We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice location on Palolem beach”
Review of Big Fish La Raja

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Canacona
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Big Fish La Raja
Ranked #26 of 139 Specialty Lodging in Canacona
Ahmedabad, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very nice location on Palolem beach”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Unfonrtunately we could only stay one night in palolem. But Big Fish was a very nice choice.
It is located more south on palolem beach (I think this is the nicer side of the beach!)
From your breakfast table you have the most awesome view over the bay.
The hut was located only 30sec away from the beach.
Indeed it was very basic, but totally clean. The bathroom was even better than s.th you would expect from a beach accomondation. The shower was pretty cold, but ok!
I think the standard in most of the waterfront places are very similar. So if you check-in in one of the neighbours of big fish it will be also ok!
All in all i would recommend this place becaus staff was very nice and the restaurant very good!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    3
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
5
11
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
59 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2012

We stayed here in January with a group of friends based on a referral from a friend and overall had a OKAY stay. Ultimately, it comes down to setting expectations.

You are staying on a hut on the beach with a fan, a bed, mosquito net and basic shower accommodations. Based on that the place is decent. The staff was very helpful and we enjoyed the food at the restaurant.

Towards the end of our trip we learned that some showers had hot water while ours did not. Ask for a room with a hot shower. Some of our friends stay in a hotel south of Big Fish - sorry dont know the name - and thought it was slightly better.

While i'm rating it with 2 stars it is based upon all housing options. If comparing only to huts on the beach i would give it 4 stars and say its a good value.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelingSlim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2012

we visited Palolem for the first time in January 2012 and were lucky enough to find the Big Fish restauant and bar. Plenty of loungers on the beach and the guys - Raj, Santos, Sanjeev will always find you one if the othes are full. The food there is excellent and they can cook anything from italian, indian, american and even chinese - the chefs do a great job. Service is great and it's very relaxed. All the staff are very friendly and the guy that owns the bar and the beech huts, Wilson Fernandez is lovely, always smiling and a genuine bloke. We made that our base for the fortnight and you won't go wrong if you do the same. It's at the quiet end of the beech so plenty of room. When you get there and you fancy a nice refreshing non alcoholic cocktail ask for a Santos Special - and they do the best cheesy nan bread we have ever tasted! People there are mainly regulars who keep going back and you are guarantee to meet someone there to talk to.

Room Tip: We didn't stay in the rooms so can't commentg
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jane T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st. peters, mo
Level Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2011

I didn't know where I was going when I headed to Palolem and the cabbie got lost driving aroung the back roads. I ended up at the Big Fish La Raja and found I couldn't have found a better place. I rented a cute little bamboo cabin a few feet from the beach and the restaurant, which was always putting out the best food. I arrived at the beginning of the season, so they were still putting everything in order, but the place was super clean and I always felt safe there, being a woman traveling alone. Wilson, the owner, Santos, the manager and the ever entertaining Ashok in the restaurant were the perfect hosts.
The view from that end of the beach is the best, in my opinion. The water was clean and crystal clear during my time there.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rubels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canacona hotels
0.8 mi away
Dreamcatcher Resort
Dreamcatcher Resort
#3 of 9 in Palolem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sea Shades
Sea Shades
#4 of 50 in Palolem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
1.2 mi away
Palm Trees Resort
Palm Trees Resort
#3 of 50 in Palolem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Palolem Green Inn
Palolem Green Inn
#10 of 32 in Palolem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
0.5 mi away
Palolem Beach Resort
Palolem Beach Resort
#29 of 80 in Canacona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
0.5 mi away
Secret Garden Resort
Secret Garden Resort
#4 of 14 in Patnem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Fish La Raja? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Fish La Raja

Property: Big Fish La Raja
Address: Onam | Palolem Beach, Canacona, India
Location: India > Goa > South Goa District > Canacona
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 139 Specialty Lodging in Canacona
Also Known As:
Big Fish La Raja Goa/Canacona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing