We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food but slightly expensive”

Nancy's Kitchen Restaurant
Ranked #19 of 681 Restaurants in Melaka
Price range: $2 - $8
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
54 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Good food but slightly expensive”
Reviewed November 13, 2012

We ordered deep fried squid, which was really good, chap chai which was good and the duck soup which I found a little too much on the sour side.

Prices were alright, if a little expensive. Portion size was enough for two (3 dishes).

I preferred Kocik restaurant for nonya food though.

I liked the peranakan songs playing in the background though.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NuttyCheese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

914 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    218
    370
    206
    73
    47
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Loved!”
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Nancy's Kitchen was recommended to us by our bus guide and since we had read about it online as well we decided to go have a look. The food is fantastic! the location, brilliant and the pricing is great.

We ate there every single day while we were at Malacca and we even took back some of her belachan and curry powder - it was that good!
You must try the peranakan chicken curry , prawn sambal, four angled beans and the sour plum juice. Her portions are decent and more than enough to go around.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank gussanu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Don't miss this place when you're in Melaka”
Reviewed November 7, 2012

My partner and I had a very easy and light dinner here. It was my first time dinning here so I did not know what to expect and boy was I in for a treat.

The retro setting was amazing and even though the kitchen is located right behind where I sat, I did not feel warm at all. The food was just delicious. No other words to describe it. The best time I would recommend visiting this place is around 5.30pm, that would ensure that you have a nice easy meal to take your time to finish, thereby entering the famous Jonker street at around 6.45pm, seeing them set up the stalls and experiencing the night life Melaka has to offer. Also by going slightly earlier, you would avoid the dinner crowd that my partner and I saw on the way back, there was a huge line! Goodness me, you can't go wrong with this place it seems.

The snacks that they sell there are all freshly made on the day itself so we went back the following morning at 11am, just when they were ready to grab several boxes for our respective families before heading back to Singapore. So good were the snacks that we almost finished half of them before hitting the highway!

My only mark against this establishment would be the fact that you will have to chase away some flies during your meal. Not really a downside but more of an irritation. Oh wells, I was so engrossed with the food, sometimes you might not notice! I'll surely be back when I can!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank iron_symphony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melaka, Malaysia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nancy's Kitchen in Melaka”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Nice retro setting and good food. You have a choice of sitting on the ground level or upstairs with timber flooring.....good old feeling.
Food is good and pricing reasonable. Hosts are friendly and atmosphere good.
They sell Nyonya kueh too !

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Roberto-Singapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KL
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“nice dumplings”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I did not dine in, but the dumplings are good. Rm5 now. the place is always crowded. the space is rather small, suggest to dine in early.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Y2079
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nancy's Kitchen Restaurant also viewed

Melaka, Central Melaka District
Melaka, Central Melaka District
 
Melaka, Central Melaka District
Melaka, Central Melaka District
 

Been to Nancy's Kitchen Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing