We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (49)
Filter reviews
49 results
Traveler rating
46
3
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
46
3
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews living room rickshaw ride banks of the river short walk patnem beach fantastic villa piece of paradise holiday experience every morning the location is perfect star hotel arabian sea curry housekeeper chim perfectionist luxury
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 49 reviews
Reviewed June 3, 2018

Perfectly poised on the banks of the river, and mere moments from the Arabian Sea, the Riverview Villa is a joy. Neither ostentatious and overblown, nor spartan - a splendid, peaceful, beautifully located haven in South Goa. It feels like the right kind of luxury, appropriate to the region and the surroundings. My days there were made even better by the excellent food and the considerate care of the housekeepers.

Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank hemmantjha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiverviewVillaGoa, Owner at Riverview Villas, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2018

Thank you for your review Hemmant. It was a pleasure to have you with us and I’m so glad you enjoyed yourself. Wish you wonderful times ahead and see you next season.
Best regards,
Shefali

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2018

We spent 3 days at the Villa last week and had the most relaxing vacation in a long time. The host is amazingly helpful with tips on what to do (especially with two teens in tow) and where to go. She gave us contacts for boat rides, cab, food etc and it all worked out perfectly. The housekeeper is super efficient and super chirpy, cooking up the most delicious meals if given enough lead time to prepare. The ingredients are always sourced fresh from the market and she keeps the house extremely tidy and well stocked with essentials. The location is perfect at the road's end, tucked away from the crowds, with the french windows of the rooms on one the main side overlooking a little tropical garden and then the river. What better way to wake up than watching the river flow by while still in your bed! And the best part is the long verandah with relaxed seating for endless evenings watching birds and river life. It is a short walk from the beach. We spent a lovely morning boating on the river and another exploring an old fort called Cabo de Rama. The views from atop are breathtakingly beautiful.
We shall surely return again.
And again.
And again since we are a car's drive away fro this hidden piece of paradise.

Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank travellingtote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiverviewVillaGoa, Owner at Riverview Villas, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2018

Hi Devika,
Thanks for the great review ! It was an absolute pleasure to have you here and I look forward to seeing you again !
Best regards,
Chim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2018

So, it's been a year exactly since we stayed at Riverview Villa in Rajbag for 2 glorious weeks, but I felt compelled to write this so long after our trip, as the memories of the holiday are still deeply imprinted on our minds, so lovely was the place.
Chim the owner met us when we arrived in the middle of the night - she was really welcoming and full of lots of interesting info.
The villa itself is so homely. It's not decadent luxury - just really comfortable. As soon as we arrived, we felt completely at home - it has a real relaxed vibe. There were three of us in the villa; myself, my partner and my mum and the space was perfectly adequate for us not to feel on top of each other. The villa is spotlessly clean and great touches such as large barrels of fresh drinking water in the kitchen make the villa so comfortable to live in.
The villa is a 10 minute walk through the grounds of the Lalit Hotel to the beautiful quiet beach at Rajbag. While we were there, we almost had the beach to ourselves, so its a great place to relax. We avoided the beach bar (which is attached to the hotel) though as it is extremely overpriced - which is a shame as it would be a nice place to sit and have a cocktail. Patnem is only a 5 min tuktuk ride away for much more reasonably priced cocktails on the beach though... or you can even walk there along the beach at low tide. We enjoyed having dinner in Rajbag one night, or riding out to Patnem the next and Palolem the next etc, so convenient is the villas location.
The location of the villa next to the large river is beautiful. The gazebo is a real highlight of spending time at the Villa. Its is one of the most calming places we have ever been to. You can literally spend hours watching the wildlife and fishing activity on the river, while catching the lovely cool breeze that comes of it. Heavenly.
This would all be enough to make your holiday memorable, but what sets this villa apart from everywhere else is the staff! Nafisa and Nilima were absolutely amazing in keeping the villa and its garden spotless. They couldnt have been more courteous, friendly and helpful. They arrived every morning at 9am-1pm and helped us book taxis, did our laundry and did our shopping everyday for us to ensure we were fully stocked up with beer and G&T! They were never intrusive. We really enjoyed trying Nafisa's delicious cooking. It was great to try some different Indian breakfasts and she even cooked a couple of evening meals for us on request - which were both lovely. We were truly sad to say goodbye at the end of our holiday.
We have been to different parts of Goa, staying in different kinds of accommodation but this villa, the location, the friendly staff and that gazebo on the river make this the best place we have ever stayed - bar none! Aaah that gazebo though!

Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RichGenDodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mahaboy, Owner at Riverview Villas, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2018

Hi Richard! Thank you for your appreciative review of the villa and the staff. I’m so happy to read it & so is Nafisa. In fact, we were trying to find your email cause we wanted to wish you on your birthday on the 18th. Happy Belated Birthday wishes from all of us and warmest regards to your mother & Jen.
( Do email me a line so that we have your contact for next year )
Best regards,
Chim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2018

We've traveled with two girls to Goa for the first time and the place was just perfect.

Its in Rajbag at the end of Tarir with an amazing view of the river. it takes few minutes by tooktook (100 rp) to get to patnem/colomb beach. get friendly with one of the drivers and just call him every time you need a ride, ours, Annand was part of the family. and on the rare times he didn't answer, a minute walk down the road and you can get a taxi.

The house is just as in the pictures, and the best part is not in the picture, the housekeeper, she makes great breakfast and she'll cook anything you want for you or your guests (lunch/dinner) her Indian food is amazing, and just watching her cooking is like a cooking class.

You have all things you want and more, from Yoga mats, beach towels and a cooler to take to the beach, to a hat in case you left yours at home.

Chim is an amazing host, and she helped us with anything we needed. and as a bonus every few days a family of monkeys came to visit the house and they were playing with there youngsters on the trees around us.

This place is expensive in Indian terms but for a reason, few families we know who lives in the area for long term said the place is a lot above standard for this area, and in western standards its not that expensive.

Room tip: ask the housekeeper to cook for you a meal
Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank eldadr2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mahaboy, Owner at Riverview Villas, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2018

Dear Eldad,
Thank you for your wonderful review! It was an absolute pleasure to have you staying with us. Hope to see you again & have a lovely year ahead !
Warmest regards from all of us !!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2017 via mobile

We celebrated my 60th Birthday at Riverview Villa and enjoyed the tranquillity of this enchanting villa from 31st July to 5th August 2017.
The villa is perfectly located at the end of the road on which the Lalit Goa is located. The garden and heavenly gazebo flank the river while the larger bedroom, living room and large verandah face the river. The gazebo provided hours of bliss watching fishermen at work and Brahmini kites, kestrels, cormorants and kingfishers swoop and soar, while reading, chilling to music and sipping coconut feni and sprite.
The monsoon rains added to sense of being cocooned in a piece of paradise.
As if that were insufficient to recharge your soul, the sumptuous food conjured up by Nafeesa ensure your cup of bliss overflowed. The really comfortable villa with its solid wooden furniture, tastefully appointed rooms, and fully stocked kitchen added to the sense of belonging that epitomizes this villa.
Shefali is a thoughtful hostess who provides you with useful tips on virtually anything you wish to know and organised transport even at inconvenient times and at short notice. Her boutique at Palolem (Chim) is chic and also a place you must visit. Rajbaj, Patnem, Colomb and Palolem beaches are all within walking distance as are Chaudi fish and vegetable markets. Autos also easily available ( Shefali's info pack has moble numbers of reliable auto and taxi drivers).
We loved Riverview Villa in the monsoon and hope to return in season soon.

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank prathapt2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews