We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“say hi to howard”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ringo's Foyer Guest House
Ranked #5 of 115 Specialty Lodging in Melaka
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“say hi to howard”
Reviewed July 14, 2012

i'm surr this is the best place for backpackers to stay in melaka! if not malaysia...

great value and service!
The owner - Howard - is a great guy and makes sure everyone has a great time. He'll introduce you to all the other guests, guide you around and knows the best places to have good and cheap local food.

did i mention the rooftop terrace?

If you're staying in Melaka, go there.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank freelancer61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    54
    10
    5
    5
See reviews for
4
41
54
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

The best place to stay in Malaysia!!

We went there the first moment we arrived to Melaka, after looking for a place on internet, and it was the great discovery of our days in Malaysia. Howard is the best host you can find: every afternoon he organizes dinners through Melaka (sometimes with bikes), bbq's on the roof of the guesthouse, cakes for national or chinese holidays, and the coolest thing ever, he introduces everybody who stay in the guesthouse, so the friendly environment in that place is just great!

The place is close to the Heritage Buildings of Melaka and about 2 minutes from the main chinese street, so you can enjoy its night market barely moving from the guesthouse.

The guest house is big, with different kind of rooms, kitchen, living room and several common spaces to work with your laptop or read. The roof is big and great place to enjoy!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank architectBCN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 12, 2012

The location is spot on, the owner is a really nice guy who will introduce you to everyone else in the hostel, and the rooftop is just amazing. One of the best hostel I've stayed in my life!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Federico I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2012

we had a great stay at ringos foyer. The owner is really nice and introducing everyone in the hostel to each other. Its great to get to know people and drink some beers on the rooftop. The owner organizes biketours to local markets for free, showing you local food and fruits.
The rooms are clean and unique. One of the best places we stayed during 3 weeks malaysia!!!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Babs E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2012

Friendly owner. Feels like a home with all the other travellers.

Booked a triple bed room with air-con. Not tip-top comfy by it really feels like a home with friendly families or other travellers from around the world.

Walking distance to Jonker Walk, weekend where it would come alive! Lots of good food and bars in the streets.

Shared bathroom reeks of urine sometimes, but so one gotta be able to handle if there are other dirty guests!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AGirlNamedLiza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
37 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2012

It was a great place to make friends and never have I expected me and some of my former roommates are buddies till now. The place was a bit old but I didn't really care much. The people staying there are an awesome bunch. Also, kudos to Howard the owner who made me feel welcome. Location was easy to find and lots of cheap food just around the corner. Transport from Melaka Sentral to Jonker St is only RM1.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SHAIFULLAH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2012

This is backpackers heaven if you are in melaka, mainly because of Howard the host/manager/tourguide/informationpoint/everything of the place. He is the kindest man possible.
He takes his guests to the best dinner places every evening and does bike tours as well.

Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Humphreybas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.8 mi away
Fenix Inn
Fenix Inn
#17 of 167 in Melaka
474 reviews
0.3 mi away
7 Days Premium
7 Days Premium
#54 of 167 in Melaka
127 reviews
2.3 mi away
Sunflower Hotel Malacca
Sunflower Hotel Malacca
#29 of 167 in Melaka
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Discovery Cafe & Guest House
0.2 mi away
Roof Top Guest House Melaka
0.3 mi away
Layang Layang Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ringo's Foyer Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ringo's Foyer Guest House

Property: Ringo's Foyer Guest House
Address: 46-A Jalan Portugis, Melaka 75200, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 115 Specialty Lodging in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ringo's Foyer Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Ringo's Foyer Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ringo`s Foyer Guest House Hotel Melaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing