We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place to stay ...”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Camp San Francisco

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Camp San Francisco
Ranked #101 of 139 Specialty Lodging in Canacona
New Delhi
Level Contributor
181 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
“Great Place to stay ...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

Ok... there is a lot to be told about this small place....

Stay : Stay in Camp San Francisco is totally amazing, this place is right in the middle of the beach and has great huts options , they have two suite style biggefr cotages right on the beach and four on the first floor .. all AC . The view from these front facing huts are incredible. They have some garden huts as well which are very spacious and nice ... its like 20 steps away from sea front .. and offers amazing views in night and day ... They set up sun beds in the morning infront of the shack and serve food and drinks on teh sun beds ...

Food : In the evening they offer candle light dinners on the beach ... which is an amazing experience , i stayed here for a week this year and spent my new years eve too .. fantastic views and food i must say. They offer live sea food kitchen , and have fantastic dishes , Way beyond taste then the others on the beach . Specially recommended shark and red sniper in there home made rachardo masala .

The owner Joseph is a very nice and helpful guy .. and is very passionate for his place and cooking .. his sheer passion will fill u up with excitement for eating his food . He served a big crab zacuti preparation for us .. and believe me it was heaven . Totally recommended .

Hospitality and facilities : Hospitality ius top notch , facilities are good for a beach hut.. do not expect a 5 star environment , though 5 star treatment is for sure !!!

This place is filled with so much of good food and love ... i kept coming here ever and ever .. :) :) :)

Room Tip: Go for the premium huts ... awesome location and view !
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lostdipika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    24
    13
    6
    16
See reviews for
13
29
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

I made my second trip to Palolem in April, 2012. This time, I had researched and planned each minute of my trip. I wanted to experience everything that this place had to offer (I have given a detailed itinerary at the end of this article). Previously, we had stayed at Sai Valentine, which is located on the northern part of the beach. This stretch is considered to be more family-oriented, with most of the restaurants closing down by 11:00 PM. This time we opted for the southern side, which apparently appeals to the party types (considering that most of the bars here have a 24*7 license to serve alcohol). After few weeks of online research and multiple mail conversations later, we finalized upon Camp San Fransisco as our choice of stay for the trip. The owner of the shack, Mr. Joseph was prompt in responding to all our queries on the phone. He even helped us by suggesting few Do’s and Dont’s after arriving in Madgaon and tips on haggling with cabbies for Madgaon-Palolem fare.

Our shack, was a sea facing AC hut with en-suite bathroom. As power supply is a huge problem in Palolem (with power cuts for as long as 4-5 hours in a day), the AC hut was fitted with stabilizer which allowed for an uninterrupted power supply (there was a timer which cut of AC after a fixed duration of time; this allowed for AC to be run at periodic intervals throughout the day, keeping the room sufficiently cooled, without any worries of long power outages). The interiors were decent, bed sheets were clean, bed and pillows were soft. The toilet was much better than the one at Sai Valentine (especially, since it also had a jet).

The bed had a mozzie net, which was intact and not torn (our previous experience regarding mosquito net had been horrible). This was a relief as mosquitoes can be a huge problem in Palolem (especially during summer).

The best part about these shacks was that, they were located 3 meters above the ground, thus providing an unparalleled view of the beach. One could literally gaze at the vast expanse of the Arabian sea with blue waters spanning all along the horizon.

We had one of the best meal of the trip at CSF. Chicken Cafriel with Roti (Indian bread) and Fish curry with Rice was as perfect as an authentic Goan fare could get.

Camp San Fransisco also offers Sea Facing Non AC huts and Papaya Garden facing huts.

A Highly recommended place stay when in Palolem. Can't wait to stay there again.

Room Tip: Go for the AC hut located above the ground.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lord_Neo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012

I stayed here from 23rd to 27th Dec with my kids.The best thing about Sanfrancisco is their caring attitiude and the peronal touch. Joseph is very caring and looks after the guest's personal needs and requirements.
We stayed in the deluxe huts. The deluxe huts are spacious with a king size bed and an AC. The location of the huts is in the centre of the Palolem beach. Its quiet at Sanfrancisco as compared to other huts on the beach, so sleep quality is good if you wish to go to bed early. The staff is also good and caring.

Food is great at night. Joseph himself cooks it on the beach. Overall a nice experience and I felt at home. Will definately return.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AbhijeetMore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

Just wanted to thank Joseph and the guys who took real care and made our stay comfortable at Camp Sanfrancisco, just never realized that we were staying in a hotel!
The best thing was their down to earth behaviour, was touched by their friendly attitude. Palolem is itself a beautiful beach and Joseph made every efforts to make it our best experience by providing us a hut facing the beach!!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Abbas_itc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
147 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2012

Camp San Fran
They have 3 shacks on the beach with shower and toilets ensuite, lots back off the beach not with showers and toilets ensuite and5 up some stairs with ahowers and toilets with beach view.
We booked ac rooms but they did not work, they were great in charging us for none ac as they could not fix them.
This place is no frills, does what it says on the tin.  I recommend the beach front ones, amazing view to wake up to in the morning, the sound of the waves , beautiful!
The food is ok in the evening, It wasn't so good during the day compared to other places further along the beach.  The evening like all the other places they cook on a open BBQ on the beach.
Great location in the centre of the beach, 10 minute walk to either end, shops etc..
Sometimes there is not enough towels or sheets when you check in, because the time people check out and them needing to clean them, but they are always in your room by early evening.
For the price, the view, how nice the people were, I can't fault this place.  It's back to basics, but when in Goa, you need nothing more than a mosi net and a shower as your hardly ever going to be in your room.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank donnamarieore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canacona hotels
0.6 mi away
Dreamcatcher Resort
Dreamcatcher Resort
#2 of 9 in Palolem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
0.2 mi away
Secret Garden Resort
Secret Garden Resort
#4 of 14 in Patnem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
0.1 mi away
Abel Cressida Coco Huts
Abel Cressida Coco Huts
#30 of 50 in Palolem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Royal Touch Beach Huts
Royal Touch Beach Huts
#8 of 50 in Palolem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cressida Cyrus
Cressida Cyrus
#5 of 50 in Palolem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
0.1 mi away
Havana Cuba
Havana Cuba
#15 of 50 in Palolem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camp San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camp San Francisco

Property: Camp San Francisco
Address: Palolem Beach, Canacona 403702, India
Location: India > Goa > Canacona
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #101 of 139 Specialty Lodging in Canacona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Camp San Francisco 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Camp San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camp San Francisco Goa/Canacona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing