We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“oasis in Palolem November 2011”
Review of Oceanic Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Oceanic Hotel
Ranked #9 of 19 Hotels in Canacona
Reviewed December 29, 2011

this is a delightfull little hotel on the outskirts of palolem. After a very long and sticky flight we reached the hotel a lovely clean room with nice hot water for a great shower, a very welcome cold beer and friendly staff!! The owners Les and Sheila could not do enough for us and made us feel like one of the family. What a smashing place to explore the local areas or sit round the pool and do nothing. We will definately be back for another stay and the sunday jazz, Check out the guest book on the hotel web site. thanks for making our stay so special Steve & Karen, Leicester uk.

Room Tip: choose the higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (151)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

94 - 100 of 151 reviews

Reviewed November 22, 2011

This privately owned hotel in the quiet largely unspoilt south of Goa is an ideal stopping off place with its lovely gardens and peaceful atmosphere. The staff are charming and the rooms simply and ecologically furnished. Originally a Portguese private villa , the Oceanic has only 6 or 7 rooms but the service provided makes you feel very relaxed even if you do take advantage of the early morning yoga sessions or the massage facility offered.
Do eat there too. the chef is brilliant and the mix of European and India specialities on offer nightly are to die for and priced only a tad above what is available on the nearby beaches' cafes and restaurants.
We had a deluxe room and paid extra for a/c. The evenings were in fact not that hot when we were there in Jan/Feb so if cost is an issue a/c is not a must. You will find it about a ten minute walk downhill to the nearby beaches of Palolem and Patnam. Both lovely beaches. Other smaller beaches are accessible by tut-tut which the hotel will call for you.


This is not for those seeking wild night life. But if you want a quiet beautifully run hotel I would definitely advise you book the Oceanic.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Journeyman41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2011

Very nice hotel. Clean and very friendly staff.
The food is super but a bit pricier then the in town alternatives.
free wifi and a very helpful staff, help us fix a scooter, taxi and everything we wanted.
If we'd go back to Palolem we would definitely live at this hotel!
Super!

Room Tip: Recommend a top floor a/c room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kattisw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2011

Stayed for 5 days at the end of 3 weeks travelling around India,room was lovely nice big comfy bed double doors out onto a small seating area with small table and chairs,big flat screen TV,nicely decorated shower ,quiet location took us about 10 minutes to stroll to the beach but ask the staff they will get you a tuk tuk at any time of the day,eventhough breakfast was not included in the price still cheap and they had nice cereals and bread and british beans,small much needed pool and lounging area where the monkeys would join you for a swing in the trees, had a spa treatment prices are cheap and worth it ,evening food also good,staff really helpful for anything you might need,small downside the aircon continuosly dribbled water if it was on too cold which was really needed but we had ceiling fans aswell so used them instead.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hotkez69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

Open in June, which is rare in Goa. I had a reaaaally nice time there with my friends, with a clean and well furnished room and hot water (what a pleasure it's also rare in India), AC and TV.
The wifi is available and they do very good massages. The staff was really nice, and helpfull for advising us on the places to see around, for the transports and the restaurant is good and I found the prices pretty cheap.
Palolem beach is near with a lot of small shops and restaurants on the road. And there's also a pool, the whole in a really peacefull area We will come back for sure !

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KidKenny44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2011

The place was beautiful, clean and well decorated, but it's far from the beach. You need transport or walking 30min. I expected more for what we'd paid. Even getting the most expensive room, breakfast is not included. As it's common in India, there was a power cut during our stay, and from this day wi-fi was off. But the worst thing was that no one is able to give you and answer. The staff just keep saying "This is India, this is Goa..." but no solutions, as you'd expected from an English management and western prices. One last thing: they sometimes forgot about cleaning up your room..so you have to ask for.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tono_Gil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2011

Had a fabulous time from the moment we arrived we were made very welcome very clean rooms
Wonderful service excellent food there were no low points .... just wonderful memories & a massive thank you to Les & Shelia ! We'll be seeing them again big love Ian Sonia Maya Ella xx

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ghostcopyuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Canacona
0.6 mi away
The Tubki Resort
The Tubki Resort
#2 of 9 in Palolem
310 reviews
1 mi away
The LaLiT Golf & Spa Resort Goa
0.5 mi away
Palolem Inn
Palolem Inn
#5 of 9 in Palolem
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Bhakti Kutir
Bhakti Kutir
#5 of 19 in Canacona
187 reviews
4.7 mi away
Anantra Sea View Resort
12.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Goa
Holiday Inn Resort Goa
#4 of 10 in Cavelossim
1,613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oceanic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oceanic Hotel

Address: Palolem-Patnem Beach Road, Canacona 403702, India
Location: India > Goa > South Goa District > Canacona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Canacona
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Canacona
Price Range: $50 - $114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully simple and elegant rooms, surrounded with lush garden, Oceanic is an exclusive boutique hotel an oasis of calm and positive energy. A romantic abode to relax and unwind. It's a short stroll from the lively beach of Patnem and Palolem. At Oceanic we pride ourselves in having a very high standard of cleanliness and hygiene. Our restaurant offers delicious organic food. Our Bar will do best to quench your desires. Our aim is to give our guests the best possible holiday. We are reputed for going out of our way to help our guests; Oceanic is a home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Oceanic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oceanic Hotel Canacona
Oceanic Hotel Goa/Canacona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing