We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Camp San Francisco
Nearby Hotels
Palolem Inn(Palolem)
$27
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$101
$78
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Tubki Resort(Palolem)(Great Value!)
$33
$32
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bhakti Kutir(Canacona)(Great Value!)
$35
$27
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
The Cape Goa(Canacona)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dreamcatcher Resort(Palolem)(Great Value!)
$235
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Oceanic Hotel(Canacona)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (83)
Filter reviews
83 results
Traveler rating
22
24
13
6
18
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
22
24
13
6
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgarden viewpalolem beachbeach facingstayed here for a weekhot waterjosephsunbedsseatoilet
Filter
Updating list...
43 - 48 of 83 reviews
Reviewed January 15, 2014

I've stayed in worse, and I've stayed in better. Bottom line, for the money they are not bad, but if you have time to look around you can secure a better hut for a lower price. One plus point of Camp San Francisco though, is the ability to book in advance on-line, something that I did as I was arriving New Years Eve, a peak time for beach huts in Goa, and didn't want to find I couldn't get a room. Breakfast is included in the price. There are AC huts, but the lower price units have fans, and for me, that has always been enough. I normally wake before dawn and switch the fan off as it has cooled by then anyway. The showers, as in most beach huts are cold water, but if you shower after coming off the beach, you will be glad that they are. I always bring my own bedding too. A silk sleeping bag liner, no actual sleeping bag, as way too warm to need one, and a decent pillow. You will also need to provide your own towel.

Room Tip: Ask for a hut in the first garden rather than the rear plot, I have stayed in both, and feel the front beach huts are much nicer.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FroidConfortFerme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

We stayed here over the Christmas holidays and it was quite enjoyable. The beach is amazing and the beachfront huts(up in the trees) have an absolutely awesome view. Like others have stated, the rooms are not in the best shape, but for the location and view you always have to pay a premium. Each room has A/C and hot water (although both were intermittent) and a bed with mosquito nets. The floor does feel like it is falling apart and the stairs up to the room would scare most people from drinking too much!

However, don't let this deter you from staying here. Throughout our week we asked other places their prices and for hot water and A/C they were all very similar. If you do not require these amenities then you can easily find another spot on the beach for cheaper, but you have to compare apples to apples!

The Christmas feast was amazing and Josef the owner was very helpful with recommendations for scootering locations and with arranging taxis or answering any questions. Camp San Fran is also located in the middle of the beach for easy access to any of the bars or restaurants.

Overall a 3.5/5 and a great experience.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Service
Thank DaniAdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

We checked this place out in December 2013 whilst searching for a place to stay on Palolem beach.
Located right on the beach front as is most of the accommodation here and the bungalows at the front look pretty nice. However when we went in to check the rooms and the price out we found the guy running the place to be unhelpful and rude and the price was very expensive compared to most beach huts in Palolem.
When we saw the room it was dirty, dark and falling to Pieces. The bathroom was horrid and hut itself was located a lot further back from the beach and in not so pleasant surrounds.
We instead walked 2 minutes further along to a place called Lacto Cressida the bungalows where half the price and at least 10 times better and the staff much more helpful and polite.

Room Tip: Maybe check one of the front rooms out but don't even waste your time on the back ones
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank makaveli5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2013

Booked to stay here for Christmas at a mega £25 a night, as we were paying this much we expected some luxury. On arrival to palolem 3 days before check in at sanfransico we thought we'd check the room out to see what it was like.. No luxury here.. Room was dirty, dark, mosquito ridden and broken floorboards that my foot went through. Decided to cancel our 4 nights stay here after seeing the room. When we told the owner we wanted to cancel he told us we couldn't, even though there is no policy on the website about not being allowed to cancel before arrival it was obvious he just wanted to keep our money for himself. He was so unhelpful and even though we couldn't get our money back there was no way we were going to stay in that dump so booked somewhere else just along the beach, which was cheaper and a million times better. We didn't let it ruin our Christmas, but don't put yourselves in the same situation by booking here!!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013

Just needs a bit of tender love and care on the beach front rooms to make it a worthwhile choice. The room itself is ok but the bathroom really does need a clean, resealing and repaint. The location is excellent, on the beach with the beach front rooms having direct access and small balcony areas to enjoy the view. In these rooms they have a/c which works well and is welcome in the nights for a good sleep. Unfortunately the hot water in the shower is less reliable. Also the room lacks storage space. There is an area on which to place you bags but no bedside table for a books, ipad, phone or whatever, not even a light. In the 1000 rupee a night rooms no a/c, hot water, tv or fridge is fine, but at over 3000 a night? Food is good here though. Breakfast tasty and reasonably priced and the evening fish BBQ really good quality, pick your fish and or prawns/crab etc from the ice packed choice, order your beers and just enjoy it all while watching the twinkling lights of Palolem beach.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KS&HC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews