We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What A Discovery!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Discovery Cafe & Guest House
Ranked #8 of 116 Specialty Lodging in Melaka
Certificate of Excellence
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“What A Discovery!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

I booked two rooms for two nights for my family of five at The Discovery Cafe in Central Melaka and it was a really good place to stay. Very central to all the places that we wanted to see on our weekend break away from KL the guest house was extremely clean, run by people who were serious about making sure that place was always at its best and the RM 60 per room per night also included coffee and toast in the morning. I have to make special mention of Alan who clearly takes great pride in making sure that the place is kept in tip top shape and Diana who runs the cafe and bar with cheery enthusiasm. Go and stay there. I will book for the same guest house the next time we visit Melaka. Thank you.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RobinandLexi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    82
    26
    13
    12
See reviews for
10
58
95
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Antibes, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

this place was great right in the heart of melaka and the staff were fantastic so friendly and helpful and just made my stay there so cumfortable! allan was great to chat with and a great bloke always trying to help and the owner was very relaxed and helpful with a smile on his face! i suggest sparing some time to have a drink with the staff as they are great fun! i thoughroully enjoyed the say and recommend it to everyone!

Room Tip: get air con room its hot in melaka
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stevey_h_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

I stayed in a nice, fairly small room with a double bed, an en-suite and a brilliantly cold air-con and even got a small breakfast the next day for RM 60.00 (about AUD$25) plus a RM 30.00 key deposit (which you get back) in the guest room which is across the road from the main cafe part. Diane the owner was very helpful and Alan the caretaker was a great bloke with tons of local knowledge and years of travel experience and only too happy to help! The cafe was full of character and a great place to have a beer and listen to the live music that was on. Definitely would return if I ever went back to Melaka which was easily my favourite part of my Malaysian holiday!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ANTtheAUSSIE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

A true backpacker's spot! Helpful staff, clean and cozy dorms. Good place to organise your upcoming travels. Alan, the manager ( or housekeeper ;)), puts a lot of work into the guesthouse to make your stay as pleasant as possible. Check out the Indian Restaurant right next door! Talk to Alan, he's a legend.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank f_s_93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Padang, Indonesia
Level Contributor
105 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

It is good for you to inform the staff when you will arrive. The hostel will be open around 10a.m. I arrived at 7 a.m. Fortunately, I met its driver then he contact the owner to welcome me. It's very nice to stay for a day in this hostel. It's very closed to St. Francis Xavier church and the tourist attractions. This time I got a room that has no door. It's okay because I need to check out early, I don't need to deposit another ringgit to guarantee the key.

Room Tip: If you love to stay privately, you need to ask the room that has door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Antoni O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

After a year of travelling around SEAsia I returned to Melaka, Malaysia, I also returned to the same accommodation, the 'Discovery Cafe & Guest House', which I stayed in for a few days last August. What a difference!!! It was o.k. before, but now it's under the management of 'Meister Proper' Alan, who keeps the place superclean and tidy. I stayed in the fan dorm for 4 nights and was perfectly comfortable there. One thunderstorm evening several guests gattered in the dorm to chat and tell stories. In my opinion this place needs a cozy 'chill-out room' with sofas, a notice board and some books that travellers can swap.
I enjoyed my time in Melaka and hope to return someday!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KeroppiTutter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

This place is split in 2, there are rooms located at the bar/cafe itself where you will check in but there is also a guesthouse over the road which is under new management, we stayed in the guesthouse.

The guesthouse itself is one of the cleanest I have stayed in whilst travelling South East Asia during the past 3 months. The bathrooms are immaculate, this is always a bonus after a long bus journey. The rooms are spotless and the bedsheets are clean and the whole place smells lovely, this is a rarity compared to some of the places we have stayed. Alan, the new manager of the guesthouse is a great individual, he is willing to help if you need it, he can provide advice (having spent the last 25/26 years travelling the world) and he has a story or 2 to tell. One thing I would suggest is a chill out zone, we often found ourselves in the corridor having 20 minute conversations with other guests, if there was a room dedicated as an area to chill, speak, a simple sofa and a couple of bean bags would be great. This way travellers can bond, chat and get to know each other and would probably stay longer. I think this would really make a difference. Free drinks like tea/coffee or squash would be an additional bonus

Overall Discovery is great place to stay when visiting Melacca, it is close to China town, Jonker Street, Little India and only 10 minute walk to the Mega Mall which has a huge varity of things to entertain you.

Great to meet you Alan, Bob and Wendy you made our stay great and really looked after us before our journey onto Aus.

Hope to visit again soon :)

Room Tip: The A/C dorm has A/C from 10pm to 6am so take this into account if you plan on being in bed all day...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LCE1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melaka hotels
2.0 mi away
Sunflower Hotel Malacca
Sunflower Hotel Malacca
#30 of 167 in Melaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Settlement Hotel
The Settlement Hotel
#4 of 167 in Melaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fenix Inn
Fenix Inn
#18 of 167 in Melaka
3.5 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Casa del Rio Melaka
Casa del Rio Melaka
#1 of 167 in Melaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,249 reviews
0.4 mi away
Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
Layang Layang Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Discovery Cafe & Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Discovery Cafe & Guest House

Property: Discovery Cafe & Guest House
Address: 3 Jalan Bunga Raya, Melaka 75100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 116 Specialty Lodging in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Discovery Cafe & Guest House 1.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Discovery Cafe & Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Discovery Cafe & Guest House Hotel Melaka
Discovery Cafe And Guest House

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing