We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good budget accommodation near Heritage centre”
Review of Kota Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kota Lodge
Ranked #49 of 166 Hotels in Melaka
1 review
“Good budget accommodation near Heritage centre”
Reviewed October 13, 2012 via mobile

It's a small and clean lodge, situated in the back streets, near the heritage centre. Recommend it for its location, budget and friendly staff. Near Jonker street with lots of food options nearby.

Had a thoroughly enjoyable experience in Melaka, positively recommend strolling by the river in the evening .... Great photo opportunities ... Overall, it's a different experience than the other places we had visited in Malaysia.

Had an unique experience in the process of finding this hotel! We were wandering in the Melaka central bus stn when we were approached by an relatively old man (Mr. Lee, owner of the lodge) who spoke fluent English. Initially, we were doubtful as he could have been a con man, but his demeanor and openness about the location and also willing to be open about other options and providing us with suggestions as to what we could do during our 1 day in Melaka won us over .... He was also helpful and helped us get tickets to Singapore and by warning us about the lack of seats on Sunday afternoon!

Happy traveling!

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank shal_sundry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    29
    23
    7
    14
See reviews for
10
23
17
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Thailand
Level Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

This place wasn't much 3 years ago, but at least it was clean. The same friendly lady at the counters, calling everybody "Darling", the same ladyboy assistant, but the rooms are smelly, the AC in urgent need of replacement, and the small fridge better left unopened. After one night we moved to the ABC hotel next door, which is brand new, and offers large, clean, comfortable rooms for the same price;.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank René M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Melaka hotels

Ubon Ratchathani, Thailand
Level Contributor
208 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2012

Kota Lodge is a good place to stay if you don't want to pay a lot and want to be near, but not in, the Heritage Center. Although there is no food at the hotel, if you ask, the staff will point you in the direction of an area with "hawker" restaurants for dinner and a nearby cafe for breakfast. There are also restaurants in the Heritage Center for lunch and dinner. My room was quite small but good for one person. Staff were friendly and helpful if asked.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2012

Kota Lodge has everything you can wish for: great location (less than 5 minutes from the heritage centre, cheap but great restaurants at the corner, nightshop next door,...), free Wifi, very clean, extremely nice owner who takes time to give you information & time to show us the best foodplaces around. He even invited us to drink a kind of Chinese dessert/soup around the corner. We stayed in the basic triple room (<60rm/night for the tree of us), wich is basic but very clean and provided with airco and a van. We had shared bathroom with hot shower (also extremely clean). As written before: realy great value for the money.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katrien V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremantle West Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Had a great stay here. Owner May is a real bundle of energy and even cooked us up a cup of local brew coffee. Rooms are clean, shower hot and strong, we even had a wee balcony. Short wander into the Jonker Walk area so perfectly placed. The price was great value for money.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janice242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oulu, Finland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2012

With an excellent location (once you find your way through the metal gate and the buildings straight to Jonker Street), friendly staff, budget prices and clean rooms, Kota Lodge boasts good value for money in the heart of Malacca. Laundry, nice restaurants, Internet cafe and a 7-Eleven are nearby. Just don't expect a 5 star hotel, because Kota Lodge doesn't pretend to be one.

There are several kinds of rooms available at Kota Lodge - and we tried many of them during our two weeks in Malacca.

The slightly sweaty (even with air-con) boxes upstairs on the second floor are assembled shacks meant for true budget travellers (twin room with shared bathroom for 40 ringgit). On the first floor (one above ground level) you'll find the best rooms with windows and a shared balcony, but they cost nearly double that of the backpacker rooms upstairs. There are also windowless rooms that are perfectly cool and even antless on the ground floor and above that go a few ringgit cheaper than the ones with a balcony, but quality in these differs, depending mostly on the furniture and the shape of the room.

As hinted above, the furniture in some of the rooms could use an upgrade as could sound-proofing, which is quite low because of the type of windows used and affects sleep quality. All of the rooms we tried were quite clean, as were the shared bathrooms.

The staff is very friendly and the lady at reception suggested a discount herself when we had stayed at the hotel for a while. Though he may seem a bit taciturn at first, the Chinese night man is also a lovely, lovely character who can be very friendly - and usually is.

There's free wifi available throughout the hotel grounds and it worked decently well, which is always a plus. Unfortunately the same cannot be said about the tvs in the rooms - some of them are nearly broken and have very bad reception. But there's always the lobby with a nice tv downstairs. Also, some of the doors and locks are nearing their breaking point, which might be worth mentioning, but for us they worked well enough for our stay.

All in all I enjoyed my stay in Malacca and Kota Lodge tremendously. If the rating was merely based on that or the very nice staff, I would give the place 5 stars instead. However, one must also look at the downsides of accommodation for an objective opinion.

Having said that, if I ever travel to Malacca again, I will certainly seek shelter under the roof of Kota Lodge and its charming staff.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
1 review
Reviewed June 14, 2012

This hotel is conveniently located and the rooms are small but clean. What really made my visit was the staff. The man who runs it took us on a tour of the city for free. He brought us to places tourists usually miss, and pointed out the best restaurants in town as well.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ari898
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.5 mi away
Euro Rich Hotel Melaka
Euro Rich Hotel Melaka
#56 of 166 in Melaka
135 reviews
0.6 mi away
CK Hotel
CK Hotel
#38 of 166 in Melaka
15 reviews
0.4 mi away
Seri Costa Hotel-Resort
Seri Costa Hotel-Resort
#61 of 166 in Melaka
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Coastal Park Hotel
Coastal Park Hotel
#41 of 166 in Melaka
7 reviews
0.5 mi away
Gold Leaf Hotel
Gold Leaf Hotel
#91 of 166 in Melaka
14 reviews
2.4 mi away
Sunflower Hotel Malacca
Sunflower Hotel Malacca
#29 of 166 in Melaka
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kota Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kota Lodge

Property: Kota Lodge
Address: 26 Jalan Kota Laksamana 3 | Taman Kota Laksamana, Melaka 75200, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 166 Hotels in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Kota Lodge 1*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kota Lodge is simply a home away from home. Ideally located in the heart of Chinatown, you can easily access yourself to the most historical part of Melaka in merely 2 minutes on foot. All types of Malacca delicacy can be found near Kota Lodge such as, Chinese, Malay, Indian and also the Baba & Nyonya. A 24 convenient shop is just round the corner. Come and stay with us and we will make you understand more about Melaka and Malaysia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Kota Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kota Hotel Melaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing