We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Food;)”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Geographer Cafe

Geographer Cafe
Ranked #13 of 662 Restaurants in Melaka
Price range: $4 - $20
Cuisines: Bar, Cafe, Asian, Malaysian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Drinks, Lunch, Brunch, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
76 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great Food;)”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Me and my Lovely wife stayed in Melaka for 3 days,and been eating in Geographer Cafe almost everyday,food was very tasty,we have tried spring rolls,both fresh and the cook ones,chicken satay,NASI LEMAK,and few another's dishes,all of them were delicious!!!Place it's self is in heart of China Town,and the nice look inside,i know is sound wierd actually reminds us of some places in South America:) they played Latin music,when we were there,we really liked that ;)))
One small minus is that we been waiting for food for while,but from other side,they prepared everything fresh;)

B.u.J.o xxx ;()

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MarcinBujo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,266 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    285
    565
    279
    92
    45
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Gimhae, South Korea
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Took forever to get one dish (but it was yummy!)”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

It wasn't that busy when we came here for lunch and yet the one dish we ordered took AGES to get to us. However, the food (cashew nut chicken) was really tasty.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Leilanijane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Don't Bother Eating There”
Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

We stopped there for lunch. Ordered the Straits Malacca Salad (or similar in name) and chicken satay. The salad dressing and peanut satay sauce were the same. The sauces were bland and tasteless. The salad itself would have been good with a good salad dressing. The chicken satay was dry and also bland and tasteless. I cook better satay using packaged spices.

There were many people in the restaurant and that's why we decided to eat there. In hindsight, if we had paid attention the people were all tourists, that should have been our clue.

Do not waste your money!!! The Night Market (Friday - Sunday nights) was far superior and cheaper.

Helpful?
Thank Linda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KristineTang, Manager at Geographer Cafe, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Hi there,

Thank you for dropping by Geographer Cafe. We appreciate your comment and feedback here on Tripadvisor. We will strive harder to ensure the continuous improvement of the quality and teaste our food and beverages in order to satisfy our customers. Your feedback will definitely help in this.

Thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Just an average place...”
Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

Guess what, I was there 3 times in a day but I'm unable to give a great review... Only a average one. The place is great because of it location. Located at the center of Jonker Street, and you just keep passing by. They provide free usage of internet thru wifi. I must agree they have a great selection of alcohol which i like.

You can have a choice of western, Mediterranean and Asian food but average taste with average price. Slow service, maybe they are short of stuff like many other places.

Helpful?
Thank flyingbear76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KristineTang, Manager at Geographer Cafe, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Hi there.

Welcome to Geographer Cafe!

Here in Geographer Cafe, we currently have a selection of 6 draught beers and 11 bottled beers, including several German beers. We also have wide variety of other drinks such as cocktails, as well as coffee and juices for those who prefer non-alcoholic beverages.

Thank you for your repeated visits to our cafe and thanks for this feedback. We will strive harder to provide better food and faster service to all our customers. Thank you very much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
asia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“good hangout for beer/food”
Reviewed March 1, 2013

food is a bit westernised i think, but really tasty none the less and no worries of a dodgy stomach! its very central to the bars at the w/e and is the place to people watch for sure

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank phuketexpat35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KristineTang, Manager at Geographer Cafe, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Hi there!

Thank you and welcome to Geographer Cafe! We're glad that you enjoyed your time here at our cafe. Yes the cafe, particularly the bar does get quite busy during weekends especially Saturdays but we find the work dynamic of the night is the best one of the whole week. Thank you for your review here and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Geographer Cafe also viewed

Melaka, Central Melaka District
Melaka, Central Melaka District
 
Melaka, Central Melaka District
Melaka, Central Melaka District
 
Melaka, Central Melaka District
 

Been to Geographer Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing