We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best guesthouse in Melakka”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Discovery Cafe & Guest House
Ranked #9 of 138 Specialty Lodging in Melaka
Reviewed October 13, 2013

First a was in another guesthouse, but the didn't speak a lot, so i had no information about how things work or some information about Melakka. I went to Discovery Guesthouse, i saw the flyer in Tourism office. All the people were very kind and the housekeeper Alan has some good information and story's with a great feeling of humor! The bedrooms are nice and clean and there is a chillout place in the guesthouse to have some conversations with other backpackers. I think it's Alan's Mantra that makes this place to best guesthouse in Melakka. Keep up the good work!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MisterHolland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (258)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

137 - 143 of 258 reviews

Reviewed October 12, 2013

This is the first time, me and my friend go to Melaka, and I choose this place because I read a lot of good reviews by the other backpackers in tripadvisor.com who has been stayed in here before. I stayed for one night on October 10th, and we choose Dormitory with Fan for RM18 / bed. The room was really clean and Alan, the guesthouse guider, is really a nice guy.

I recommend this guest house for other backpackers who want to come to Melaka. Great place to stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RioTry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

being there before,in march but the place is improving under the able management of alan,a brit that has been on the road for a long time and knows the needs of travellers.altough the position and the atmosphere it is not the best that you can find in melaka alan with its friendliness and cheerfulness makes worthwhile to stay at discovery.

Room Tip: the dorms are good value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gurupem2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

I stayed here for 2 nites, 20-21 September. I made my last minute booking through Mr. Sing.
I arrived after midnite but my booking was still available.
Leave your mobile number for bookings. Never know what time you will arrive
First nite I stayed at the original block (Queen size, outside bathroom, for RM60). Room was facing the main road and was noisy.
Second nite I stayed at the opposite block for RM80 (Queen size with attached bathroom.). Quiet room.
The cafe (beers available) has a live band with a lively atmosphere. Staff are friendly and helpful.
Good location. No regrets.
I prefer the opposite block across the road which seems to be more decent.
Overall, not a bad experience. Quite a memorable one actually. Value for money.
Will come back one day with drinking friends.

Room Tip: The block across the road seems to be better and quieter, depending which room you get. Don't g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VicDavies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

I didn't expect to stay that long in Melaka ! But well, when you feel at home somewhere, you're not in a rush to leave ! Nice cosy place, clean and quiet, good location next to good restaurants and more than friendly staff who'll even take you to local events if you're on a long stay !
I'm sure you gonna have good time here !

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank misterFrance56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

People there are very friendly. I checked in the 8 people dorm with fans. All things are clean and tidy. Alan is very talktive and considerate to every guests. It is only 5-minute walk to tourist spots.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yang z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

It was a nice stay at Discovery Guest House. The rooms and showers were clean and without any mold. The staff, especially Alan, were very kind and helpful. Alan is really a special person in a good way and it's fun to stay with him!

Room Tip: It's better to stay in their new house across the street than in the main building, because in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeanette S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melaka hotels
2.0 mi away
Sunflower Hotel Malacca
Sunflower Hotel Malacca
#33 of 167 in Melaka
65 reviews
0.4 mi away
7 Days Premium
7 Days Premium
#62 of 167 in Melaka
132 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Settlement Hotel
The Settlement Hotel
#4 of 167 in Melaka
642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hatten Hotel Melaka
Hatten Hotel Melaka
#13 of 167 in Melaka
2,431 reviews
0.9 mi away
AL33 Leisure Hotel
AL33 Leisure Hotel
#81 of 167 in Melaka
68 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Puri
Hotel Puri
#12 of 167 in Melaka
1,228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Discovery Cafe & Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Discovery Cafe & Guest House

Address: 3 Jalan Bunga Raya, Melaka 75100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 138 Specialty Lodging in Melaka
Price Range: $10 - $21 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Discovery Cafe & Guest House 1.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Discovery Cafe & Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Discovery Cafe And Guest House
Discovery Cafe & Guest House Hotel Melaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing