We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice must go try”
Review of Putu Piring Stall

Putu Piring Stall
Ranked #363 of 681 Restaurants in Melaka
Price range: $5 - $10
Restaurant details
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“nice must go try”
Reviewed September 2, 2012

everytime we back my dear must go buy putu piring for me . if like cook n eat curry ppl can try buy they sell 1 home made recipe nyonya curry powder go back cook .

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank 6585
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    28
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Best Putu Piring in Melaka”
Reviewed June 23, 2012

A must try if you can find the location! Only opens from 6.30pm onwards till all the putu piring is sold out!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank KLMystic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Have you ever try a putu piring that melt in your mouth !”
Reviewed May 4, 2012

After a few rounds , finally found the place . Was there around at 10.05 PM and it was still open . One customer just left when we reached and another one came right after we left ... It's worth all the effort to find .... GPS Coordinate N2 12 04 E102 14 20 , coming fr Jonker / Jalan Tun Tan Cheng Lok will be at the right side of the road .

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank y y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Simply Divine!”
Reviewed April 9, 2012

This is just the way families have handed down recipes and done lovingly each day with great consistency. The Putu Piring was fragrant, soft and moist and every bite sends your senses to heaven. The place only opens in the evenings and it is a family affair. To get there, one needs to head on Tankera Street and slowly look out for the stall that is set on the varandah of the family house. There are bound to be loads of cars stopping by ... so keep a lookout and park by the wayside. Best eaten fresh no longer than 30 minutes after purchase when it is still warm.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JustinKWLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
36 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good Melaka version of putu kiring”
Reviewed August 6, 2011

I got to know about this stall from a food show on tv which featured their famous putu kiting. We drove there and was surprised to see there was mo queue yet as it was 7.30pm, still early. Could smell the pandan way before I approach the stall. A couple and their daughter were preparing these kuehs with wellpractised and deft hands. The putu piring was rather big with generously serving of coconut and gula Melaka. I find the Kueh texture a bit rough and dry due to the type of flour used . It didn't taste as fragrant as it smells. Overall it is still good value at 90cts each and it is a refreshing change from the version we get in Singapore. Will eat them again if I have the craving for it when I'm in malacca in future.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank ganadeline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Putu Piring Stall also viewed

Melaka, Central Melaka District
Melaka, Central Melaka District
 
Melaka, Central Melaka District
Melaka, Central Melaka District
 
Melaka, Central Melaka District
Melaka, Central Melaka District
 

Been to Putu Piring Stall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing