We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice stay in Melaka”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Discovery Cafe & Guest House
Ranked #10 of 126 Specialty Lodging in Melaka
Berlin, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A nice stay in Melaka”
Reviewed April 14, 2014

The Discovery Guesthouse is a very nice one with a nice, familiar atmosphere. They have a good and clean dorm room with aircon at a pretty cheap price.
The Guesthouse is managed by Alan, a funny guy, who always takes care about you, helps you if you need and loves to chat and joke.
Also the other guests were friendly and I felt very welcome.

Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank mangoappleorange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    84
    26
    13
    12
See reviews for
10
58
96
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stuttgart, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2014

We spent 3 nights at Alan's guesthouse which is located just a few meters apart from the lovely discovery cafe. The location is perfect - just in the centre of the city and very close to the best Indian (an cheap!) restaurant in town. The rooms are very clean, the beds are very comfortable and Alan always takes care that everyone is enjoying his stay at his place. And we definitly did! :-)

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mona F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend-on-Sea, England
1 review
Reviewed April 4, 2014

I stayed in discovery and I could not say a bad word about this accommodation it was clean, good value for money, well located and Alen who works here goes above and beyond to help you with anything you need, from recommending the best places to eat, places to visit and transport to other parts of Malaysia at the end on my time in Melaka. I would stay here again if im ever back in Melaka and wish I could of spent more time here.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katy_bright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melaka, Malaysia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2014

Still very clean, comfy, homey, and well located... I unfortunately could'nt find anything to complain about during that second stay... And believe me, I've tried hard! I've even found some improvements and I've heard they'll keep working on it! Unbelievable! Need a booking? No sweat if you don't find any vacancies on websites such as hostelworld... People should search through all the websites when booking a room at discovery because they are spread over several different ones, 'agoda' being the main site now...
But from now, sit back and relax... Melaka's waiting for you!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank misterFrance56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freiburg im Breisgau, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 28, 2014

Originally me and my friends wanted to stay two nights in Melaka but we liked the city and Discovery that much that we prolonged. The room and facilities were nice and clean and Discovery Cafe is a good place to hang out. Plus the location is perfect, next to little India (good restaurants) and in walking distance to all sights. And don't miss out meeting Alan whose British humour is just the best!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MichelleE777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skoczow, Poland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 25, 2014 via mobile

When we walked in, at first I couldn't believe my eyes... during two months of travel through Thailand and Malaysia I haven't seen so clean and cosy budget accomodation as the Discovery. We've had a dorm beds with fan and finally I could sleep well in fresh bedding and take a shower with pleasure. Alan is fantastic friendly guy with a huge knowlege about traveling around, so it was a great help for us.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Anna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2014

Overall a safe, comfortable place to stay. Don't be fooled by the loud Cafe - the guesthouse is very quiet. They were nice enough to let me in at around midnight, though I was chastised to come earlier, so be warned if you come in on a late bus that you might not be let in. Their facilities are safe, clean, easy to find, and their advice is well worth it. You can also book buses at the reception, although they charge an extra $5 (but it saves you from going back to Melaka Sentral. Or take your chances and buy a bus at the station when you need to leave).

Room Tip: I was going for cheap - I would take anything for $6 sgd per night in Malaysia, so the shared room w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ajohancsik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melaka hotels
2.0 mi away
Sunflower Hotel Malacca
Sunflower Hotel Malacca
#29 of 166 in Melaka
64 reviews
0.4 mi away
7 Days Premium
7 Days Premium
#59 of 166 in Melaka
131 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Puri
Hotel Puri
#11 of 166 in Melaka
1,194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hatten Hotel Melaka
Hatten Hotel Melaka
#12 of 166 in Melaka
2,327 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Settlement Hotel
The Settlement Hotel
#3 of 166 in Melaka
620 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ringo's Foyer Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Discovery Cafe & Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Discovery Cafe & Guest House

Property: Discovery Cafe & Guest House
Address: 3 Jalan Bunga Raya, Melaka 75100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 126 Specialty Lodging in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Discovery Cafe & Guest House 1.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Discovery Cafe & Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Discovery Cafe & Guest House Hotel Melaka
Discovery Cafe And Guest House

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing