We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (286)
Filter reviews
286 results
Traveler rating
166
84
19
12
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
166
84
19
12
5
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
91 - 96 of 286 reviews
Reviewed December 15, 2012

The hostel is quite good, with a very hospitable and friendly boy receiving us (the boss's son during vacation), a clean lady in her 60s with a good voice singing. The house looks a bit old and ancient kind, but the river view is quite good, and the bathroom really clean. The bedroom has some kind of weird smell, but kind of clean. A lot of mosquito there (actually over the whole Melaka). Got wifi and quite fast. Sometimes the host will bake some cake and share with the guests, quite delicious.

Room tip: Choose an airconed room if you like. Room 1 is near the street may be noisy.
Date of stay: December 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlesly92
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2012

Just in the centre of Melaka, in Chinatow, 5 min walk from the clocktower and close to Jonker street. It was the best single room I had during my stay in Malaysia completed with a nice desk. Wifi available everywhere, also in the room. The owner is very nice and gave a local map with his recommendations where to eat. Free coffee and tea, but also we had always fresh fruit and lovely cakes available for breakfast! Lovely view of the river from the deck or terrace, ideal for relaxing after a day sightseeing. Very clean also. Unfortunately you are woken up at 4 am by the nearby Mosque, but I guess nothing the owner can do.

Date of stay: November 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wonderella73
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Me and 5 of my friends stayed in this guest house. Everything is clean and with very nice atmosphere. The staff is great and very friendly. Young man at the reception helped us with everything. He told us where to go, what to see, what and where to eat.

Date of stay: November 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

I had a great time at the Riverview Guesthouse. I came here to calm down a little bit after a one week stay in KL. The first thing I thought when I arrived: This is my kind of city! It's pretty, creative and individual. You can reach the RVGH after a short walk from the Dutch square. A charming house decorated with many plants. In the evening you can enjoy the terrace, of whitch you have a wonderful view over the river or the "Chill-out-area" down by the river. Around 7pm you can watch an awesome sundown by the seaside (just follow down the river on the right side). The staff is great, thank you!

Room tip: Die Zimmer in Richtung Fluss sind ruhiger, da die Straße sehr stark befahren ist!
Date of stay: November 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kashira_Chaotic
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

We chose this place after reading other positive reviews and didn't regret it!
Location: In the centre of Chinatown, within walking distance of the historical district, Little India, and even some megamalls if that's what you're in to.
Owner: Super friendly, he was sure to call a taxi for us the day we left and his wife does bake often, leaving sweets and fruit on the table along with coffee and tea.
Room: Clean and minimal, perfect to come home to and crash. The bathrooms are shared, but are cleaned daily (sometimes it seemed like 2-3x daily!) The beds are very comfortable.
Building: historical - not cutting edge modern, but very homey with lots of character. There's a patio to sit by the river, a bookshelf stocked full, and a balcony if you want to chill out higher up.
We will definitely be returning to this hostel.

Room tip: Rooms on the bottom floor seemed to be cooler - go with those if they're available.
Date of stay: November 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ubiquarious
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews