We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic host and food top garden”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ringo's Foyer Guest House
Ranked #5 of 121 Specialty Lodging in Melaka
perth
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Fantastic host and food top garden”
Reviewed January 6, 2014 via mobile

Ringo's foyer guesthouse is one of those guesthouses that has its own personal charm and character to set it aside from the rest. The rooms and the free breakfast are very basic but what you would expect from the price. What sets Ringo's apart is the owner/operator Howard. He takes people on free cycling tours around the city with his little boom box attached to his bike to cheap and good eaterys encouraging you to meet and eat with new people. He will also invite you along to local pubs and drink with local people and he also hosts BBQ's on his cosy little rooftop bar. I have been to this hostel many times and it's no surprise that I see the same people poping back in and passing through. In my last few visits I have seen a fire twirler/snake handler on the rooftop bar, been on a 25km ride around Malaka in Howard's bicycle "foldies" club, sung karaoke with random locals and met a magician who blew my mind. A visit to Ringo's Foyer is always one to remember and to enjoy. Advice - don't be shy and join in with the Randomness that Howard will surely create.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank wesleyPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    54
    12
    5
    5
See reviews for
4
41
54
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

I took a bus from LCCT to Melaka and arrive Melaka at 4 a.m, so that I have overnight at Melaka Sentral. In the morning, I take a bus to go to center. However, I could not walk to visit Melake because I have no sleep in Melaka Sentral. I went to Ringo- the hostel I booked via booking.com. Wow, I found the greetings in some languages including in Vietnamese. Howard, the owner is very friendly and helpful. Because the check-in time is 12 a.m, so that Howard said that I could make a sleep in the sofa after using the bathroom. After sleeping, I checked in and Mr. Howard showed me the way to the rofftop. I met some other guests from Indonesia, Korea and Canada. The roof-top was so romantic. I wished I have had more time to sunbathe with sun, wind or chat with others. The rain made me come back Ringo soon. I met Janet, Young Hee again, then we decided to ride bicycle together at 7p.m. We including Howard went out for dinner on bikes. He gave us to local food. It was very delicious. After riding along the river, we came back guest house and joined the birthday party of an Indonesian girl. Howard asked me the plan for the 2nd morning. I also have never stayed anywhere where someone takes so much interest in your trip and also your stay. Back to my room, I sleeped well in a clean room, no traffic noisenice. The morning, I woke up early and ride bicycle to visit Potugies Settelement as well as Chitty Village. Check out the guest house, it is so regret because I did not see Howard. The house-keeper made a phone call and I can speak to Howard. Howard free for me the money of bike maybe because I am a Vietnamese girl who travel alone. The house-keeper gave me a gift- a towel. Goodbye Ringo! Goodbye Melaka. Thanks you all!
Good location: close to center, no traffic noise, good price and wifi, great rooftop and great owner, great staff.
Great hostel to stay in Melaka.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vân Anh N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2013

Our stay here was excellent. The hostel itself is really well laid out with several quiet communal areas and a wonderful roof top that catches the breeze. It is decorated in a way that makes it feel homely rather than the stark or stereotypical 'crazy/party/cool traveller' theme that so many hostels opt for nowadays. It was also quiet thanks a to its location and its layout.

The main reason that this place is great is Howard, the owner. I have never stayed anywhere where someone takes so much interest in your trip and also your stay. Instantly introduced to other guests to break the ice, several of us then went out with Howard for dinner on bikes. It is great to get an insiders perspective and it is clear that he enjoys the company and stories of his guests whilst also enjoying sharing his own.

Do yourself a favour and stay here.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulm, Germany
1 review
Reviewed December 20, 2013 via mobile

nice place to stay, close to city, no traffic noisenice rooms, especially the rooftop with great view. The nice owner Howard makes a lot to show you the city. If you go to Melaka you shouldn't miss this place.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank philj93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yogyakarta, Indonesia
1 review
Reviewed December 18, 2013 via mobile

Great place to stay when you visit Malaka! Why? The owner, Howerd, is very friendly and helpful. The guesthouse is clean and looks nice. Good location, price and wifi. And an overall good vibe. One of the best guesthouses that we found so far!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Woutervddries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2013

I stayed at Ringos Foyer in November, only wanting to stay a few days but in the end I stayed 9 days and was really sad to leave.
Howard is one amazing host, he took us out every night on bike trips around town and to dinner at really wonderful places.
After my travelling plans had changed I returned back to Ringos and it was like coming home. This time again,I only wanted to spend a few days to make new plans and stayed, 11 days.
The rooms are nothing special, but then again, you don`t spend the days in your room, you only sleep there.;)
There is a wonderful roof top "garden" which is really cozy and a great place for some moments alone in the morning with a coffee :)
If it is raining, just ask Howard if he has a movie or two to watch ...

Either you love Ringos or you don`t ... but it became my home away from home.
Thank-you Howard for being such a great host.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charly l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2013

We originally were going to spend 2 nights here but ended up staying 3. The rooms and breakfast are very basic but the place is clean. The owner is very nice and extremely helpful. Every night he organises trips to local restaurants and markets for dinner. Very good fun! There is a nice rooftop chill out area. Every time someone new arrives at the hostel the owner introduces them to all the guests which is a nice touch.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jenni w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.3 mi away
7 Days Premium
7 Days Premium
#54 of 167 in Melaka
3.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
0.8 mi away
Fenix Inn
Fenix Inn
#18 of 167 in Melaka
3.5 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
2.3 mi away
Sunflower Hotel Malacca
Sunflower Hotel Malacca
#27 of 167 in Melaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Jonker Boutique Hotel
Jonker Boutique Hotel
#6 of 167 in Melaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 706 reviews
0.4 mi away
Discovery Cafe & Guest House
0.2 mi away
Roof Top Guest House Melaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ringo's Foyer Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ringo's Foyer Guest House

Property: Ringo's Foyer Guest House
Address: 46-A Jalan Portugis, Melaka 75200, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 121 Specialty Lodging in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ringo's Foyer Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Ringo's Foyer Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ringo`s Foyer Guest House Hotel Melaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing