We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious Cendol & Nyonya Food is yummy”
Review of Jonker 88

Jonker 88
Ranked #4 of 26 Dessert in Melaka
Price range: $5 - $10
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night
Miri, Sarawak, Malaysia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Delicious Cendol & Nyonya Food is yummy”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

The queue was too long. We saw the place on the first day and the queue was long and we left. We tried on the second day, it was ok and we managed to eat their cendol and with extra ingredients. My recommendation, just try the basic cendol. We tried the Nyonya Food by Ah Ma stall, very yummy too.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Pearly2012_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

835 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    178
    349
    184
    74
    50
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
kuala lumpur
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice ice kacang”
Reviewed December 27, 2012

I had visit this restaurant twice before. The various type of ice kacang is really nice. However, there are really crowd and hard to find a place to sit. The table of the restaurant is limited. If the restaurant is full and no space for other customer, they didn't stop you for order or explain there is no seat for that moment. They let you order instead. After you had finish order and get your food, you found that there is no seat for you. By that time is too late, you force to wait other customer to leave and immediately take their seat. I tried to eat at this restaurant by standing all the time. I think the restaurant need to improve their management.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank puiteng123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
83 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Quite good chendol.”
Reviewed December 26, 2012

Really crowded place as per everywhere in Melaka during weekends. Definitely worth trying, their chendol, especially on sweltering hot days.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Doug S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
55 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Delicious, simple, and fast”
Reviewed December 26, 2012

This place is a must do experience! Don't get disarmed by the long que here might be! The service is fast but so should be you eating. Customers don't stop coming when on busy hours and you don't really have the time to eat and enjoy it calmly. But it's understandable.

Try any of the soups - I recommend spicy coconut soup. Also go for the desert - shaved ice with flavours. The price is very affordable - 10.50 RM for 2 soups and 4 RM for the desert.

The interior design is very interesting -you feel like in museum but still comfortable. I recommend this place!!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Raluca_abuletz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best Chendol I've had”
Reviewed December 23, 2012

The chendol dessert here is a must-try: the thick and generous helping of gula melaka (palm sugar syrup) makes it a hit. The place is extremely popular and has limited seats so be prepared to wait for a free table. Also sharing the same space is a noodle store - try the assam laksa.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank JTJY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jonker 88 also viewed

Melaka, Central Melaka District
 
Melaka, Central Melaka District
Melaka, Central Melaka District
 

Been to Jonker 88? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing