We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food, service and vibe.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Geographer Cafe

Geographer Cafe
Ranked #11 of 655 Restaurants in Melaka
Price range: $4 - $20
Cuisines: Bar, Cafe, Asian, Malaysian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food, service and vibe.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2014 via mobile

Came here 3 times in 2 days. Really nice vegetarian food which was great because it's hard to find in the Chicken Rice capital of Malaysia! Try the banana chocolate cake and the sour plum juice.

Helpful?
1 Thank Ian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,238 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    282
    556
    270
    91
    39
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
121 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Great place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014

Attentive staff, great food and brilliant location!
They have a lot of vegetarian food here but don't let it scare you off as the taste is so good!
Location is great in the top/middle of jonker walk. Nice place for a lunch and late night dinner.
Live music in the evenings and the street is filled with people.
I'll be back!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank TorAus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great Chill Out Place in a hot afternoon”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014

Great place with wifi for a good chill out. The sour plum and lime drink was served in a huge and tall glass. The cappuccino is great too.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank SarahLim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
59 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Small portions.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014 via mobile

Service was polite. Food was very good but you dont get a lot for your money!!nice atmosphere tho.worth a visit if your not starving and have a lil extra cash to burn.

Helpful?
Thank Calmac84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
65 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Just average - but do drop by in the evening!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014

On the first night in Malacca, we passed by Geographer cafe and was impressed by a lady singing with the live band there. The cafe looked packed, with a lot of onlookers standing around, enjoying the music. We figured this may be a good place to drop by the next day, as the cafe looked really too full for that night.

Next day, we decided to have a late lunch at Geographer cafe, and I ordered their Jonker fried rice. The dish took about 20 to 30 minutes to arrive, and my partner had long since finished his watermelon juice. The food was average - not something that we expect after a long wait. The place was not exactly packed, just small groups of patrons sitting in the air-conditioned part of the cafe, wanting to escape from the heat. But the waiting staff looked harried, often as if they were way too busy for you. I won't say their service is bad or rude, just indifferent and.... busy. They just looked too busy to care about their patrons. At that point, I was a little regretful for not waiting till evening before trying out the cafe.

Nevertheless, their sour plum juice is nice, as with their watermelon juice.

Do try to drop by in the evening when the live music starts. I think that will jack up the ambience by notches. You'll probably be far too engrossed in the performance than to realise your dinner has taken 30 minutes or more to reach your table.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rainne_T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Geographer Cafe also viewed

Melaka, Central Melaka District
Melaka, Central Melaka District
 
Melaka, Central Melaka District
Melaka, Central Melaka District
 

Been to Geographer Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing