We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Peaceful & friendly hostel <3”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Layang Layang Guest House
Ranked #3 of 210 Melaka B&B and Inns
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
1 review
“Peaceful & friendly hostel <3”
Reviewed February 13, 2014

It's the first time I come to Melaka and the first time I come to this Hostel.
It's really a good hostel that I know. There are a good place to come. It have lovely boss and funny staff, they are so kind and friendly.
Really feel comfortable with the room & environment.
It stay in the old town, so quite and nice.
Security is so good. Clean and art <3 love it!

Room Tip: High floor with view to street or the pool with fish is a good choice :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hanhienvn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daphne_layang-layang, Owner at Layang Layang Guest House, responded to this review, September 19, 2014
Hi hanhienvn,

Thank you very much for your positive feedback. We truly appreciate the time you spent to post this review, and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay here at Layang Layang Guest House. We are looking forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    85
    30
    2
    0
See reviews for
41
55
24
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
Reviewed February 13, 2014

Layang Layang is simply the best guest house I've ever stayed and I have stayed in many guest houses all over the world. The first thing that strikes me is the very welcoming atmosphere of the facade and the beautiful and artistic decorations. I was hesitant to ask cause it looks expensive but my doubts were put to rest by the super friendly owner and staff. The interior is really fantastic and has an old charm combine with new world facility (you will be amaze by the toilet & shower facilities). The rooms has queen size bed and very comfortable with a/c. I have to mention again about the owner (Hong & Daphne) and staff (John & Farukh) as they are very accommodating and treats all guests like old friends and was lucky together with other guests to be given a tour of Malacca beach and taste of famous local food. Another great is the guest house is centrally located and within easy access to everything in Malacca. The neighbours are friendly too and its seems like you are walking down your own street. I highly recommend to everyone who wants to have the best experience of a guest house to stay at Layang Layang...thats the ONLY guest house i will stay whenever I go back to Malacca.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SamSG2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daphne_layang-layang, Owner at Layang Layang Guest House, responded to this review, September 19, 2014
Hi SamSG2014,

Thank you very much for your positive feedback. We truly appreciate the time you spent to post this review and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay here at Layang Layang Guest House. We are looking forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ampang, Malaysia
1 review
Reviewed February 10, 2014

Good decorations clean room clean toilet (my number 1 priority) friendly staff and to top it all it was located in one of the most strategic location compared to all the other stay over I have patron in Malacca. You can just park your vehicle in front or nearby the guest house and spend all your other nights travelling around the heritage, take photos & hunt for local delicacies just by your feet!! Almost all Malacca famous spots are within walking proximity of this place.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yeochangkeat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daphne_layang-layang, Owner at Layang Layang Guest House, responded to this review, September 19, 2014
Hi yeochangkeat,

Thank you very much for your positive feedback. We truly appreciate the time you took to post this review. We are looking forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.2 mi away
Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hotel Puri
Hotel Puri
#11 of 167 in Melaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,172 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa del Rio Melaka
Casa del Rio Melaka
#1 of 167 in Melaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Jonker Boutique Hotel
Jonker Boutique Hotel
#6 of 167 in Melaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 708 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Settlement Hotel
The Settlement Hotel
#4 of 167 in Melaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 600 reviews
0.1 mi away
Roof Top Guest House Melaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Layang Layang Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Layang Layang Guest House

Property: Layang Layang Guest House
Address: 26 Jalan Tukang Besi, Melaka 75200, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 210 B&Bs / Inns in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Layang Layang Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Layang Layang Guest House is located at Blacksmith Street, which is known today as Jalan Tukang Besi. It is only one-minute walk to Jonker Street (Jonker Walk), and is the best location during your exploration in one of the oldest heritage sites in Malaysia that is preserved till today. The building of the guesthouse is believed to be over 100 years old. Back in the olden days, it used to be a famous opium den, and was once a brothel too! As you stay in the wooden house with history, it often feels like travelling back in time. Its original structure remains, including the large beautiful courtyard that represents the “feng shui” of the house. Fully restored since 2013, the guesthouse offers a fusion of old world charm and modern convenience. Today, it has a total of 20 fully air-conditioned rooms and 8 shared bathrooms that are cleaned and well-maintained at all times and equipped with quality toilet amenities. Combined with modern and heritage design, we assure our guests staying with pleasure and views of the heritage street. Carefully selected room furniture, cozy lobby, and the secret garden create a clean, soothing, and comfortable environment for your breakaway relaxation experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld and HotelQuickly so you can book your Layang Layang Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sama-Sama Guesthouse Hotel Melaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing