We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most romantic experience ever...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Fern Gardenia Resort
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Canacona
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
59 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“The most romantic experience ever...”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

We stayed at this place in November 2012 and we reached here exactly 2 days after our wedding...so no wonder we were looking for a cozy romantic place.. n we got exactly that and much more! It's close to palolam beach and we hired a taxi from the airport. It's quite far Nd difficult to reach but the receptionist kept in touch and guided us. We reached at night and as soon as we entered, we could feel the cozy touch. It's not a lavish or luxurious property, but it's quite cutesy and cozy. They have rooms designed like cottages and the interiors are doneup in wooden look so u get the feel u r in a modern hut. The restaurant is quite small a d doesn't look much but the food is surprisingly yummy. The buffet was lavish and everything tasted good. We got complimentary drop n pick up to palolam beach as well. The pool is small coz overall the property size is also not that big, but the place only had foreigners and a few honeymooners so we got a secluded feel. It's a different kind of experience, one of the best ever... N definitely a most romantic one..which the look n feel of the resort only contributed to. Worth going...again n again:)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Saakshi J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    91
    54
    17
    7
See reviews for
50
138
10
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Doetinchem, Gelderland, Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviewed July 31, 2013

We made a reservation to stay 5 nights at this beautifully looking resort. Unfortunately when we arrived the pool had just been repaired and they were refilling and filtering the water. The pool would be unavailable for at least a couple of days. As our son really looked forward to use the pool, we discussed this with the manager. He grandly helped us to get excellent replacement accomodation for the same price.
Therfore they get my A grade points for helpfullness.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nelly U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed July 17, 2013

The infrastructure and facility in this resort is really nice. The rooms are nice and resort is green with different varies of plants and trees. The pool is situated in the center and rooms are located around it. The rooms resemble a cottage house and have good privacy. They were clean and cozy, although ventilation leaves a bit to be desired. That said, I was really happy with the infrastructure eventhough they were around a couple of kms from the beach.

Though the service left a lot of be desired. There was a case where they wouldn't serve tea/coffee one morning. The people in the restaurant weren't what I could call professional. During one of our dinners, one of the attendants in the restaurant was constantly singing in his really un-flattering voice.
The servies was average at best and food served in the in-house restaurant was a very moderate affair (please note that we are eggeterians. May be non-veg dishes fair better??) May be we were there around off season and it's better during season?. Either way, I would suggest eating somewhere outside where it is much better and much nicer.

If you aren't really picky about service, you could pick this place.

Room Tip: Rooms are generally pretty good and quiet. WiFi service is pretty bad in rooms away from reception a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VeeraRaghavanS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Pedro de Atacama, Chile
Level Contributor
61 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

The hotel is nice and the staff is very friendly and efficient. They will solve any problem immediately The rooms are cabins, very comfortable. The pool is in the center and is really beautiful, surrounded by greenery. The hotel can take you to Canacona beach, free of charge. The monsoon was nice staying in this hotel. I really enjoyed the monsoon in this hotel

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saraswatii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
1 review
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Me and my husband had a superb time in The Fern Gardenia Resort ! It was a last minute booking and had some technical diffculty getting the room confirmed for the first day ... but the GM , Mr Donald Pereira was extremely helpful and co operative ! The Goan food was simply superb .. home made specialiities .. authentic goan style prawn & fish curry !! The place was absolutely charming ..cosy log huts surrounded by greenery .. and a beaufitiful pool ! We will recommend this place as a lovley getaway and value for money !! Thank You Mr Donald & team for your wonderful hospitality . we hope to be back soon !

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bindujacob41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Room
The room is a cozy little cottage with a small TV and a nice bathroom. The bathroom was stinking a bit though. This may not be the case in all the rooms. So you can check it at the beginning and change the room if that is an issue.

Facilities
The two facilities are swimming pool and wifi. The swimming pool is well-maintained and the wifi is available almost throughout the place and it is complimentary!

Food
There is not much variety on the menu. The service is very slow but the food is delicious. We really enjoyed the aloo parantha and poori bhaji breakfast every morning. We went during July which was off-season. So many of the other restaurants were closed and we ended up having all our meals here.

Staff
The staff are polite and helpful but extremely laid back. But I guess staying in Goa for a long time can do that to you :-) They arrange the pick up and drop to the Palolem beach. They also help you hire a bike/car at a slightly higher price though. You can hire them yourself at the Palolem beach for a lower price.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deepthi_H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Pros: The resort, rooms, pool look much better than the pics on their website and that felt really good. The rooms are super cute, super clean, the bed is very comfortable, the bathrooms unbelievably clean and as good as the ones you would see at any 5 star property!
The staff is courteous and prompt(we are not used to this in Goa!), property is very well maintained and feels cosy unlike most "resorts".
The buffet breakfast was a treat for the fussy vegetarian in me - it had cakes, idli-chutney(good chutney btw), corn flakes, juices, batata vada (which was average but not definitely not bad).
Not to mention my pure NON-Vegetarian husband enjoyed the salami, fish and sausages equally!
They arrange for (free) rickshaws to the beach and back from 10 am to 6 pm. Free wifi - our cottage was very near the entrance and we did get good signal, so no complaints there!

Cons: It is NOT walkable from Palolem beach, it is a lonely (at night) almost 2 km walk from the beach! But it doesnt really matter because the place makes up for the only negative we could come up with.
To sum it up, we definitely got MORE than what we paid for and would return for sure whenever we are in South goa again!

Room Tip: Tip: Couples with kids who are sceptical of staying in huts and dont want to spend a bomb on "r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kanchan c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Canacona
1.3 mi away
The Tubki Resort
The Tubki Resort
#2 of 9 in Palolem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
1.8 mi away
The LaLiT Golf & Spa Resort Goa
0.8 mi away
Dreamcatcher Resort
Dreamcatcher Resort
#3 of 9 in Palolem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Dropadi Inn
Dropadi Inn
#9 of 9 in Palolem
3.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
0.4 mi away
Palolem Inn
Palolem Inn
#5 of 9 in Palolem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
9.9 mi away
MAYFAIR Hideaway Spa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fern Gardenia Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fern Gardenia Resort

Property: The Fern Gardenia Resort
Address: Palolem Agonda Road Devabag | Near Dhavlikar Hospital, Canacona 403728, India
Location: India > Goa > South Goa District > Canacona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Canacona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Fern Gardenia Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fern Gardenia Resort is a unique Eco - Sensitive Resort at Palolem beach in South Goa. Apart from being the only hotel in Palolem with a Swimming Pool & Pool Bar, the hotel aims at providing Luxury accommodations to the budget sensitive travelers, which is a first for Palolem beach. Located 1KM from Palolem Beach in South Goa’s Canacona district. About 60kms from the Airport, 2kms from the Canacona Railway Station and 30kms from Margao.The Palolem beach, also known as Paradise beach is one of the most picturesque beaches in Goa with crystal clear waters and white sand. This beach has fast become the best alternative to the crowded beaches of North Goa.As of now, accommodations in Palolem were restricted only to the shanty coco huts or guest houses along the beach belt or to the only expensive Star hotel in Canacona which is way beyond the reach of many. The Fern Gardenia is the only hotel in its category which sports all the comforts and amenities of a Luxury hotel but fits in the budget of the average traveler visiting Palolem and Agonda. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Fern Gardenia Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fern Gardenia Hotel Canacona
The Fern Gardenia Resort Goa/Canacona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing