We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Nice hostel in great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ringo's Foyer Guest House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ringo's Foyer Guest House
Ranked #6 of 101 Specialty Lodging in Melaka
Denpasar, Indonesia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Nice hostel in great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

We stayed for 4 nights at Ringo and find it very good for value. Since we spent mostly going out sightseeing, we didn't get to stay in the room so much. But the room is decent and clean. For the money we have paid, it is definitely worth the value. Plus the location central and it is just behind Jonker Walk and other attractions. Howard is very friendly and you can ask him anything that you need. We rented bikes from him too as it is cheaper. He also does a regular Cycling Dinner Tour that I can see everyone enjoyed. I would highly recommend Ringo for budget traveller.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank evippsr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    51
    10
    5
    5
See reviews for
4
36
52
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Driving to Melaka from KL, one of my main concerns was parking. At Ringo's, there is a parking lot just next to the building, and several others scattered nearby, which makes it an ideal place for those driving to Melaka (as most of the touristy places are parking nightmares!).

My aircon double room (at the building front) was spacious and comfortable. The bathrooms are all at the other end of the building, though. The bathrooms are quite basic - enough for you to do your "business" and/or take a shower.

Decent wifi connection is available throughout the building. The common area is cozy, and coffee/tea is available all day at the pantry. Toast is provided for breakfast (although I didn't have my breakfast inhouse, as I wanted to try the local delicacies nearby). Canned drinks/beers & bottled water are also available at reasonable prices.

The main attraction would be the rooftop. It is windy throughout the day/night, and a cozy place to chill out and fellowship with the other guests there.

The popular Jonker Walk area is located just 200 metres down the road. As such, although it is not smack in the middle of the busy area, it is within easy reach. And at the T-junction down the road from the guesthouse, there is a quaint little shop called "De Zus", in which I had some decent local food at reasonable prices.

Overall, it's a pretty decent budget place to stay and explore Jonker, as well as to meet people.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charles C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

The rooms were really basic and so hot that I couldn't sleep.
The Mattress and pillows were disgusting, old, dirty and brandmarked by the bedbugs.
I had bedbugs. It was painful!!!

Howard is nice, but it's not worth staying there

Room Tip: Simply don't go there
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DSchroeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014 via mobile

This hostel is the place to stay in melaka. The super friendly host makes everyone feel welcome and really shows you the city. Cycling tours, restaurant tours and even tours of the local market made this a super fun place to stay. It was very easy to meet people so a great place to stay if you are a solo traveller.

Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Thomas O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014 via mobile

The beds were old and creaky, mattresses not very clean or thick. It isn't very quiet due to the fans, traffic and mosque. The dorms are small which is nice, bathrooms are basic. Breakfast is just toast. A very personal experience- the owner is really high energy and very sweet. Close enough to the Main Street in Chinatown, but not above and beyond value wise.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sshield7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014 via mobile

This guesthouse would have to be my number one favourite hostel I stayed in this trip.
The atmosphere is amazing.
Howard the owner here makes it such a unique experience.
When I arrived he introduced me to everyone which was good because I was travelling alone, he also took everyone there on a bike tour to dinner and on the weekend took us to the markets.
Pretty basic hostel with toast for breakfast but for 5 dollars it is definitely worth every cent and more.
I even went back to Melaka but ended up couch surfing with a friend there and Howard recognised me walking down the street and said hello! Would recommend for everyone!

Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Hfarrell94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penrith, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

One of the most sociable places you could wish to stay whilst travelling in Malaysia. Howard the owner\manager is a brilliant host and has countless interesting stories about his upbringing in Maleka (including one about his Chinese grandad and a monkey brain - ask him!) If you're travelling solo this hostel is a great way to bump into some like minded people, and its a very fair price for all the fun you will have here.

Thanks Howard and I hope you do make it to the UK to travel one day (just remember to visit the Hebrides and not Blackpool)

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Jamie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.4 mi away
Casa del Rio Melaka
Casa del Rio Melaka
#1 of 161 in Melaka
4.5 of 5 stars 997 reviews
0.2 mi away
Swiss Hotel Heritage Boutique Melaka
0.4 mi away
Discovery Cafe & Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Apa Kaba Home & Stay
Apa Kaba Home & Stay
#2 of 101 in Melaka
4.5 of 5 stars 152 reviews
0.7 mi away
Travellers Planet Hostel
Travellers Planet Hostel
#12 of 101 in Melaka
4.5 of 5 stars 171 reviews
0.3 mi away
Layang Layang Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ringo's Foyer Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ringo's Foyer Guest House

Property: Ringo's Foyer Guest House
Address: 46-A Jalan Portugis, Melaka 75200, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 101 Specialty Lodging in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Ringo's Foyer Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ringo`s Foyer Guest House Hotel Melaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing