We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, but very disappointing menu & location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The LaLiT Golf & Spa Resort Goa
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Canacona
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Had booked this hotel after seeing very positive reviews from Tripadvisor.. however, we regretted the moment we reached there.. the only positives are: a well-maintained property.. rooms are big and aesthetically designed.. private balconies.. huge pool, but they should consider warm water during the cool seasons.. beach is very near.. couple spa is expensive, but good..

the negatives are: hotel is in a very remote location.. there are many restaurants inside the hotel, however, menu is pathetic for vegetarians!! and highly over-priced too.. with no eateries nearby, you will be stuck with this menu! staff were not pleasant, very business-like approach.. no complimentary wi-fi even though a five star hotel! the in-room TV has all foreign language channels.. very few Indian regional channels..

couldn't enjoy the stay at all, and had to stay outdoors most of the time to escape from the terrible menu and boring room entertainment..will never stay here again!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 17Wanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Satya Roy C, General Manager at The LaLiT Golf & Spa Resort Goa, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time and posting a review of our hotel on TripAdvisor

I apologize for the dissatisfaction you experienced with the food Menu and Wi-fi provided. We will work on the menu and complimentary WI-FI. We would appreciate particular comments & feedback on where we can further raise the bar, if you could email us at goagmoffice@thelalit.com

Nonetheless your feedback is being shared with our Head of Departments to see to keeping the standards met at the highest level. I am pleased to note that you found the rooms, sports facilities and overall location to be pleasing to you.
Your feedback is valuable to us and helps us in our endeavor of constant improvement. I once again thank you for it.

Warm regards
Satya Roy Chowdhury
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,865)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,348 - 1,354 of 1,866 reviews

Reviewed May 6, 2013

The Lalit Goa, which was previously known as InterContinental Goa, is a beautiful resort in Goa. It has a clean and serene private beach, which has two small rivers on both its ends.

The Lalit has a lot of room/suites options to choose from. Depending on your budget, you could stay at Garden view Suite or private villas, among others. I stayed in a Garden View Suite.

Garden View Suite boasts of a private door to the lawns and the pool. It is well maintained and big on space. The bathroom is luxurious, somewhere where one can unwind after a long day. It has a small window, so one can watch TV while relaxing in the spacious bath tub.

The open-air restaurant is the perfect place to enjoy the delicious breakfast buffet. Lunch and dinner were quite ordinary, especially in comparison with other five star hotels. The staff was courteous, professional and always ready to assist you with a smile. Somehow they didn't seem fake. Their courtesy, they smiles seemed genuine.

Overall, it was a lovely experience, complete with long beach walks before sunrise, lush lawns and beach side shack..

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank niharika_parmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Satya Roy C, General Manager at The LaLiT Golf & Spa Resort Goa, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time and posting a review of our hotel on TripAdvisor.

We are pleased to know that you were happy with the resort’s service and facilities. We have set very high standards for ourselves and are continuously striving to improve our guests’ overall experience. Comments from our esteemed guests like you propel us in our quest of raising the bar. I have shared your feedback with my team. Your word of appreciation is an encouragement for us.

Thank you for your feedback once again and I look forward to welcoming you to The Lalit Golf & Spa Resort Goa on your next visit to Goa.

Warm regards
Satya Roy Chowdhury
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

The fact that The LaLit is 62 kms from Airport bothers you but the minute you reach the property, you are left stunned with the vast & superbly maintained property.
Romms are big and superbly designed. Lot of privacy for balconies also. Garden are excellent. The Golf park is amazing. Food is excellent. 2-3 pools for kids & adults are great. Beach is clean and water sports will keep u busy... A MUST VISIT Hotel !!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Vikas_kg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Satya Roy C, General Manager at The LaLiT Golf & Spa Resort Goa, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time and posting a review of our hotel on TripAdvisor

Thank you so much for sharing pictures. We are extremely happy that you had a memorable experience during your stay. We are glad to hear, you liked rooms, the pool, the private beach, Water Sports and the food and services rendered by our team. Your word of appreciation is an encouragement for us .

We value your patronage and look forward to welcome you again at The Lalit Goa.

Warm regards
Satya Roy Chowdhury
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

It was the best experience of life time. Its a huge well maintained property on Gajlibaug beach and 10 min away from Palolem white sand beach having access to Butterfly and Money island.

The huge rooms are well maintained having Portugese touch with very friendly staff especially Aavya from front desk. The property is surrounded by beautiful gardens and golf turf giving it a panaromic view. Very quiet and best place for couples who wish to stay away from crowd.

Good breakfast and nice seafood at the shacks of The Lalit.

If you are going on your own, take a self drive car on rent from Madgaon railway station and drive down to NH17, straight you will reach Canacona. There you will get 4- rasta, drive straight for 500 meter, you will reach Lalit. Distance between Madgaon station to Lalit is 36 km, which can be reached in 45 min as the roads are very good with beautiful surroundings.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Malaykumar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Satya Roy C, General Manager at The LaLiT Golf & Spa Resort Goa, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time and posting a review of our hotel on TripAdvisor.

Thank you so much for sharing pictures. It was a privilege to have you stay with us at The Lalit Golf and Spa Resort. We are glad to learn that you were happy with the services and facilities of our hotel. I have shared your feedback with my team. Your word of appreciation is an encouragement for us .We value your patronage and look forward to welcome you again at The Lalit Goa.

Warm regards
Satya Roy Chowdhury
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

It was business trip...annual biz meet of our company there.... aminiites are nice and rooms are specioaus.


mainly i want to feedback here that...FOOD was very nice all the 3 days, it was tasty...chef was very good that as per advice he was preperign the food, tasty and hugenic. I really appreciate the food and timings they managed for us....

Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
2  Thank upendrakumar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Satya Roy C, General Manager at The LaLiT Golf & Spa Resort Goa, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time and posting a review of our hotel on TripAdvisor

I am pleased to note that you are happy with our facilities, the dining experience, and the hospitality offered by us. It is our endeavor to create great experiences and your appreciation of our staff and services motivates us.

We value your patronage and look forward to welcome you again at The Lalit Goa.

Warm regards
Satya Roy Chowdhury
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013

The Lalit is a very nice property - rooms are nice so are the views. The pool is nice and the surrounding garden pretty. The staff is courteous. However, the place is not very efficiently run - we found chaos reigned supreme during mealtimes. The buffet kept running out all the time. Food quality was consistently unacceptable - both for a la carte and buffet options. Never understood why the food was so expensive for that quality...perhaps because the hotel is so far away from anywhere.

There are food options at the gate of the hotel and they do thriving business because of the guests who want better food and better prices. Worth a look-see if you end up at the Lalit.

The seafood shack type restaurant owned by the Lalit is pricey beyond reason and twice that I passed by, it was totally empty.

The only beach shacks right on the Lalit beach sell fruits and juices. They are expensive by Goa standards but very friendly and good quality. You can get a cheap massage done while you sip you watermelon juice. I was told there were other proper food shacks round a hill on the beach but that looked far and I didn't bother. I was told that the Lalit management don't allow food shacks to come up on the beach as it impacts their own business. Plausible - considering all sunbeds on the beach belong to the Lalit.

The staff though polite was not properly trained - there were rough edges all around - ranging from confusion about restaurant timings, to how to address guests to grooming.

All in all - it is clear that the property runs with a single point agenda - attract customers with a nice property but once they are there, make the maximum out of them with high prices, low quality and don't let them have other options.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SJu70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Satya Roy C, General Manager at The LaLiT Golf & Spa Resort Goa, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time and posting a review of our hotel on TripAdvisor

I apologize for the dissatisfaction you experienced with the food & some services provided. We would appreciate particular comments & feedback on where we can further raise the bar, if you could email us at goagmoffice@thelalit.com.

Nonetheless your feedback is being shared with our Head of Departments to see to keeping the standards met at the highest level. I am pleased to note that you found the rooms, sports facilities and overall location to be pleasing to you.

Your feedback is valuable to us and helps us in our endeavor of constant improvement. I once again thank you for it.

Warm regards
Satya Roy Chowdhury
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

First things first !!! Its a HUGE property ! Fortunately, it is v v well maintained and they do have buggies to transport u around if the need arises.
Rooms are v spacious and contain all conceivable amenities, including an ironing board.
Food is about average, nothing to write home about, but nothing to complain either.
Front desk staff and housekeeping staff deserve special mention for instant responses. Though we were a large group , there was no complain from anyone.
The golf course is excellent and so is the beach.
Slightly on the expensive side, but well worth your money.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vnzaveri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Satya Roy C, General Manager at The LaLiT Golf & Spa Resort Goa, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time and posting a review of our hotel on TripAdvisor.

It was a privilege to have you stay with us at The Lalit Golf and Spa Resort. We are glad to learn that you were happy with the services and facilities of our hotel. I have shared your feedback with my team and your appreciation motivates us.

We value your patronage and look forward to welcome you again at The Lalit Goa.

Warm regards
Satya Roy Chowdhury
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Canacona
14.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort Goa Cavelossim Beach
13.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Goa
Holiday Inn Resort Goa
#4 of 10 in Cavelossim
1,603 reviews
16.8 mi away
Caravela Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 mi away
The Leela Goa
The Leela Goa
#1 of 10 in Cavelossim
2,315 reviews
19.2 mi away
Taj Exotica Resort & Spa Goa
0.5 mi away
The Tubki Resort
The Tubki Resort
#2 of 9 in Palolem
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The LaLiT Golf & Spa Resort Goa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The LaLiT Golf & Spa Resort Goa

Address: Raj Baga, Canacona 403702, India (Formerly InterContinental the Lalit Goa Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: India > Goa > South Goa District > Canacona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Canacona
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Canacona
Price Range: $140 - $1,712 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The LaLiT Golf & Spa Resort Goa 5*
Number of rooms: 265
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lalit Golf & Spa Resort Goa is an all suite resort nestled on 85 acres along the pristine Goan coastline. The resort, cradled by the majestic Sahyadari range along the confluence of the Talpone River, offers breathtaking view of the Arabian Sea. With a kilometre-long exclusive beachfront, it is truly one of the most exquisite beach resorts in Goa. Amidst grand Baroque-Portuguese style architecture, meticulously landscaped gardens, international standard Double 'T' 9-hole Links golf course and Rejuve - the signature spa, enjoy the luxury of oceanfront privacy and seclusion in true Lalit style. Upon arrival, the resort welcomes you into the grand lobby with rustic chandeliers, antique long-handled ceiling fans and a grand staircase overlooking a hand-painted tile mosaic of Sao Rafael, the very first Portuguese ship to land in Goa under the helm of Vasco Da Gama. The resort offers 202 Garden View suites, 36 Sea View Suites, 14 Luxury Suites, 3 Presidential Suites and 10 luxurious villas. Other facilities include unique fine dining restaurants, water sports, Swimming Pool, Kids Pool, Sports complex - Tennis, Squash, Table Tennis, Archery, Volleyball, Beach Football, Beach Cricket, ATV, Beach Cricket, supervised kid's area with a variety of activities for children. The resort is also equipped with seven banquet halls/meeting rooms, ideal for all types of corporate events, conference facility, meeting facility, weddings ceremonies and wedding receptions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The LaLiT Golf & Spa Resort Goa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lalit Golf And Spa Resort Goa
The Lalit Golf & Spa Resort Goa Hotel Canacona
Intercontinental The Lalit Goa Hotel
Canacona Inter-Continental
Intercontinental Canacona
The LaLiT Golf & Spa Resort Goa Canacona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing