We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Oceanic Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Bhakti Kutir(Canacona)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Dream Residence(Canacona)
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Palolem Inn(Palolem)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Dropadi Inn(Palolem)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (164)
Filter reviews
164 results
Traveler rating
106
36
9
6
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
106
36
9
6
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsswimming poolmango treestropical settingsmall shops and restaurantsbar and dining areapalolem beachan oasis of calmchanged handsminute walksurrounded by treeshotel is greatair concable tvroom was largeroom cleanedweek stayspent nights
Filter
Updating list...
75 - 80 of 164 reviews
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Arriving at the Oceanic from our cold dull winter is like stepping into paradise. Warmth, colour, the sounds of birds and monkeys in the coconut palms and a calm, relaxed atmosphere, effortlessly created by brilliant hosts Les and Sheila and their delightful staff, for whom nothing is too much trouble. Immediately you feel at home and the most taxing decision is whether to snooze, unpack, swim, or to sit down, have a drink and a chat and enjoy just being there. Just to imagine it now makes me think I should book straight away for next time .....two weeks won't be long enough either! Thank you Les and Sheila for everything you do to make the Oceanic the best exotic hotel!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicky257
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We visited Oceanic a couple of years ago for dinner and liked the look of it so for our 2nd Goa trip we booked it - months in advance but we still got the last of the 3 standard rooms. We stayed for 10 nights and just loved the holiday. Les & Sheila are good fun but also, with their excellent staff, super helpful. They organised airport transfers (went like clockwork) and a Honda scooter for only Rs250pd. That gave us great flexibility, eg for trips up to Agonda or down to Galgibaga (aka Turtle Beach) where we had 3 wonderful fresh grilled fish lunches. The pool area is lovely - plenty of sun and shade and really good after a hot day at the beach. The food at Oceanic is good too - we mostly had breakfast there plus a couple of lunches and two evening meals, eg delicious butter chicken and kingfish vindaloo (not nearly as hot as in UK restaurants but much tastier). They don't do their full range of meals in the evening but the chef stayed on for a little pool party and prepared delicious chicken curries for our last evening. We thought the location was almost ideal - above the road but an easy walk to the beach and no howling dogs at night - just some noisy crows. But the bed was comfortable and the ceiling fan kept us cool so we slept well. The hotel courtyard is a star feature: quite shady, pretty and a great place for a chat, a spot of breakfast and somewhere to deal with emails and find out what's going on in the world (but no need to check the Goa weather in Feb). And their drinks prices are reasonable plus they give you unlimited refills of filtered water which saved us a lot of bottle lugging. Finally the flights there and back with Qatar were a pleasure and neither of us got the slightest bit ill - a very good holiday.

Room Tip: We were in the smallest room, #4, but its high, shaded corner position means it was cool and we fitted OK. I think it's the only room that doesn't have a seating area directly outside but it's not far to the courtyard. And there was absolutely no need for a/c in February.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eric B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

This is my third year staying at the Oceanic and I look forward to many more. Lovely setting, could spend the entire day sitting in the dinning area, surrounded by the gorgeous trees and foliage. Friendly, helpful,staff. The welcoming, open ethos is generated by the wonderful hosts, Les and Sheila Medcroft who cannot do too much to ensure you enjoy your stay. This results in a very open and social atmosphere in which guests talk with each other. We have met people from previous years as many of us return year after year.

Easy access to the beach and transport by motorised rickshaw or by taxi to other beaches, bars and restuarants and towns.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maeve180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We have stayed at the Oceanic 6 times - I think this says it all!
It's like staying in someone's home and never disappoints - Les and Shiela are amazing
The only trouble is that if you want to secure a place it's so popular with returning guests that you have to book well in advance
2 of us went originally, then it became 3 then four and this year it was 5 - we rave about it so much that all our friends want to come to escape our miserable January weather
The rooms are great, pool lovely, and so close to great beaches
One of our party had her 60th there this year - Les and Shiela did us proud with a fab meal, live music and excellent company
Also they sorted us out with a trip to Hampi - so they can act as travel agents as well!
We will keep coming back - the only issue will be restricting the numbers - maybe next year we just have to take over the whole hotel - watch out!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HydraDeirdre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Again I say thank you all. We spent a month at the Oceanic. We love it...we have been going there for 10 years and it is, as always a quiet oasis of calm and comfort...The staff are great...Les and Sheila stars...and the folk who choose to stay there are fab...Comfy bed and great food..see you soon!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gilliwooscotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews