We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Melaka Dreams”
Review of Kota Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kota Lodge
Ranked #50 of 168 Hotels in Melaka
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Had a great stay here. Owner May is a real bundle of energy and even cooked us up a cup of local brew coffee. Rooms are clean, shower hot and strong, we even had a wee balcony. Short wander into the Jonker Walk area so perfectly placed. The price was great value for money.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janice242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (91)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

51 - 57 of 91 reviews

Reviewed June 27, 2012

With an excellent location (once you find your way through the metal gate and the buildings straight to Jonker Street), friendly staff, budget prices and clean rooms, Kota Lodge boasts good value for money in the heart of Malacca. Laundry, nice restaurants, Internet cafe and a 7-Eleven are nearby. Just don't expect a 5 star hotel, because Kota Lodge doesn't pretend to be one.

There are several kinds of rooms available at Kota Lodge - and we tried many of them during our two weeks in Malacca.

The slightly sweaty (even with air-con) boxes upstairs on the second floor are assembled shacks meant for true budget travellers (twin room with shared bathroom for 40 ringgit). On the first floor (one above ground level) you'll find the best rooms with windows and a shared balcony, but they cost nearly double that of the backpacker rooms upstairs. There are also windowless rooms that are perfectly cool and even antless on the ground floor and above that go a few ringgit cheaper than the ones with a balcony, but quality in these differs, depending mostly on the furniture and the shape of the room.

As hinted above, the furniture in some of the rooms could use an upgrade as could sound-proofing, which is quite low because of the type of windows used and affects sleep quality. All of the rooms we tried were quite clean, as were the shared bathrooms.

The staff is very friendly and the lady at reception suggested a discount herself when we had stayed at the hotel for a while. Though he may seem a bit taciturn at first, the Chinese night man is also a lovely, lovely character who can be very friendly - and usually is.

There's free wifi available throughout the hotel grounds and it worked decently well, which is always a plus. Unfortunately the same cannot be said about the tvs in the rooms - some of them are nearly broken and have very bad reception. But there's always the lobby with a nice tv downstairs. Also, some of the doors and locks are nearing their breaking point, which might be worth mentioning, but for us they worked well enough for our stay.

All in all I enjoyed my stay in Malacca and Kota Lodge tremendously. If the rating was merely based on that or the very nice staff, I would give the place 5 stars instead. However, one must also look at the downsides of accommodation for an objective opinion.

Having said that, if I ever travel to Malacca again, I will certainly seek shelter under the roof of Kota Lodge and its charming staff.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2012

This hotel is conveniently located and the rooms are small but clean. What really made my visit was the staff. The man who runs it took us on a tour of the city for free. He brought us to places tourists usually miss, and pointed out the best restaurants in town as well.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ari898
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2012

This small budget hotel is perfectly located for all the tourist attractions in Melaka. The rooms are clean if somewhat basic with air conditioning. The acclaimed restaurant Pak Putra is a 2 minute walk away as is a convenient 7/11 store. The staff are friendly and helpful. On the downside the market opposite starts very noisily at 5am!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a window!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JMB1309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2012

I spent a very nice time in this hostel, wich is situate near the chinatown of Melaka (5 minutes walking). The place is quite, clean and the rooms are very comfortable. According to the staff, we met people absolutely open-mind and who are very generous. I remember the delicious biscuits homemade they offer us one day. :)
For bagpackers, there is 4 rooms for you! you can choose if you want air-con or not (30 or 40 RM).
To conclude, I really recommend this place as I really recommend to visite Melaka.
good trip!
Aude

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sai123-12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2012

This is a budget hotel. The rooms have little soundproofing between them, they are small with no furniture in the rooms save for one unusual cupboard unit.

There was a TV, we opted for air-conditioning and it was an en-suite room, but we had nowhere to put clothes, bags camera cases except on the floor. As fairly experienced travellers we don't like putting things on the floor in case of invasion by cockroaches etc. although we saw no evidence of such like. WiFi worked in the room, but only one electric outlet which makes charging phones, cameras, computers a bit of a juggling game.

Good points: a short walk to the Jonker Street / Heeren Street areas. Plenty of parking space. Good choice of local food houses and restaurants just nearby.

It was clean and the staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graham H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2012

A nice guesthouse in centre of Melaka. The rooms are clean and are good considering the price. The staff is really friendly and are making you feel at home.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Erik1911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.8 mi away
CK Hotel
CK Hotel
#41 of 168 in Melaka
18 reviews
0.5 mi away
Heeren Inn
Heeren Inn
#48 of 168 in Melaka
40 reviews
2.7 mi away
Sunflower Hotel Malacca
Sunflower Hotel Malacca
#35 of 168 in Melaka
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Gold Leaf Hotel
Gold Leaf Hotel
#97 of 168 in Melaka
14 reviews
0.7 mi away
Prima Hotel Melaka
Prima Hotel Melaka
#123 of 168 in Melaka
82 reviews
0.2 mi away
AL33 Leisure Hotel
AL33 Leisure Hotel
#84 of 168 in Melaka
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kota Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kota Lodge

Address: 26 Jalan Kota Laksamana 3 | Taman Kota Laksamana, Melaka 75200, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 168 Hotels in Melaka
Price Range: $11 - $34 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Kota Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kota Lodge is simply a home away from home. Ideally located in the heart of Chinatown, you can easily access yourself to the most historical part of Melaka in merely 2 minutes on foot. All types of Malacca delicacy can be found near Kota Lodge such as, Chinese, Malay, Indian and also the Baba & Nyonya. A 24 convenient shop is just round the corner. Come and stay with us and we will make you understand more about Melaka and Malaysia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Kota Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kota Hotel Melaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing