We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect place to relax”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dwarka Eco Beach Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 19, 2013

A friend of mine and I visited Dwarka for the weekend. I was only worried that our expectations were too high but I had been worrying in vain. The place is peaceful and magical - beyond words. The staff are all nice, very kind and polite. The accomodation is clean and cosy and we were not bothered at all about the lack of hot water etc. No mosquitoes. Food was nice - fresh and simple. We felt literally as quests to Clemente - very much looked after in a nice and unobtrusive way. A big THANK YOU to him, his wife and all his staff.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maria233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (271)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

200 - 206 of 271 reviews

Reviewed February 16, 2013

What an amazing place this is. The moment you walk down the hill after a hot and bumpy taxi ride you're struck by the beauty and tranquility of the palms, the birds, and the lagoon.

The huts are huge with lots of storage space in a lockable cupboard. There are great big beds with no mosquito nets - because there are NO MOSQUITOS. Complete heaven for someone who suffers at the mouths of the critters.

Each hut has its own terrace or veranda and its own hammock - perfect for lazing around.

Don't expect lots to do because there is nothing to do except sit and watch the plentiful wildlife, gaze at the water both in the lagoon and the sea and chat to whoever else happens to be staying there. Although I can recommend a massage - just that little bit extra help to get to a state of total relaxation.

The food is tasty and there's lots of it - and despite the fact that you're a captive audience the drinks are very reasonably priced.

If you want luxury 5 star accommodation with room service, air con, wifi and all the other trimmings then don't come. There is no hot water in the rooms - sometimes the lights don't work and you will need a torch. The paths are uneven and there are no handrails on the steps.

But if you want peace and tranquility and a chance to live with nature then come and experience the charms of Dwarka.

We'll certainly be back to see it again

Thanks to Clemente and the boys for looking after us so well.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank romycat_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013

We stayed at Dwarka for 5 nights in January and it was a wonderful place to start our holiday in Goa! This is the place to go if you want to escape from the stress of life to a little haven of peace that feels very personal and off the main tourist trail.

The cottages are basic but tastefully done...nice and cool in the heat, very clean and cover all the necessities, including 24 hour electricity. Beautiful setting around the lagoon with views of the sea...we stayed in cottage "A" which meant a little walk to the beach and restaurant but it was more private and with a fantastic view. It is great that Clemente and Arlene have kept the number of cottages down even though there is room for more as it gives the resort a more exclusive and private feel.

The staff were very friendly and helpful and the food was fresh and delicious - if you fancy any extras just ask...we had a coconut picked specially and extra chillies were happily provided.
Supper on the beach around a bonfire was fantastic & my favourite part of the stay - chatting to Clemente, Arlene & extended family with a few drinks, great food and in such beautiful surroundings! It feel like we were visiting with family rather than staying at a resort!
Do take a cardigan or jumper as it does get a bit chilly at night.

We were lucky enough to see dolphins, both from the beach and on a little excursion on a local fishing boat! Aside from that it is more a place to unwind and totally relax (you can have a massage which I believe are great although did not have one myself) rather than a place for excursions, parties or lots of activity!

I would definitely recommend Dwarka to anyone who wants to escape from it all!

Room Tip: We specifically chose cottage A which meant a little walk around to the restaurant & beach but g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SaraStar7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2013

The madness that Goa has become in some places retreats as you head off the road and then over a field towards Dwarka. Thank gooness there are lots of willing hands to help with bags.
Actually you don't need anything at Dwarka except swim things and a wrap for the surprisingly cool evenings. The sweet and helpful staff "dealt with" the Russian element with good humoured resignation as if they have seen it all and I suppose they have! The techniques of washing with a bucket became a topic of conversation and made us think how wasteful we are with water at home. It was so quiet and very very dark at night which is a treat for those of us who live in cities. The food is simple but tasty and there is plenty of it.
I hope to return in the not so distant future.

Room Tip: All the huts are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phyl T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

It is so calm, peaceful, you will forget everything else and just want to close your eyes to soak in the beauty of it all- the clear lagoon, the blue sea, the pristine sand.. I read dozens of reviews and knew this place wouldn't be disappointing, but I went and discovered that it was pure bliss! Kudos to Clement and the boys for making Dwarka the perfect getaway in Goa. Each room is strategically located for a unique view of both the sea and the lagoon. Its tidy and has cozy double beds. The food is fresh, has variety and on top of it, is really very tasty!! It was served right on the beach in candlelight and to the sound of crashing waves :) There is a cliff you can climb up and get a nice view of the entire property. It's a treat to see the sun set over the sea crashing on the rocks, with wilderness all around you. I would definitely come here again and again :D
cheers!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roaming_myrtle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

My wife and I spent four nights in Dwarka and it was a highlight of our stay in India.I agree with the comments written before except for the power cut offs. We had electricity 24h.This is a place for peace, nature and empty beaches lovers. If you want to have holidays on secluded beach, far from noise, no sun beds bookings, good food and perfect but natural service then this is the place. What is more, the owners seem to have a policy of avoiding visitors from party loving, "noisy nations". Big plus. Thanks for all.
Visitors from Poland, Grzegorz & Joanna

Room Tip: choose a cottage on the side of main part of resort, otherwise you will have a longer distance to co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grzegorz912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

We visited Dwarka Eco Beach Resort for 5 nights in early January and it was a fantastic experience! I ended up proposing to my girlfriend there and now we're engaged :)

Pros:
- Very warm and friendly staff, they really made a big difference in us enjoying our stay.
- The place is much more beautiful and unique than we imagined!
- The huts are just gorgeous and offer such an authentic eco experience (yet we had a fully functioning bathroom with a shower).
- Surprisingly few bugs/mosquitos/flies around. We were expecting much worse. Though I still recommend you keep all your luggage/clothes tightly zipped and sleep with the window shutters closed as we did see the odd spider etc.
- Food was mostly good and fresh. Tandoori chicken bbq night was delicious! Since there are no fridges, every meal is prepared fresh and only enough is made for guests. Food choices were simple and basic but good. Mostly indian food for lunch and dinner which we like (not spicy though).
- Staff is very welcoming and helpful and are always smiling.
- The fresh river water was crystal clear and the river bed was mostly sandy and not a lot of silt or kelp/weeds (though you still find batches here and there).
- You can hear the sound of the crashing waves from the hut which was serene to sleep to.
- There is a hammock hung between two palm trees virtually infront of every hut. It was amazingly relaxing to soak up the sun and the view from there.
- The view of the hills from the beach is amazing and the walk on the beach is very scenic.
- At night you can go to the beach away from all the lights and watch the stars - we saw a few shooting stars!

Cons:
- The sea is a little rough so swimming there can be a bit dangerous at times
- They only have electricity from about 6pm to about 2am then they turn off the generator. So it makes it challenging to go to the bathroom if you wake up at night since it is pitch dark.
- The water kept running out during the day because the water tank kept running out. So we had to keep asking them to turn on the generator during the day to get water.
- Don't do the dolphin watching tour, really not worth it. We barely saw a couple of dolphin tails from far. Many boats chase the dolphins trying to see them so they scare them away.
- the place is overpriced compared to other beach huts but it does offer a unique and authentic experience with excellent service.
- The bed sheets were a bit stained which was a bit unsettling.
- Many beach hoppers come from other resorts because of the fantastic location which makes the beach sometimes busier than we'd like (but not too busy) and makes it difficult to find a tanning bed.

All in all a fantastic experience that we will remember forever and I highly recommend it. If you are looking to enjoy nature and the simple life yet have good service and basic conveniences covered in an amazingly beautiful location, you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Bring a torch! You will need it if you wake up in the middle of the night to go to the bathroom or i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samer A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dwarkagoa, Owner at Dwarka Eco Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2013

Hi samer, thanks for the lovely review..really appreciate your feedback..really sorry about the stained sheets..dosnt happen usually...will keep a closer watch...
with regards to the water running out, it can happen sometimes as out plumbing is all done with temporary fittings, keeping in mind that we have to dismantle all the fittings at the end of the season..thats why there is a chance of developing a leak and also sometimes occasions a guest has left a tap half open..thats we appreciate your feedback so that we can repair the leak and save the precios water..but you know what, its very much possible that the chap who is responsible for pumping the water, forgot !!
you will be Glad to know that we have just taken a temporary electrical connection, so we have lights on 24 hours...!!
we hope you will be back to dwarka sometime again in the future...regards..clemente

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Canacona
6.4 mi away
The LaLiT Golf & Spa Resort Goa
0.9 mi away
Om Sai Beach Huts
Om Sai Beach Huts
#1 of 10 in Agonda
571 reviews
7.2 mi away
The Leela Goa
The Leela Goa
#1 of 10 in Cavelossim
2,383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
The Tubki Resort
The Tubki Resort
#2 of 10 in Palolem
321 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Bay Agonda
The Bay Agonda
#2 of 10 in Agonda
183 reviews
1.4 mi away
Simrose
Simrose
#1 of 64 in Agonda
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dwarka Eco Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dwarka Eco Beach Resort

Address: Cola Beach Road | Mattimol, Canacona 403702, India
Location: India > Goa > South Goa District > Canacona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 163 Specialty Lodging in Canacona
Price Range: $151 - $209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a very exclusive 10 boutique cottage property having luxurious interiors, with attached baths with hot showers. All 10 cottages have SEA VIEWS and some have BOTH SEA as well as LAGOON view!! We provide a lot of privacy to our guests. The property is flanked by the beach and a fresh water lagoon. If you want to completely cut off from this crazy world, and if you need a little nourishment for your soul.....you will love Dwarka!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Dwarka Eco Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dwarka Eco Beach Hotel Canacona
Dwarka Eco Beach Resort Goa/Canacona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing