We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family run resort with genuinely friendly service”
Review of Bhakti Kutir

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bhakti Kutir
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Canacona
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Family run resort with genuinely friendly service”
Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a month during the monsoon after being flooded and molded out of our long term 5 month rental house in the area.
The restaurant is excellent and the healthiest choice in town and we ate their almost daily in the 5 months we resided nearby.
The on site aryuvedic center with a skilled doctor and masseuses has excellent and affordable massages and treatment plans but most importantly the staff and management are incomparable in their genuine friendliness , sincerity and helpfulness like an extended family and small village which is becoming more rare in the increasingly money-focused and area of south goa.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Devenrud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    46
    21
    12
    18
See reviews for
32
64
28
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

It was clearly off-season, which meant we were nearly the only people staying and many of the huts looked shut up and unused. At first I thought this was a bad thing, but it actually added to the calm. I imagine that it would be quite different in high season.

We stayed in the stone house which was great, and good value at this time of year at 2000rs. The food was very tasty, especially the museli with coconut milk and the pakora.

I will definitely stay here again if I ever return to palolem.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LukePearce85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, Delhi, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Whenever I go to Goa, its always Palolem because of its calm and absence of heavy tourism/crowd. I have since 2005 chosen and stayed at the Bakti Kutir. This place is heaven to me: close enough to the beach without the sand and music noise but just the waves, the wooden houses and huts which are very spacious and comfortable, the healthy and often organic food and the Management team which are like a family, especially the owner Uti and the Director Yasho.
I highly recommend this place to all demanding travelers who enjoy privacy and relaxation. Not to mention the Ayurveda treatments.

Room Tip: Room number 1 and 9!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adriendm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 4, 2013

This is my third visit to the Bhakti Kutir and I must say each time I'm back, it gets even better!The owner, Ute and the Director Yasho (her son) were amazing, friendly and very helpful. And not to forget the ever smiling staff always at hand to attend to you.
The Clean, cute, cozy huts in the middle of such lush green garden is a treasure in itself.So close to Palolem beach yet so far away from the hustle. It really feels like HOME.
The ayurvedic massages are such healing touch to your body and mind. It's worth every penny.
The food - the healthiest, freshest and most delicious of all Palolem (atleast, for me and my friend). The young Chef is amazing. The best part is that they are always accommodating to your needs.

I find it hard to comprehend why some people have issues with this awesome place. If you don't love nature, you shouldn't have stayed at all in the first place, let alone even book it.

Bhakti Kutir - the best place to unwind and relax and enjoy nature after a long day on the beach in Palolem, Canacona, Goa.
I'm eager and ready to be back here for my next trip.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JothamSV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

We loved to stay here and consider it 1 of the best places we stayed in our 8 week journey through south India. Bhakti Kutir is an eco and mind-body conscious resort just in between Palolem and Collum beach. It is situated in a rich garden, that gives a jungle feel to it, has comfortable huts and open air bathrooms. The location is quiet but very close to Palolem beach, Collum Beach and Patnem. Food is great; veg and non veg. Service is very good; the staff gives the impression of loving the place themselves. We enjoyed the yogaclasses with Swami and my partner got in a private session a simple customised program which served him and his back very well the rest of the journey. Also the ayurvedic centre is great.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WalvisenCo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Everything is just perfect at this place.....the rooms are tidy, traditional and comfortable. Food is delicious....the kitchen team is working hard on making everyone happy and full :) lovely selection of vegetarian and non-veg options... you won't like to eat anywhere else. The staff is super helpful ......it's nice to see people working & loving their jobs! Yoga is the best....best I evert experienced! Make sure you stay long enough to get the benefits :) And the Ayurveda team is very experienced ... I had a shoulder problem for about a year..... and it has been fixed after few visits....thank you for sharing your knowledge, love & happiness!! I will be back :) x

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marlene253
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tilburg, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Just got back from my trip to India and an 8-day stay at Bhakti and must say I really do not understand the bad reviews given before. They must be of an older timeframe because me and my boyfriend absolutely loved our stay at one of the huts in Bhakti!

The staff is very friendly and willing to help, the hut (with clean sheets and musquitonet) a unique place to sleep and the food is great. The garden is mesmerizing and very beautiful. A short path leads you straight to the beach next to a restaurant where it is movie-night every night (Hollywoodfilms). The massages are a perfect way to relax. Next to that, we unfortunately became sick on our last day there (because of a meal eaten at the beach) but the staff was very flexibel and nice enough to let us stay for free until 16:00 (instead of check-out at 12) so we could rest until our traintrip later that day.

Sure, there are musquitos (you have a hut in the jungle) and the shower is cold (but hey at 10 it is already 28 degrees so what do you care). Would definitely, without a doubt, recommend this place to everyone.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank IngeHolland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canacona hotels
0.8 mi away
The Tubki Resort
The Tubki Resort
#2 of 9 in Palolem
292 reviews
1.1 mi away
Dreamcatcher Resort
Dreamcatcher Resort
#3 of 9 in Palolem
192 reviews
1.1 mi away
The LaLiT Golf & Spa Resort Goa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Dropadi Inn
Dropadi Inn
#9 of 9 in Palolem
50 reviews
0.2 mi away
Oceanic Hotel
Oceanic Hotel
#9 of 19 in Canacona
143 reviews
0.2 mi away
Marron Sea View Resort
Marron Sea View Resort
#4 of 9 in Palolem
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bhakti Kutir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bhakti Kutir

Property: Bhakti Kutir
Address: 296, Colomb, Palolem, Canacona 403702, India
Location: India > Goa > South Goa District > Canacona
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Canacona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 22
Also Known As:
Bhakti Kutir Canacona
Bhakti Kutir Hotel Canacona
Bhakti Kutir Goa/Canacona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing