We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Uncomfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ringo's Foyer Guest House
Ranked #5 of 121 Specialty Lodging in Melaka
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Uncomfortable”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

The bedrooms in this place are disgusting. The curtains in our room looked like they had blood stains on them, the sheets were dirty and the pillows didn't even have cases. They were old throw pillows or something and were coming apart. We weren't given a blanket, just one sheet and there was one sheet on the mattress, but no cover. My friend and I both skipped showers there (thankfully, we weren't in Melaka long), because we couldn't bare it.

On the plus side, the location is pretty good and the man who runs the place, Howard, is very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexandra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    54
    12
    5
    5
See reviews for
4
41
54
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pulborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

The location is great, right on the heart of Melaka, the staff are very friendly and welcoming, other guests very friendly also. However, the room I was supposed to stay in had bedbugs. I think it's important that fellow travellers are warned because once you get bedbugs, they are so difficult to get rid of! The manager was so helpful and helped me get another guesthouse at 1:00 am and took me there, but nonetheless these bugs were big enough to see, some were really quite big, so I'm not sure that it's a new problem.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rebecca T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sitiawan, Malaysia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Single fan room can be a little warm for some with the fan not in tip-top condition. I took a shower before bedtime during my stay and that helped a lot. The bathrooms may look slightly old but they are generally clean. The best thing is that the place is in close proximity to major attractions and Jonker Street.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vaynon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucerne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Ringo's Foyer certainly is the best place to stay in Melaka, very Close to the most interesting spots in Melaka. The rooms are all cleanish and comfy, (and way too cheap). The owner (Howard, not Ringo) tries very hard to please everyone. There are activities every day (bike rides, visiting markets, food places, etc etc) that gives you the opportunity to meet new people and visit interesting places in Melaka you wouldn't find out about otherwise. The hostel itself is very interesting with several rooms to hang out, relax, watch TV/movies, etc etc. The roof garden is huge and you can BBQ up there or just enjoy the view. Best place to stay, make new friends, and enjoy Melaka. You almost feel guilty paying so little for the rooms, considering what you get in return.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xgerryx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, null, Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Just spent two nights in Melaka. Since not satisfied with the dorm of the previous hostel (too many mosquitoes made me sleepless!), I changed to Ringo's Foyers. It turned out to be smart choice: better facility, better atmosphere, very kind & helpful boss, colder room (I can sleep so well!) but even cheaper rate (RM18/night compare with RM15 of previous hostel) !!! It's in the good location close to jonker walk and historical area but very quite. Just downstairs, there are restaurant and food stalls which provide nice local taste. Definitely I will recommend this to others.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ziyuan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Yeah, I went to this guest house with my friends, attraction from the photos publish and the way everyone describe about the owner, Howard! I made my booking via phone to the guest house, I have requested for a air cond room, however when we reach, there was no more air cond room, the room we got to stay is quite hot, the first room on the left after the staircase at second floor! We got to change to a air cond room the next day!
What I love about here is definitely the environment, the living room is awesome, and the top roof area is col and relaxing! The guest house had prepared the map for everyone! Clearly stated where is the attraction point! That time when I want to go out, Howard was not there and another chinese boy recommend some shops for me! The location of this guest house is very strategic, a walking distance to Jonker Street!
Definitely a good choice to stay! Recommend for couples and youngster, however for family with eldest, there is no lift (but the guest house only first floor and second floor)!


:)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChiuYeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almelo, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
42 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013

I really had fun here. There is a vibe here. You will feel and enjoy it. Howard (the owner) is very relaxing and cool. He introduces everyone when somebody new arrives in the guest house. The place may look old, but it has is charm. The breakfast is simple, but thats okay by me. The coffee makes more then good. I stayed here for 2 nights and had only fun here. The location and the value of the place are both perfect. Besides this it can be a little bit cleaner, but thats the only tip.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amigoe1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.3 mi away
7 Days Premium
7 Days Premium
#54 of 167 in Melaka
3.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
0.8 mi away
Fenix Inn
Fenix Inn
#18 of 167 in Melaka
3.5 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
2.3 mi away
Sunflower Hotel Malacca
Sunflower Hotel Malacca
#27 of 167 in Melaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Jonker Boutique Hotel
Jonker Boutique Hotel
#6 of 167 in Melaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 706 reviews
0.4 mi away
Discovery Cafe & Guest House
0.2 mi away
Roof Top Guest House Melaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ringo's Foyer Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ringo's Foyer Guest House

Property: Ringo's Foyer Guest House
Address: 46-A Jalan Portugis, Melaka 75200, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 121 Specialty Lodging in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ringo's Foyer Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Ringo's Foyer Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ringo`s Foyer Guest House Hotel Melaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing