We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peace and quiet in Palolem”
Review of Ordo Sounsar

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Canacona
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ordo Sounsar
Ranked #84 of 146 Specialty Lodging in Canacona
Reviewed July 15, 2010

Only booked here for one night which was a huge mistake as when I arrived after taking in the walk down the beach I realised this was the place for me-sadly after my one night they were full so I had to go elsewhere for two nights but on my return stayed for 2 weeks.
Its in the style of most of the bamboo huts but as its away from the beach you don't get the noise of the howling dogs all night which was my experience in the rest of Palolem.
Not sure what the problem was with the other reviewer about cleanliness-the staff will change the sheets every day if you ask.Communal showers/toilets were spotless,where else can you say that in India?and the en-suite ones were simple toilet/shower but worked fine.
The staff here are lovely and helpful without being in your face and the lady owner Shelly really knows how to cook,the food is home cooked Goan and up there with the best in Palolem.There were a few nights when the bar got a bit lively (c/o Serafin - Shelly's brother and his flavoured firewaters) and a few when it was empty but if you need peace and quiet your space is respected.
Palolem is not the tranquil empty beach it once was but staying here means you can dip in and out of the action as and when you feel like it.The flora and fauna here are plentiful and the monkeys are fun to watch and shy without being scary like they are up north.

Great people and great place to stay.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank charly2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (35)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 35 reviews

Reviewed April 10, 2010

This place has so so much potential. It is just off palolem beach, and you pass a little bridge to get to it. Check in was fine and the staff were nice throughout. We went in april, which is a bit too hot to be in Palolem, The rooms had a fan, which was quite useless in keeping the room cool, especially when the electricity is off intermittently in the mornings, and you wake up with the increasing heat. You are sheltered from the beach so dont get the breeze from it.
What let the place down for me was the cleanliness of the room. The sheets had not been changed, there was black hair on the pillows and stains on the sheets! There was a mosquito net around the bed but this was useless because we were COVERED in bites every morning. (either this or there were fleas in the bed). The outdoor bathroom was cool, and we enjoed the shower.
Overall, this place has so much potential, but needs to be maintained better. The intense heat and the fan going on/off all the time and the cleanliness of the room let it down for me. I didnt eat here so cant comment about that.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank scienveg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2010

We stayed in this beautiful spot for 4 nights. Just far enough away from the rest of the hut complexes to offer peace and quiet, yet very close to the beach, this was the best fit for us.

We stayed in a hut with attached bathroom, the open roof shower was truly great, especially in the early morning with all the birds flying overhead and at night with all the stars. You've got to love the fauna, with monkeys walking around the site, the occasionnal dog venturing that far over the bridge and the owner's cat, who's very people friendly and who has no problem getting into huts and even beds!

The owners and the staff were amazing, very attentive and always eager to please. The food there was divine, and cheap too! All that grilled fish, yum. We give this place the best recommendation!

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ikomaMontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2010

Didnt stay there just ate in the restaurant . They really only do goan food but it was excellent and thats from someone who doesnt even like Indian food. Atmosphere was nice too, very different to the usual beach place.
well worth a visit

Stayed: November 2009
Thank mariannaBern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2009

My husband and were SO glad to have stayed here! Unlike the rest of the huts in Palolem, this place is off the noisy, crowded main drag of beach and really is the only one that claim to be a "hut camp." It's like its own little village, with charming, airy and light huts, a delicious Goan restaurant, a "chill out area" great for spending many hours reading, talking, eating or even sleeping,as well as a stylish bar, not to mention numerous hammocks scattered throughout the property. The owners are friendly, generous, low pressure brother and sister, and the staff is professional and helpful. We were there before the bridge (a little scary, but fun and totally an "Indian experience") was fully built, so we were shuttled back and forth over the river in a rickety canoe!

The rooms are on the barren side, with no furniture other than a scrumptiously comfy bed, some hangers, and a thing to put clothes in, but we didnt mind. Unlike most of the huts on the beach, which look great on the outside, but feel like any old cramped and dingy guesthouse room on the inside, these rooms FEEL like how they LOOK on the outside. We also really enjoyed showering with the sun in the open air attached bathroom as well as sitting out on our porch. Beware of leaving food in your cabins, as we had a mysterious animal nibbling on some of ours! Also, we enjoyed watching a very brave monkey come by a few times within 10 feet of our cabin to feast on the grass!

This place is a gem, esp for couples.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cik201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2009

We were absolutely blown away by this stunning resort!
The brother and sister owners, Sally and Sarafin and incredible staff (not to mention the brilliant chef and his glorious food!) all
made our week stay an unforgetable experience. Hard to describe the charm of the place,,,from the moment you walk over the romantic Indiana Jones type bridge and are greeted by little bamboo type houses on stilts! Tucked away from the noisy and loud stacked beach front hotels/shacks, Ordo Sounsar is romantic, magical and out of this world! Thank you for a most memorable experience! dd,marcus,lize and jill

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ddktion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank MathCez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canacona hotels
1.6 mi away
The Tubki Resort
The Tubki Resort
#2 of 9 in Palolem
305 reviews
1.9 mi away
The LaLiT Golf & Spa Resort Goa
1.4 mi away
Seaview Resort
Seaview Resort
#18 of 23 in Patnem
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Secret Garden Resort
Secret Garden Resort
#5 of 14 in Patnem
83 reviews
1.3 mi away
Casa Fiesta
Casa Fiesta
#8 of 23 in Patnem
56 reviews
0.2 mi away
Roundcube Palolem
Roundcube Palolem
#15 of 33 in Palolem
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ordo Sounsar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ordo Sounsar

Address: Palolem Beach | Riverside, Canacona 403702, India
Location: India > Goa > South Goa District > Canacona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #84 of 146 Specialty Lodging in Canacona
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Ordo Sounsar Goa/Canacona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing