We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Awesome Host” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Discovery Cafe & Guest House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Discovery Cafe & Guest House
Ranked #6 of 105 Specialty Lodging in Melaka
Certificate of Excellence
Yogyakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
203 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Awesome Host”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2014

Well, what can I say, this guest house is near by almost everywhere in melaka. I mean, it located near by Little India, Jonker Street, and many other tourist spot, everything could be reach by walking in about 5-10 minutes. Also this guest house has an extraordinary staff (Alan) which I really enjoy talking with. The price is cheap, and the room is clean, well organized, the lounge room is comfy.
The only reason why I don't give this guest house 5 star rating is because the management is rude and not friendly. but afterall i've had a great experience satying in this guesthouse and looking forward to visit here again someday

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ValentinoEdward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    81
    24
    13
    12
See reviews for
8
57
93
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Karlsruhe, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2014 via mobile

The hostel and especially the host Alan was great. Heaps of different rooms (AC, fan, dorm, double, etc), very clean facilities and good location for reasonable prices. Alan showed us around so much and made our short stay the best experience possible. 100% recommended!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 50Corinna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2014

Bad stay, the pictures they shown in the booking websites are different from what u will stay in.There is actually 2 Discovery cafe guesthouse in melaka.The one with cafe in the first floor ,the rooms are really dirty and not habitable and the staffs are very rude.We were transfered to their other guesthouse ,and the staff name Allen was a very good guy.However,due to the wooden floor layout,noise input was high due to the footsteps.Also,the shared bathroom is small and disgusting.I would suggest one to add a few other bucks and stay in more comfortable stay.

Room Tip: dont stay at the one with cafe on the first floor.there is 2 discovery cafe in melaka btw
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim0thytan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
41 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2014

Felt more like being in an army camp than being in a hostel, my friend wanted some water so decided to leave the hostel at around 4am and the guy who works there was not happy..even though they have no curfew! No door in the dorm so anyone staying in the hostel can walk in...strange atmosphere which is pretty much down to the guy working there...I felt like I was being watched by my Father if something went wrong, it was a clean and well organised though!

Room Tip: Go for a private room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LuxuriousTraveler004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karlsruhe, Germany
Level Contributor
65 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2014 via mobile

I stayed just one night but really liked it! The hostel has a good location, is clean and has the best host of all, Alan. He manages this hostel and is always up for a chat. He can give recommendations and generally takes care of the hostel which is why it is in such a good shape. On top of that, it's rather cheap. Keep up the good work, Alan!

Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Chef_tony0321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2014

The location is good, have good Indonesia food over there, near the Jonker Street, The manager (Alan) is very friendly and helpful, and the room is Nice & Clean.
P.S. Must try the evening Cycling Tour!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vincy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ennsdorf, Austria
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2014

If you arrive at Melaka by Bus at Melaka Sentral, a public bus to the Discovery Cafe is only RM 1,50. The location is more than great, because all the main roads are pretty close to the guesthouse. Also the river is very nice - there are a lot of cafés and it's just beautiful to walk along it at night.
I also liked the guesthouse itself, because it's very clean, the beds are comfortable and of course Allan, a staff member, helps you with everything you need that you can enjoy your stay! He's such a nice and interesting person, he's one one of the reasons why I enjoyed my stay in Melaka so much :)

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marylikesyou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melaka hotels
2.0 mi away
Sunflower Hotel Malacca
Sunflower Hotel Malacca
#29 of 165 in Melaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa del Rio Melaka
Casa del Rio Melaka
#1 of 165 in Melaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,090 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hatten Hotel Melaka
Hatten Hotel Melaka
#11 of 165 in Melaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,024 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Fenix Inn
Fenix Inn
#16 of 165 in Melaka
3.5 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Settlement Hotel
The Settlement Hotel
#4 of 165 in Melaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Sterling Boutique Hotel Melaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Discovery Cafe & Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Discovery Cafe & Guest House

Property: Discovery Cafe & Guest House
Address: 3 Jalan Bunga Raya, Melaka 75100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 105 Specialty Lodging in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Discovery Cafe & Guest House 1.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Discovery Cafe & Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Discovery Cafe & Guest House Hotel Melaka
Discovery Cafe And Guest House

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing