We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy, friendly, sweet”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Layang Layang Guest House
Ranked #4 of 210 Melaka B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Cozy, friendly, sweet”
Reviewed March 20, 2014

Stayed one night here in March. All the staffs are very friendly and helpful. We've stayed in the family room which is a super great deal. The interior is simple and nice with a small pond in the middle. Toilets are shared but they are very clean.

It has a kitchen in the middle of the guesthouse with purified water to drink and free coffee, tea and biscuits too. A fridge is also available.

It is located right in the heart of jonker street. And at night you may catch one of the staff (didn't managed to get his name) playing guitar right at the entrance of the guesthouse. :)

It is a really nice place to stay and will definitely come back!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanetWoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daphne_layang-layang, Owner at Layang Layang Guest House, responded to this review, September 19, 2014
Hi JanetWoon,

Thank you very much for your positive feedback. We truly appreciate the time you spent to post this review, and we are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay here at Layang Layang Guest House. We are looking forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    85
    30
    2
    0
See reviews for
41
55
24
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 17, 2014

This must be one of the most clean and relaxing guest house in town for sure.

Every time I come to Malacca I don't even look for other hotel, just straight check  in to this one!

It has such a  peaceful design , like ZEN but also funky.

It has small courtyard with pond, which I believe it brings the peaceful energy and air to the guest house.

When you are tired from all the noise and tension from Jonker street,and come back to this guest house, it relaxes you!


I usually stay with two kids, and the staff is so friendly with them!

I recommend to everybody to backpackers to family.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kentomiyaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daphne_layang-layang, Owner at Layang Layang Guest House, responded to this review, September 19, 2014
Hi kentomiyaka,

Thank you very much for your positive feedback. We truly appreciate the time you spent to post this review, and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay here at Layang Layang Guest House. We are looking forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schweiz
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2014 via mobile

I stayed for two nights at layang layang. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The room are basics- but with ac. You should ask for a room with a window. The showers and toilets are shared- but very very clean. The guesthouse also offers you free the and coffee all day long amd you can use the fridge.

Unfortunatley the taxi they ordered for me did not arrive-so I misses my bus.

Overall a place to recommend!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carambaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daphne_layang-layang, Owner at Layang Layang Guest House, responded to this review, September 19, 2014
Hi Carambaa,

Thank you very much for your feedback. We truly appreciate the time you spent to post this review.

We are sorry about the incident you encountered at the end of your stay, perhaps due to some miscommunication. We hope you accept our apologies for that.

We hope that you will give us another chance to welcome you back again in the future.

Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 7, 2014

We were walking down the street of the Chinatown looking for a guesthouse (traveling with 2 kids of 2 and 5 years old) an we saw the Layang Layang. Nicely decorated, smiling faces, large room, common bathroom exceptionally clean and very well located... and cheap.. so do not hesitate to visit Daphnee, Hong and John.
We came two times (in january 2014 and february 2014) and each time, we enjoyed our stay... Hong even bring us in his car for a city tour and his swimming pool (one the biggest I have ever seen)

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank tanlamotan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daphne_layang-layang, Owner at Layang Layang Guest House, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Thank you for taking your time to review us on your recent stay in Layang Layang Guest House.
We are delighted to know that you had a pleasant stay with us and enjoy your swimming session!
It was truly an honour to have your family staying at our place,can't wait to welcome all of you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed March 4, 2014

My family and I enjoyed stayed at Layang-Layang while holidaying in Malacca recently. It’s a quaint guesthouse with a nostalgic atmosphere that has all the modern amenities (including free Wi-Fi) which provided comfort and convenience for families (with or without children), small groups, backpackers or anyone looking for a perfect smog-free 'getaway' from any city! What we liked about Layang-Layang are its clean air-conditioned bedrooms (with very comfy beds) and its many ultra-clean shared bathrooms (yes! eventhough the bathrooms are shared they are absolutely spotless - all thanks to Layang-Layang's small band of dedicated staff!). There's even a small pantry for all the guests to use (with free hot & cold water, coffee and biscuits). And we really made use of it as we had to prepare food for our baby! Amazingly every guest who stayed in Layang-Layang kept the pantry spick and span! We also liked Layang-Layang's airy courtyard where we had our breakfast and afternoon tea listening to water cascading into a koi pond (with eight large beautiful kois)! You’ll also find a well (great for anyone who hasn't seen one before!) at one end of the courtyard. Another thing about Layang-Layang is its location; it's just a stone-throw away from Jonker's Street and all the wonderful local Malacca cuisine (ondeh-ondeh, chendol, nyonya delicacies and lots more!). It's a great location for treasure hunters too! I can say many more good things about Layang-Layang but it's suffice to say that if you're planning your holiday to Malacca you'll find it more memorable staying in Layang-Layang. And you might even get to meet the friendly couple who passionately created Layang-Layang! Layang-Layang is worth checking out! :)

Room Tip: Layang-layang is your home away from home! Enjoy your stay but treat it like your home!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank ThadEve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daphne_layang-layang, Owner at Layang Layang Guest House, responded to this review, September 19, 2014
Hi ThadEve,

Thank you very much for your positive feedback. We truly appreciate the time you spent to post this review, and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay here at Layang Layang Guest House together with your family. We are looking forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2014

I've been to Layang Layang guesthouse first time 2007 and ended up staying for a week because I liked the vibe. The location is the same, but everything has been upgraded. The place is clean and has good security. I stayed in 3 person room which was quite basic, but I liked it anyway. Showers and toilets are shared. I would recommend this to everyone who dont want to spend big bucks but still prefer to have a nice place to stay. Location is excellent as well.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jsompinm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daphne_layang-layang, Owner at Layang Layang Guest House, responded to this review, September 19, 2014
Hi jsompinm,

Thank you very much for your positive feedback. We truly appreciate the time you spent to post this review, and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay here at Layang Layang Guest House.

We believe that the guesthouse was still operated by another owner during your first visit in 2007. It was then upgraded and changed its ownership since December 2013 to become today's Layang Layang Guest House.

Thank you again, and we are looking forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Italy
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2014

We got to Melaka late in the evening with no reservation and found this great place. Beautiful guesthouse with a large patio and very good vibe. The staff was super friendly and the place is very clean and neat. Definitely the friendliest on our 2 month travel from Bangkok to Borneo.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Lucas_climbing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daphne_layang-layang, Owner at Layang Layang Guest House, responded to this review, September 19, 2014
Hi Lucas_climbing,

Thank you very much for your positive feedback. We truly appreciate the time you spent to post this review, and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay here at Layang Layang Guest House. We are looking forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.2 mi away
Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hotel Puri
Hotel Puri
#11 of 166 in Melaka
1,180 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa del Rio Melaka
Casa del Rio Melaka
#1 of 166 in Melaka
1,315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Jonker Boutique Hotel
Jonker Boutique Hotel
#6 of 166 in Melaka
714 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Settlement Hotel
The Settlement Hotel
#4 of 166 in Melaka
608 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hatten Hotel Melaka
Hatten Hotel Melaka
#12 of 166 in Melaka
2,297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Layang Layang Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Layang Layang Guest House

Property: Layang Layang Guest House
Address: 26 Jalan Tukang Besi, Melaka 75200, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 210 B&Bs / Inns in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Layang Layang Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Layang Layang Guest House is located at Blacksmith Street, which is known today as Jalan Tukang Besi. It is only one-minute walk to Jonker Street (Jonker Walk), and is the best location during your exploration in one of the oldest heritage sites in Malaysia that is preserved till today. The building of the guesthouse is believed to be over 100 years old. Back in the olden days, it used to be a famous opium den, and was once a brothel too! As you stay in the wooden house with history, it often feels like travelling back in time. Its original structure remains, including the large beautiful courtyard that represents the “feng shui” of the house. Fully restored since 2013, the guesthouse offers a fusion of old world charm and modern convenience. Today, it has a total of 20 fully air-conditioned rooms and 8 shared bathrooms that are cleaned and well-maintained at all times and equipped with quality toilet amenities. Combined with modern and heritage design, we assure our guests staying with pleasure and views of the heritage street. Carefully selected room furniture, cozy lobby, and the secret garden create a clean, soothing, and comfortable environment for your breakaway relaxation experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Layang Layang Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sama-Sama Guesthouse Hotel Melaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing