We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location BAD service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Palolem Beach Resort
Ranked #27 of 81 Canacona B&B and Inns
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good location BAD service”
Reviewed April 5, 2012

A long overdue trip to Goa with friends from college finally materialized after a decade. When such kinds of trips work out we try to plan it to perfection, did a lot of research and finally zeroed in this property. One thing it lived upto from the research was its location; on the beach, ok when I say on the beach I do not imagine you open your door or a window and you see water. The rooms are separated from beach by restaurant and a small garden. We opted for A/C rooms; the A/C did work, the rooms were clean and of decent size. So far so good, but its starts to get disappointing when you start talk to or about the staff.

By far the worst service I have seen in any hotel, I believe even rood side hawkers (no disrespect to them but you don’t expect them to build a good impression) would be more courteous. Reached the location at 10:00 AM; our request to get a room an hr earlier get a swift reply, ‘sit in the restaurant and we will call you when the room is ready by noon’. We sit in the restaurant enjoying the view of the sea, waiting for some steward to come by - half hour to 45 min passes by no turns up and all the while they are just sitting at the counter trying to ignore. We decided no point just waiting for them; we decide to go to them with the order. Ask for milkshake from the menu a curt reply - don’t have it, ask for breakfast curt reply again - don’t have its past breakfast time. All we managed to get was a coffee. And this was just the beginning of our trip. Later that day in the evening we wanted to checkout the room service tried to order our dinner. Called the room service to make order again a curt reply we can not offer room service at this time (it was 9 PM), you can place the order we will call you when ready and you can take the food to your room.

That’s it after which we did not have patience to visit the restaurant again.

To summarize - visit this place just for accommodation and nothing else, but when you pay close to 4K for a night you would expect at-least some courtesy.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Srinath M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Palolem Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 31, 2014
Dear Guest,


It was indeed a pleasure to have you staying with us during your visit to Goa and I thank you for taking time out and sharing your feedback. Much as we strive to deliver an exceptional service to all our guests, I regret that the services provided by us did not meet up to your expectations.

However, we have shared your feedback with our team and I assure you that the same will be attended to on priority to avoid any future inconvenience.

I am pleased to know that besides the mentioned points you had a pleasant stay at Cuba -Palolem Beach Resort Goa.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon at Cuba - Palolem Beach Resort Goa.

Warm regards,

Dharmesh Saglani
Owner, Cuba Hospitality
Info@cubagoa.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    91
    62
    24
    18
See reviews for
56
87
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 11, 2012

A reasonable place to stay and dine. service in resturant is slow and caters mainly for the foreign tourist. food is good. rates of liquor is expensive than other places . beer is cheap though. safe place for kids with sufficient play area. overall a recommended place.
Deepak

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deepvar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Palolem Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 31, 2014
Dear Guest,

It was indeed a pleasure to have you staying with us during your visit to Goa and I thank you for taking time out and sharing your feedback. Your kind words encourage the team to further strive for excellence and provide each guest with good hospitality.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon at Cuba -Palolem Beach Resort, Goa.

Warm regards,

Dharmesh Saglani
Owner, Cuba Hospitality
Info@cubagoa.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
247 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2012

This is a basic budget hotel with a few tents on platforms but mostly “cabins” in concrete block rooms. The rooms are very basic with fan only no AC, no TV, and your standard budget bathroom with a shower with no curtain so your floor is wet and slippery. Good location close to, but not on, the beach and none of the rooms have an ocean view.
You’ll meet an interesting mix of mainly European residents here and all have an interesting story to tell.
The restaurant is separate from the hotel so you can’t add meals to your hotel bill and conveniently pay all at once at the end. And breakfast is not included in the room price. But the food there is terrible so you’re better off eating just about anywhere else. I would recommend Ciarans for any meal, Dreamcatchers for breakfast (at the north end of the beach and down a lane), or Dropadi. For sunset viewing, try the Bridge and Tunnel Restaurant at the south end of the beach and up the hill.

A better budget choice hotel would be Dreamcatchers at the north end of the beach and down a lane for private bungalows for roughly $30. They’re a little far back from the beach on the river, but are much quieter and more private. For something a little more upscale, but still reasonable, check out Ciarans for $70, which has a better restaurant and nice more modern cabins closer to the beach.

Room Tip: The corner unit nearest the restaurant and the outdoor washrooms for the tents is quite smelly. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DanoCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Palolem Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 31, 2014
Dear Guest,


It was indeed a pleasure to have you staying with us during your visit to Goa and I thank you for taking time out and sharing your feedback. Much as we strive to deliver an exceptional service to all our guests, I regret that the services provided by us did not meet up to your expectations.

However, we have shared your feedback with our team and I assure you that the same will be attended to on priority to avoid any future inconvenience.

I am pleased to know that besides the mentioned points you had a pleasant stay at Cuba -Palolem Beach Resort Goa.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon at Cuba - Palolem Beach Resort Goa.

Warm regards,

Dharmesh Saglani
Owner, Cuba Hospitality
Info@cubagoa.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgaum, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2012

Hotel is located at a very good distance from the sea,has a beautiful sea view. Rooms are very basic and small,without television.Room service is OK. However good.Food is very good.Liked the food very much. Breakfast not that great, lunch and dinner is Al crate and tastes great. Friendly staff. Over all a good beach resort for a beach vacation.

Room Tip: Better to stay in cottage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GokakFalls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Palolem Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 31, 2014
Dear Guest,


It was indeed a pleasure to have you staying with us during your visit to Goa and I thank you for taking time out and sharing your feedback. Much as we strive to deliver an exceptional service to all our guests, I regret that the services provided by us did not meet up to your expectations.

However, we have shared your feedback with our team and I assure you that the same will be attended to on priority to avoid any future inconvenience.

I am pleased to know that besides the mentioned points you had a pleasant stay at Cuba -Palolem Beach Resort Goa.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon at Cuba - Palolem Beach Resort Goa.

Warm regards,

Dharmesh Saglani
Owner, Cuba Hospitality
Info@cubagoa.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2012

Staying at this hotel made my trip! My friend and I moved to over 3 huts and this was by far the best value. It is not the cheapest hut, but the premium you pay is well worth the better treatment (it adds up to only a few dollars premium anyways). The staff were friendly and genuinely wanted to get to know the guests. The owner of Cuba was fantastic and helped my friends and I get acquainted with Palolem - giving us local advice that we never would have learned through a guide book. The food at the restaurant was delicious and well priced (try the fresh seafood). The huts overlook the beach and is basically in the center of the strip. There are also reserved lounge chairs for guests in front of the resort. The huts themselves are clean with mosquito nets inside. There is also cheap laundry offered next to the resort. I would highly recommend going to this resort if staying in Palolem, don't bother going elsewhere!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank janicetran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Palolem Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 31, 2014
Dear Guest,

It was indeed a pleasure to have you staying with us during your visit to Goa and I thank you for taking time out and sharing your feedback. Your kind words encourage the team to further strive for excellence and provide each guest with good hospitality.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon at Cuba -Palolem Beach Resort, Goa.

Warm regards,

Dharmesh Saglani
Owner, Cuba Hospitality
Info@cubagoa.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2012

Stayed here for a week in 2011 springs.
The property is well located in the middle of Palolem beach. Has a big open space in front offer good privacy along with direct sea view.

Food is excellent and well priced.

The rooms are charged differently based on season and view but they are generally 20-30% costlier than the other huts in the area. However due to the location is is worth paying a bit more.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Amit K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Palolem Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 31, 2014
Dear Guest,

It was indeed a pleasure to have you staying with us during your visit to Goa and I thank you for taking time out and sharing your feedback. Your kind words encourage the team to further strive for excellence and provide each guest with good hospitality.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon at Cuba -Palolem Beach Resort, Goa.

Warm regards,

Dharmesh Saglani
Owner, Cuba Hospitality
Info@cubagoa.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
58 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2011

Location, hotel design, very nice pool and friendly staff we add as advantages of this place. They should not charge for internet and there is only little shop with souvenires inside. For this price you can tru to catch stb better - and expect much more.

Room Tip: DeLuxe rooms are not exactly deluxe - try to book the cheapest option for this place
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MariuszOst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Palolem Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 31, 2014
Dear Guest,


It was indeed a pleasure to have you staying with us during your visit to Goa and I thank you for taking time out and sharing your feedback. Much as we strive to deliver an exceptional service to all our guests, I regret that the services provided by us did not meet up to your expectations.

However, we have shared your feedback with our team and I assure you that the same will be attended to on priority to avoid any future inconvenience.

I am pleased to know that besides the mentioned points you had a pleasant stay at Cuba -Palolem Beach Resort Goa.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon at Cuba - Palolem Beach Resort Goa.

Warm regards,

Dharmesh Saglani
Owner, Cuba Hospitality
Info@cubagoa.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canacona hotels
1.4 mi away
The Tubki Resort
The Tubki Resort
#2 of 9 in Palolem
292 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dreamcatcher Resort
Dreamcatcher Resort
#3 of 9 in Palolem
192 reviews
0.4 mi away
Marron Sea View Resort
Marron Sea View Resort
#4 of 9 in Palolem
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Cuba Premium Beach Huts
Cuba Premium Beach Huts
#14 of 50 in Palolem
172 reviews
0.3 mi away
Royal Touch Beach Huts
Royal Touch Beach Huts
#8 of 50 in Palolem
117 reviews
0.2 mi away
Roundcube Palolem
Roundcube Palolem
#17 of 33 in Palolem
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palolem Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palolem Beach Resort

Property: Palolem Beach Resort
Address: at the entrance of Palolem Beach, Canacona 403702, India
Location: India > Goa > South Goa District > Canacona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 81 B&Bs / Inns in Canacona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Palolem Beach Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palolem Beach Resort, located in Canacona, South Goa, is a popular choice for travelers. Only 60.0 km away, this 2-star hotel can be easily accessed from the airport. Also within easy reach are Palolem Beach. Located at the very heart of south Goa's most famous beach, the Palolem Beach Resort is one of the most well established and popular places to stay. With a wide range of accommodation to suit everyone, you can choose from nine A/C Seaview Cottages, fourteen A/C Garden View Cottages, twelve A/C and non A/C concrete rooms, and one family room. Set amongst landscaped gardens and palm trees, the spacious cottages have a separate western-style shower and toilet, comfortable beds, wardrobe and cupboard space, and a large verandah with hammock, table and chairs. The concrete-style rooms face onto pretty gardens and offer guests a simple, clean and comfortable place to rest. A stay at Palolem Beach Resort means making the very most of a fun and relaxing holiday experience in Palolem. Our friendly, helpful staff will ensure your stay is a comfortable one, and our excellent amenities include hot water, room service, generator backup, laundry service, car parking, on-site Ayurvedic spa and complimentary Continental Breakfast. The beach-facing restaurant offers sweeping views of the bay and has an extensive menu of Goan, Indian, Continental and fresh seafood dishes. Enjoy the glorious Palolem sunsets from your hotel sun lounger or from the Beach House Bar with its cocktail Happy Hour and wide selection of drinks. The best beach bars, restaurants and clubs are within easy walking distance, and as one of the few hotels in south Goa to be open all year round, the Palolem Beach Resort is designed to be your home away from home on the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Palolem Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palolem Beach Hotel Canacona
Palolem Beach Resort Goa/Canacona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing