We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good service, meet people, can be loud”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ringo's Foyer Guest House
Ranked #5 of 123 Specialty Lodging in Melaka
Certificate of Excellence
Hannover
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good service, meet people, can be loud”
Reviewed March 23, 2011

We were in Ringo's for three nights. I had expected an attached bathroom (by my fault) which Ringo's does not offer. Location is not very central but OK. Bathrooms are always flooded but this is standard in Malaysia. During check-in the guy showed us our double room directly besides the video room with very loud video sound in our room. We asked for another room but he said video would only be during days, not at night. This was not true as we heard Pulp Fiction until 11:30 PM which was quite uncomfortable. When we forgot our passports in the room the reception guy (Sam) was very helpful and contacted me via facebook (although only knowing my name and country).

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mhuhn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    56
    12
    5
    5
See reviews for
4
41
56
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2011

We had a pretty good experience at Ringo's. Howard, the owner, is super friendly and makes it very easy to get to know everyone at the hostel, which makes for a very friendly atmosphere. He also organizes BBQs, dinners out, that sort of thing, and helped us buy our sim cards. And I think he also rents out bikes.

The place itself has many amenities: a nice rooftop area where we had a BBQ, hot water, free wifi, some air conditioned rooms, free drinking water/tea/coffee, a book exchange, and a TV. Our room was very clean. The location is great - very close to Chinatown.

Now for my complaints: the bed was one of the most uncomfortable beds I've ever slept in, with springs poking out everywhere, and a very lumpy pillow. We had to pile 2 towels and a blanket on the mattress or else we couldn't sleep at all. It was a bit noisy, but wasn't too bad with ear plugs.

Overall I'd recommend this place if you're looking for a good vibe, but not if you want comfort.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mkhenson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2011

Friendly and helpful staff. Too bad they were not very available and often there was no-one at the reception desk. Which makes check-out quite difficult.
The rooms were clean but noise from the lobby and surrounding rooms easily penetrated the thin cardboard walls. Another drawback was that there was only one hot shower in the guesthouse, resulting in queing !
We found it handy that the guesthouse rented out bikes to tour Melaka and the place had a spacious roof terrace.
Ringo's is a great place for socializing with fellow backpackers but don't expect too much comfort.

Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Asia_Travellers_2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2011

Ringo's hostel really made my trip to Malacca.

I'm in my mid-30s now and I travel a lot for business. At this point, when I choose to stay at a hostel, I'm doing so so that I can meet people and get a little more personal introduction to a town. My husband wasn't able to join me on my weekend trip to Malacca, so I headed to Ringo's. And it totally fit the bill.

Howard, the owner, is a great connector of people. He introduces all his guests to each other, helps gather a group for dinners/breakfasts, and is great to talk with about Malacca and the rest of the region. A totally genuine guy who's found his niche.

The hostel itself is unremarkable, but tidy. Nice features: wifi, rooms with aircon avail, tea/coffee, roof with tables/chairs.

I wouldn't recommend the place to someone looking for luxury, but it's a great trip for a solo traveller.

Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank SangareMuso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2011

Great Hostel, great people and cool staff. Every hostel should be like this. From now on I want bikes, rooftop bbqs and dinner guiding everywhere. + first real clean laundry in months... Howard, Sam & Trace keep it cool.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FreekTeije
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2010

Ringo's foyer is an average backpacker for backpackers who are not expecting too much. On the upside, the location is close to jonker street and walking distance to the A Famosa fortress. The street where the inn is at is commonly used so you eating places and convenience stores are really near. However, due to this reason, you can hear old chinese folks wailing on their karaoke-ing machine on weekend nights and the streets dont look too welcoming (however, i spent the whole night out one time and i managed to not get mugged or anything). In regards to the stay itself, some of the beds have bed bugs, the shower room isnt sparkling clean, there's only one computer for the internet (and it's not free), and the staffs are helpful but not so friendly. However, ringo has an awesome rooftop leisure area with bbq pit and nice open air to chill with your friends or meet other travelers. Provided it's not raining and you have enough mosquito repellant.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DarkDelaqroux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
55 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2010

The place is located in a horrible street just outside china town. The place looked fine when we arrived, it was late and we were tired so we took the room to realize later that it was filthy, I don't think they clean the bathrooms in a regular basis. You are brushing your teeth and holding your breath so you don't have to smell the pee scent. They have a nice terrace to chill out but all the furniture is absolutely disgusting so you don't really feel like relaxing while sitting there.
They over charged us also!
I don't recommend this place.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank estarman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.3 mi away
7 Days Premium
7 Days Premium
#59 of 166 in Melaka
128 reviews
0.8 mi away
Fenix Inn
Fenix Inn
#16 of 166 in Melaka
483 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Settlement Hotel
The Settlement Hotel
#4 of 166 in Melaka
608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Sunflower Hotel Malacca
Sunflower Hotel Malacca
#29 of 166 in Melaka
63 reviews
0.4 mi away
Discovery Cafe & Guest House
0.3 mi away
Layang Layang Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ringo's Foyer Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ringo's Foyer Guest House

Property: Ringo's Foyer Guest House
Address: 46-A Jalan Portugis, Melaka 75200, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 123 Specialty Lodging in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ringo's Foyer Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Ringo's Foyer Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ringo`s Foyer Guest House Hotel Melaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing