We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“By far the best experience I have ever had”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The LaLiT Golf & Spa Resort Goa
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Canacona
Reviewed June 25, 2013

I stayed here in April 2013.

From the moment we had our reservation confirmed a couple of months in advance, the Lalit staff had been very welcoming and willing to get in touch, to find out our personal preferences -- something which many 'top hotel chains' fail to do this day.

On arrival, we were treated royally at made to feel - not as visitors or tourists to a hotel but as returning guests travelling back to a home, albeit a home as opulent as the wonderful property !

Following a hiccup in our stay (was originally scheduled to stay in February) as I was sick, the Lalit graciously changed our reservation to a rescheduled date at no further cost or hassle.


The property itself is stunning, and others have done well to recount experiences of its opulence and grandeur, it's the staff who makes the difference like " staff at spa Restaurant are quit helpful.The Lalit truly excels there.

I'm no stranger to luxury hotels, but this experience stands out as the most incredible I've ever had - from the setting to the service.

Though the property is far from the airport but once you are in there you will forget every thing.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shraddh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Satya Roy C, General Manager at The LaLiT Golf & Spa Resort Goa, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time and posting a review of our hotel on TripAdvisor.

We are pleased to know that you were happy with the resort’s service and facilities. We have set very high standards for ourselves and are continuously striving to improve our guests’ overall experience. Comments from our esteemed guests like you propel us in our quest of raising the bar. I have shared your feedback with my team. Your word of appreciation is an encouragement for us.

Thank you for your feedback once again and I look forward to welcoming you to The Lalit Golf & Spa Resort Goa on your next visit to Goa.

Warm regards
Satya Roy Chowdhury
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,870)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,344 - 1,350 of 1,870 reviews

Reviewed June 24, 2013

visited goa on May 02 - 06, 2013. was staying nearby and heard about this place. Was travelling alone and came to the sea side shack restaurant for a dinner as it was my birthday on 04th May. Well honestly i think i should have went to some other place. the only posiitive i can say about this place is the location. You get to eat dinner facing the sea. And the location of the hotel which is a bit of a walk from the shack restaurant is impressive to say the least. and should say they have done a fantastic job at maintaining the place.

but my review is of the hut restaurant on the beach. to start with, a few minutes within choosing a place to sit, i was asked to move to a different place as some other couple had come to eat. and even though my table was not booked by them, i was asked to move to a corner table. The waiters (who were no more than 20 year old boys) had no idea about the menu, and what kind of food they served, and he had to frequently go and ask the chef for explanations. then the power went off frequently while ordering and cant believe in a 5 * restaurant the waiter who was serving me and taking my order turned on his mobile phone torch and asked me to order in that light??? is that a 5* treatment?

my sausage pulao which i ordered was undercooked and the sausages were very very sour for some reason!! the power kept going off and coming on frequently, and there was a stage being built in front of the restaurant and the workers were shouting and screaming in the most filthiest of languages ever..

well sad to say, i felt i was eating at an extremely overpriced thaba and my birthday dinner effectively spoilt....

still i would not judge the entire hotel by one bad experience. would like to come and stay there in my next trip as the buildign looks phenominally beautiful.. Anyways i would suggest its best to avoid the beach hut restaurant......

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jiril A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Satya Roy C, General Manager at The LaLiT Golf & Spa Resort Goa, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time and posting a review of our hotel on TripAdvisor.

I apologize for the dissatisfaction you experienced with the food & some services provided. We would appreciate particular comments & feedback on where we can further raise the bar, if you could email us at goagmoffice@thelalit.com.

Nonetheless your feedback is being shared with our Head of Departments to see to keeping the standards met at the highest level. I am pleased to note that you found the rooms, sports facilities and overall location to be pleasing to you.

Your feedback is valuable to us and helps us in our endeavor of constant improvement. I once again thank you for it.

Warm regards
Satya Roy Chowdhury
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Though quite away from the hustle bustle of the Goan beach resorts this was an ideal property for those of whom wanted to have a silent holiday in Goa. Stayed there for a night in June 2013 but was utterly disappointed, had a booking for 2 days but we had to vacate immediately next morning for the bad state of affairs there. The room allocated to us though big, looked like all things were not in place as it should be in this category of hotel. Except for the soap no shampoo or bath gel etc was there in the toilet. In the cookie jar some bits of cashews were left out as if somebody had not bothered to check the room or the necessary which should be have been check before the new guests arrived. The Bar cabinet was empty, upon enquiry they informed we can order what we want. When we enquired about the complimentary bottle (note we had to ask for it!) a cheap Rs.60 bottle of wine (small) was sent to our room. A person coming to this resort which is not easy to access does not come here for such a kind of service. The central air-conditioning was not upto the mark and it was brought to the notice of the in charge staff on the night we checked in and they told it would start working and be okay. The whole night the room was hot and stuffy. went to bath and muddy water started flowing from shower for quite a while and no hot water just tepid water for bath. When complained to the duty manager though he promised to shift us to a suite we were not satisfied with his replies and checked out in the morning. It may be that since due to rainy season has started, the flow of tourist has been less and the hotel would have less staff to man it and hence all the problems would have arisen, but that cant justify for a person like me who goes to this Resort because it is a LaLit Resort where I am assured of a excellent service, which has been the norm so far. Having travelled all the way from central Goa by passing many a good hotels or resorts and coming down here should be worth it, hope that management takes a note of the same and the good old days are revived again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ranjalrajesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Satya Roy C, General Manager at The LaLiT Golf & Spa Resort Goa, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sparing time and posting your review of our hotel on Trip Advisor.

Pursuant to your feedback, we have had a detailed meeting with the concerned departments; the management of the hotel has taken serious cognizance of your points and we are extremely regretful about it. I wish to assure you that we are taking corrective steps to ensure that these incidents do not occur again.

Your feedback is valuable to us and helps us in our endeavor of constant improvement. Your patronage to our group is of great value, and we look forward to being able to welcome you back to The Lalit Golf & Spa Resort Goa and experience the difference.

Warm regards
Satya Roy Chowdhury
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

I have visited Goa approx thrice and every visit is a different & satisfying experience.

My latest visit was company organized. (Therefore, didnt feel the pinch!). Its a place u can go if you want to really splurge.

The hotel property is huge - a Golf resort (so it ought to be)!!! Its a Spa resort too - tried it out...very relaxing!
Really well maintained property & beach facing. All the facilities are good. Food is amazing. They have a shack which serves some amazing sea food. If you want to enjoy a quiet beach...highly recommended!

Location: It is located at Canacona - accessible by trains as well. If you are travelling by air, it takes approx 1.5 hrs to travel from Dabolim as Canacona is located at the southernmost tip of Goa. Panjim is also at a similar distance. So if this is ur first trip to Goa & you are planning sight seeing, not recommended to stay here as all you would remember about Goa will be the travel. A great place if you just want to relax.

Close-by beaches: If you find the hotel too quiet, u could visit nearby beaches like Palolem & Patnem - they have tiny shacks that serve liquor & food. Small shops sell good take-aways, scarves, T-shirts, bags, etc. Tip: U need to bargain!
Also, there are some discos around...u could check it out.

Therefore, this place is recomended if you want to enjoy some peaceful time in Goa but u shall have to pay the price for it!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maleka131313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Satya Roy C, General Manager at The LaLiT Golf & Spa Resort Goa, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time and posting a review of our hotel on TripAdvisor.

Thank you so much for sharing pictures. We are pleased to know that you were happy with the resort’s service and facilities. We have set very high standards for ourselves and are continuously striving to improve our guests’ overall experience. Comments from our esteemed guests like you propel us in our quest of raising the bar. I have shared your feedback with my team. Your word of appreciation is an encouragement for us
Thank you for your feedback once again and I look forward to welcoming you to The Lalit Golf & Spa Resort Goa on your next visit to Goa.

Warm regards
Satya Roy Chowdhury
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Lalit is nearly 2 hours from the airport, it is a huge property, the gardens are very well maintained however the hotel building itself is intimidating and mausoleum like!
I did not like the "crocodiles" by the pool, not a pleasant choice of decoration.

Personally would revisit only as part of a huge wedding party!
The staff however is very courteous and helpful.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank maya094
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Satya Roy C, General Manager at The LaLiT Golf & Spa Resort Goa, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time and posting a review of our hotel on TripAdvisor.

It was a privilege to have you stay with us at The Lalit Golf and Spa Resort. We are glad to learn that you were happy with the services and facilities of our hotel. I have shared your feedback with my team. Your word of appreciation is an encouragement for us and helps us in adding more value to all your future stays.

We value your patronage and look forward to welcome you again at The Lalit Goa.

Warm regards
Satya Roy Chowdhury
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Hotel is fantastic, staff is incredible with superb attitude. Vicky Kumar thapa is an amazing person, he is an excellent chef! He creates gourmet cuisine whch is not only delicious but a work of art. All of this, coupled with his outstanding service and warm, outgoing personality are reassurance of his abilities.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Amitdev2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Satya Roy C, General Manager at The LaLiT Golf & Spa Resort Goa, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time and posting a review of our hotel on TripAdvisor

We are extremely happy that you have had a memorable experience during your stay.Your kind appreciation of Chef Vicky Kumar Thapa motivates him and respective teams to take our services to the next level.

We look forward to welcoming you back to your home in Goa.

Warm regards
Satya Roy Chowdhury
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013 via mobile

We went to stay here on a marriage function here and found the Hotel extremely good. Very Large Rooms, Good amenities, courteous staff but ordinary location as it is too far from the Airport/Panjim. But this is a big plus for the golf lovers since this is the only resort in Goa with its own 9 hole course. Overall a 4/5 from me

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank goyalanup2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Satya Roy C, General Manager at The LaLiT Golf & Spa Resort Goa, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time and posting a review of our hotel on TripAdvisor.

We are pleased to note that you enjoyed our facilities offered by us. It is our endeavor to create great experiences and your appreciation motivates us.
We look forward to welcoming you back to your home in Goa.

Warm regards
Satya Roy Chowdhury
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Canacona
14.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort Goa Cavelossim Beach
13.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Goa
Holiday Inn Resort Goa
#4 of 10 in Cavelossim
1,606 reviews
16.8 mi away
Caravela Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.2 mi away
Taj Exotica Resort & Spa Goa
13.1 mi away
The Leela Goa
The Leela Goa
#1 of 10 in Cavelossim
2,317 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Tubki Resort
The Tubki Resort
#2 of 9 in Palolem
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The LaLiT Golf & Spa Resort Goa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The LaLiT Golf & Spa Resort Goa

Address: Raj Baga, Canacona 403702, India (Formerly InterContinental the Lalit Goa Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: India > Goa > South Goa District > Canacona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Canacona
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Canacona
Price Range: $139 - $1,763 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The LaLiT Golf & Spa Resort Goa 5*
Number of rooms: 265
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lalit Golf & Spa Resort Goa is an all suite resort nestled on 85 acres along the pristine Goan coastline. The resort, cradled by the majestic Sahyadari range along the confluence of the Talpone River, offers breathtaking view of the Arabian Sea. With a kilometre-long exclusive beachfront, it is truly one of the most exquisite beach resorts in Goa. Amidst grand Baroque-Portuguese style architecture, meticulously landscaped gardens, international standard Double 'T' 9-hole Links golf course and Rejuve - the signature spa, enjoy the luxury of oceanfront privacy and seclusion in true Lalit style. Upon arrival, the resort welcomes you into the grand lobby with rustic chandeliers, antique long-handled ceiling fans and a grand staircase overlooking a hand-painted tile mosaic of Sao Rafael, the very first Portuguese ship to land in Goa under the helm of Vasco Da Gama. The resort offers 202 Garden View suites, 36 Sea View Suites, 14 Luxury Suites, 3 Presidential Suites and 10 luxurious villas. Other facilities include unique fine dining restaurants, water sports, Swimming Pool, Kids Pool, Sports complex - Tennis, Squash, Table Tennis, Archery, Volleyball, Beach Football, Beach Cricket, ATV, Beach Cricket, supervised kid's area with a variety of activities for children. The resort is also equipped with seven banquet halls/meeting rooms, ideal for all types of corporate events, conference facility, meeting facility, weddings ceremonies and wedding receptions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your The LaLiT Golf & Spa Resort Goa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lalit Golf And Spa Resort Goa
The Lalit Golf & Spa Resort Goa Hotel Canacona
Intercontinental The Lalit Goa Hotel
Canacona Inter-Continental
Intercontinental Canacona
The LaLiT Golf & Spa Resort Goa Canacona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing