We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Memorable Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Fern Gardenia Resort
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Canacona
Nurpur, Himachal Pradesh
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Memorable Stay”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Its been a month that I visited the resort. The place as in the photos was excellent, rooms were nice, pool area was good. Breakfast I must say wasn't the best one but I'd give it a green light.
All in all, will surely stay here the next time I visit.

Room Tip: Book Well In Advance!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LazyDog_Vishi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    91
    54
    17
    7
See reviews for
50
138
10
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2012

We were very excited for our stay at The Fern as on the photos the log cabin style rooms looked adorable. However, we ended up being disappointed with our stay. We had arranged for an airport pick-up service per the resort's website, and on the day of our flight realized our flight info had changed; we borrowed a fellow passenger's phone during our connecting flight to let the manager know of the time change. We were told our driver had waited for 3 hours then left. We had emailed at 2:30pm and our original time of arrival was 12:30pm and we were told he had left at 2:00pm. So he in reality had waited less than 2 hours and did not turn around to get us when we notified them as soon as we realized the error, then insisted we still pay 1500 rupies for the service. The manager Lorraine, while professional, offered no compromise saying the driver was not their own, it was a contract service they use. If you have ANY concern that your flight may change or be delayed, I would recommend using the prepaid airport taxi service that is only 1400 rupies (this is what we ended up doing, so our transfer ended up costing almost 3000 rupies!). So we were very disappointed with the lack of customer service we received by the manager and the cab service.
As far as the resort itself, it has a beautiful pool area and breakfast spread, and the cabins were cute although the white sheets has some stains on 2 pillow cases. I would not recommend eating dinner at the restaurant though... my partner and a fellow patron were dissuaded by the waiter from getting a paticular fish dish (was not sure if they were out of it??) And the resort is about 1.5km from the beach, which we found to be very inconvenient. Has shuttle service but only til 6pm. There are TONS of similar cabins right on the beach and we were kicking ourselves for not staying in a place with beach view. Palolem beach is beautiful and had a wide variety of restaurants that would have been nice to be closer to.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RRC417
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nahariya, Israel
Level Contributor
127 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2012

This fanrastic resort is located in a junction 3 minutes from the most wonderful beaches of South Goa. It was a pleasure to stay there as the staff was very friendly and professional and the rooms were big ad comfortable. The hotel provides a free ride to the beach too. It was a very positive experience for us!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Avitalp3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2012

Wow, this place is great. Lush green tropical gardens, beautiful pool and friendly staff. Stayed recently and wanted a change from the usual huts and sandy bed and I was not disappointed.
The cottages were clean and had free water and coffe/tea making facilities (Note: no mini bar or fridge in the room) The shower was fantastic and I could not get my husband out of the thing, four showers in one day !!!

Door stoppers could do with being put on the external doors to stop them banging!!

Breakfast was a pleasant surprise with a nice selection of continental (fruit, cereal etc) selection of eggs and toast and joy!! South India breakfast, which we love - bring on the Iddli Wada

The free shuttle service to the beach was very welcome especially on the way back when you are feeling slightly gritty from the beach, the A/C car was most welcoming but in the evening a rickshaw would only cost rps60

The only downside was that we made a booking for three adults as my mother (70 years old) was visiting from the UK, on arrival we were notofied that she would have to sleep on a mattress on the floor!! Apparently the website does state this but obviously not clearly enough as I would have booked another room? In the staff's favour they did provide two mattresses, one on top of the other so she wasn't too uncomfortable but it is a pity that this had to be the only black spot on what would have otherwise been a perfect weekend away.

Room Tip: Go for the middle range room to avail of the mini bar and fridge - worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phoenix3112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2012

We originally booked three nights as our only accommodation during a recent two week trip to Goa. We stayed in Lodge 113 which is spacious, well appointed and contains a fridge (great for keeping water cold!). Sadly after 3 nights we had already decided to move North to have a look there.

Having paid a lot more at 4 different hotels in North Goa we returned back to the Fern for our last 4 nights as this was the best place by fair. We had stayed in 3 "5 Star" hotels in between the Fern however the Fern won hands down.

Upon our return to The Fern, we sadly were put in to Lodge 116 which did not have a fridge however was equally appointed to the same standard. Power Showers are very good! Sadly Lodge 116 is very near to the staff route and he were kept awake which staff talking and taking calls however this did stop about 11:00.

On the last day we had requested a late check out at 12:00 which was rejected however when we left at 12:00 our lodge still had not been turned around which was frustrating as we had a long day ahead travelling and had to shower by the pool.

The only negative is breakfast is basic however serves the purpose also whilst we only used the pool very briefly on the final day (you have the best beach in Goa on your door step nearly) the hotel fails to use the pool bar which could be fun if it was stocked and staffed. I had also booked a taxi to pick us up from the hotel prior to leaving the UK (and confirmed via e-mail) the taxi failed to meet us and we had to organise our own taxi which was simple enough however a little stressful.

Generally though the fern has our home from home and was everything we wanted and needed. We slept there during the night, however was on the beach all day and eat out in the evening so was a base but a very good base at that.

Room Tip: 113 is very nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Taffy2283_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012

We stayed for two nights at this cosy resort near Palolem and Agonda beach at south Goa. From the moment we drove our four wheeler in the parking lot, the courteous staff and the cosy surroundings made us feel instantly at home. They have a classy pool that overlooks a hill with palm trees in the background..a sight for gods! you can spend hours by the pool, the bar at pool is sufficiently equipped and the restaurant chef is pretty versatile with continental and goanese cuisines. The best part though is the proximity to both beaches, Agonda and Palolem. The resort is not directly on the beach but not too far. Rooms were excellent and they have a shower panel that will tempt you to bath long hours. My son enjoyed the pool and the bath. The staff was polite and we never had any reason for complain. Great place that will surely be visited again.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms next to restaurant and house keeping quarters .
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amit J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2012

We found our stay at this resort to be SOOOOO relaxing! We loved lounging at the pool, the restaurant was great, and the rooms were very comfortable. Early morning bird watching with a cup of coffee outside the room can't be beat. My only suggestion (and this is really, really minor) would be for management to put door stoppers on the walls near the bathroom and front doors. The first night we were there, we thought the neighbors kept knocking! :)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VeggieJessica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Canacona
1.3 mi away
The Tubki Resort
The Tubki Resort
#2 of 9 in Palolem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
1.8 mi away
The LaLiT Golf & Spa Resort Goa
0.8 mi away
Dreamcatcher Resort
Dreamcatcher Resort
#3 of 9 in Palolem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Dropadi Inn
Dropadi Inn
#9 of 9 in Palolem
3.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
0.4 mi away
Palolem Inn
Palolem Inn
#5 of 9 in Palolem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
9.9 mi away
MAYFAIR Hideaway Spa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fern Gardenia Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fern Gardenia Resort

Property: The Fern Gardenia Resort
Address: Palolem Agonda Road Devabag | Near Dhavlikar Hospital, Canacona 403728, India
Location: India > Goa > South Goa District > Canacona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Canacona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Fern Gardenia Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fern Gardenia Resort is a unique Eco - Sensitive Resort at Palolem beach in South Goa. Apart from being the only hotel in Palolem with a Swimming Pool & Pool Bar, the hotel aims at providing Luxury accommodations to the budget sensitive travelers, which is a first for Palolem beach. Located 1KM from Palolem Beach in South Goa’s Canacona district. About 60kms from the Airport, 2kms from the Canacona Railway Station and 30kms from Margao.The Palolem beach, also known as Paradise beach is one of the most picturesque beaches in Goa with crystal clear waters and white sand. This beach has fast become the best alternative to the crowded beaches of North Goa.As of now, accommodations in Palolem were restricted only to the shanty coco huts or guest houses along the beach belt or to the only expensive Star hotel in Canacona which is way beyond the reach of many. The Fern Gardenia is the only hotel in its category which sports all the comforts and amenities of a Luxury hotel but fits in the budget of the average traveler visiting Palolem and Agonda. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Fern Gardenia Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fern Gardenia Hotel Canacona
The Fern Gardenia Resort Goa/Canacona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing