We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average budget”
Review of Hallmark Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hallmark Hotel
Ranked #113 of 166 Hotels in Melaka
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Average budget”
Reviewed May 18, 2012

Its my 1st trip to Malacca with my sister and mom.If you dont mind walking to a distance,the famous attraction place Malacca Heritage/Unesco site like Christ Church,A Famosa,Maritime or the Museum its quite a bit far. The nearest place that you might gonna spot will be the Jonker Street,it takes around 10-15min walk if you not got lost. The room is sadly to see,the smell is like its been ages nobody been staying inside but it have a big bed,clean toilet/bathroom. Lobby downstair is small because they having a renovation when we reach the hotel.The staff,i think they should learn to smile more often,we didnt have change to have meal at the hotel but i can see the cafe is a normal place to get your food or drink.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eteen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    32
    48
    20
    16
See reviews for
41
36
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2012

Firstly the rooms were much smaller compared to the pcitures online and extremely dingy. The lock mechanism to the room was broken. The staff do not have uniforms so the guests could never know whom to approach along the hallway or corridor for help.

The staff dont seem courteous! This place is a long walk away from Jonker street which is a lively street.

All in all ..... awful experience! I would never go back to this place.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank andrea_diju
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Melaka hotels

Singapore, null, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 12, 2012

Yeah one thing that is bad to this hotel is the breakfast. Lousy one and cafe staff not accomodating and not customer friendly. Cannot see them smile once in a while. Why do you have staff like these especially the old lady who seems to be the owner LOL. Let them to be trained in a customer service, have them say everything in a nice way to customer not like scolding you. Front Desk staff nice and friendly that eased my disappointment.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abrelataboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 9, 2012

This is my 2nd stay at this hotel. location is good, the space of room is small, I think the hotel need to have a Big renovation for its room. Furniture looks old and dirty, the door of the wardrobe spoil, i can't even open it. The breakfast is the worst one I had in my life, the variety is so limited, and the food taste bad. Noodle, eggs and even the toast bread are all burned. I just wonder what type of chef the cafe had employed, the food taste worst than the one I paid at other roadside coffee stall. Maybe this standard is only mean for barget hotel.....

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hi h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2011

The great thing about this hotel is its location, just 5 min from Melaka's main attraction Jonker Street. Just walk along jalan Portugis (the road in front of the hotel) fo 5 min and you reach Jonker Street, a must-go for tourist to Melaka. If you drive, this is a good place to stay, park your car here and just walk to Jonker street, instead of getting into the traffic jam and wasting hours before you can get out! The room is small but adequate, everything is basic but sufficiently clean, for RM 108 on week day (or USD 36), what else can you ask for? And this price is plus breakfast for two. Yes, the breakfast is relatively simple but adequate, and the coffee is rather good! So even though i have something else to comment on, but consider the price and the location, i don't want to complain anymore!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tanmalaysia_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2011

My trip to Malacca, staying for just 1 night in Family Room. The space of room just enough for us to fit 3 person attached with big bathroom. Lobby a little bit crowded as they are doing some renovation. These hotel have elevator and provide wi-fi in room.

Walking distance about 10 minutes to Jonker Street,returning to hotel a bit confused as we lost on our way to hotel ..:D

Overall, room and bathroom that we've stayed were clean and satisfied with these hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dianajane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langkawi, Malaysia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 11, 2011

I have stayed here everytime I travel to Malacca annually. For me, this hotel's location is good. It's only 5 minutes from Jonker Walk. For the rooms, it's reasonably priced. The rooms have been upgraded from since the 1st time i stayed there- they added kettle (previously, we just have to take water from the water cooler outside the rooms), hair dryer.
There's astro channels on TV too.

The bad part is that the parking space is limited and the breakfast has minimum varieties.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ginger081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Hallmark Inn
Hotel Hallmark Inn
#97 of 166 in Melaka
97 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hallmark Crown Hotel - Melaka
0.4 mi away
Mimosa Hotel
Mimosa Hotel
#34 of 166 in Melaka
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Prima Hotel Melaka
Prima Hotel Melaka
#120 of 166 in Melaka
79 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Baba House
The Baba House
#45 of 166 in Melaka
363 reviews
0.4 mi away
CK Hotel
CK Hotel
#37 of 166 in Melaka
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallmark Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallmark Hotel

Property: Hallmark Hotel
Address: Hotel Hall Mark 68 Jalan Portugis | Off Jalan Kubu, Melaka 75200, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #113 of 166 Hotels in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hallmark Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hallmark Hotel is a 2 star budget hotel in malacca malaysia. We provide accomodation at very reasonable prices. The hotel is strategically situated in the city center near many major attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HostelWorld, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hallmark Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hallmark Hotel Melaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing