location was very good with a great view. The room
was clean and there was homemade cake, which was delicious. Overall very very nice.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
1  Thank Pldk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights in the a/c dorm here while in Melaka. Great location, close to all the main attractions but in a quiet location next to the river. There is a balcony you can relax on or you can just next on the path right next to the river (a shop is a only a couple of doors down and they sell lovely, COLD beer!).
The service was extremely friendly and everyone is willing to offer you help and advice. They also provide free tea/coffee, fruit and cakes in the morning!! A lovely touch!
The wifi is pretty fast as well (I upgraded my Macbook Air to Mavericks here!)
Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Southseaspread
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Puri
Hotel Puri
#12 of 167 in Melaka
1,228 reviews
0.2 mi away
Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
RC Hotel
RC Hotel
#18 of 167 in Melaka
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Sunflower Hotel Malacca
Sunflower Hotel Malacca
#33 of 167 in Melaka
65 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Settlement Hotel
The Settlement Hotel
#4 of 167 in Melaka
641 reviews
0.2 mi away
Wayfarer Guest House
Wayfarer Guest House
#4 of 220 in Melaka
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River View Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River View Guest House

Address: 94 & 96 Jalan Kampong Pantai, Melaka 75200, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 220 B&Bs / Inns in Melaka
Price Range: $10 - $13 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The guest house offers accommodation in comfortable twin or double divan bedded rooms with fan and common bathrooms (hot & cold shower) for up to 14 guests. All rooms have windows. Towels are provided for guest use. There is a sitting, tv and dining area with a kitchen for light cooking. Drinking water, coffee & tea is provided complimentary. The first floor terrace has a magnificent view of the Melaka River. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your River View Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River View Guest House Hotel Melaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing