We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great to find this place”
Review of Tony's Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tony's Guesthouse
Ranked #28 of 211 Melaka B&B and Inns
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great to find this place”
Reviewed February 5, 2014

Traveling with friends, and all of us, love to be here. Very friendly host, Tony and his wife.
Lovely room and breakfast. Easy to travel from this house to places like Chinatown, Mausoleum and others.
Pity that we could not stay in Melaka longer and have more time to talk with Tony, a very helpful guy.

Room Tip: room with AC will be the best option
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leo_T16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    19
    5
    0
    2
See reviews for
3
9
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2013 via mobile

We paid around £3 each to stay at Tonys for one night which we thought was great value. Obviously at this cost we were not expecting full luxury! The rooms could do with a deep clean to be fair but sheets etc were clean. There was a load of information in a folder in the room about both the guesthouse and Melacca in general which was a nice touch. The whole place is covered in Tony's 'artwork' which is rather eclectic shall we say!

To be honest I wouldn't recommend coming to Melacca to begin with. We went in between travelling from Singapore to KL and have to admit as 3 girls felt unsafe. The guesthouse is near ish to the town but you do feel unsafe getting there and the people are not very tourist friendly.


Also I would definitely recommend asking for a room with aircon it is slightly pricier but well worth it! The wifi is quite good and we ate breakfast in Tony's cafe below the guesthouse and it was good value.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suzib123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 17, 2013

My partner & I stayed at Tony's for 4 nights, and we enjoyed the hospitality of Tony & his Sumatran wife, Sanny, very much. The GH is spacious, with a 'kitchen' (fridge & electric kettle but no cooker) which we found really useful. The 'decor is unique - from Tony's own paintings which adorn all the walls to the murals on the doors. Rooms have balconies: always a positive for us. We lived off Tony's home made wholemeal rolls (dense, fibrous & filling) served in the cafe. But, most of all, we enjoyed Sanny & Tony's company: their openness, their very generous sharing of information, their advice - as well as their listening. We're both in our 60's - and fail to understand why someone thought it was geared towards younger travellers.
The location, just outside China Town, is ideal. (We stayed in Chinatown for 2 nights and found it a tad overwhelming). Great value for money too!

Room Tip: If you can, pay a little extra and go for a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bobblatchford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

This place has charm and character. They put me up in the 'sparrows' nest' on the top floor. The room is so hot that in the middle of the day even the large ceiling fan is scarcely of any use, but if you cared about AC and superb amenities, I imagine that you would have stayed someplace fancier.

What you DO get at this place is an owner who clearly put a great deal of thought into designing an aesthetically eclectic and comfortable space for travelers. Every floor has a fridge and a kitchen area, if you are staying in a room without AC, Tony has also provided a well ventilated common area on each floor. The one of the top floor is really quite cool (literally and figuratively) on even the hottest days.

HIGHLY Recommended!

Room Tip: All the rooms I've seen seem rather nice. For a small price I think you can upgrade to a room wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2012 via mobile

Tony's a very helpful friendly man who you can chat with. Room was big and overall a quiet place. It wasn't super clean, but far from dirty. The guesthouse is only five minutes walk from the Red Square, conveniently located nearby restaurants.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nadia2911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south Wales
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012 via mobile

Tonys guesthouse has everything you would expect for the category.

Tony is pleasant and generally nice. lots of his own art pieces around the place.

The place though Is dirty. needs a seriously good clean. Too many bug bites to count made for an itchy couple of days in lovely Melaka.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VoyagerMV1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2012

I really don't like writing bad reviews about hotels, but I just can't think of anything positive to write about this hostel!

First of all, this place is more a hostel than a guesthouse. There are signs (literally) that will alert you to the fact that this place is geared toward younger travellers - the sign in the shared toilet asking people to "remove their 'remains'" I found particularly unpalatable. There is also no sink in which to wash your hands after gong to the toilet.

The welcome I received from Tony was hardly warm. I think I'm a pretty friendly person, but his reception was disappointing. I asked for a map and got a HUGE second hand one. Surely someone who owns a tourist establishment should have an abundance of maps to give out?!

The room was less than average. I've stayed in hostels, hotels and guesthouses all over the world, and found this one to be the most disappointing. Furthermore, the windows are forced open so you can't close them. This is where my biggest problem was. I'm a light sleeper, and given the close proximity to a main street, there is no end of noise - people yelling, motorbikes honking, car alarms going off, dogs barking - it is impossible for anyone other than a heavy sleeper to get any rest.

I wanted to talk to Tony about this issue, but despite me knocking on the door below and calling out for about five minutes (his lights and the fan were on), he didn't come out. I ended up leaving at about 9.30pm, throwing 20RM through the door and going elsewhere. The place had an "ick" factor about it which, combined with the incredibly noisy area, made me cut my losses and seek alternate accommodation.

I would NOT recommend this place for anyone other than young backpackers with low expectations. If you're expecting an actual guesthouse with a friendly proprietor, you will not get that here.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PennyW26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.3 mi away
Jiong House
Jiong House
#38 of 211 in Melaka
23 reviews
0.3 mi away
River One Residence
River One Residence
#22 of 211 in Melaka
117 reviews
0.4 mi away
Victor's Guest House
Victor's Guest House
#19 of 211 in Melaka
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Olive Flashpackers
Olive Flashpackers
#17 of 126 in Melaka
42 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ringo's Foyer Guest House
0.4 mi away
Emily Travellers' Home
Emily Travellers' Home
#5 of 211 in Melaka
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tony's Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tony's Guesthouse

Property: Tony's Guesthouse
Address: 24 Lorong Bandakaba, Melaka 75100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 211 B&Bs / Inns in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Tony's Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing