We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The joy of stepping off the world !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cola Beach Exclusive Tented Resort
Ranked #3 of 82 Canacona B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 9, 2012

I think we all dream (when we win the Lotto !) of escaping to a wonderful idyllic paradise with lapping waves, swaying palm trees, hot sun and golden sands where we can enjoy peace,tranquility and total relaxation !
For me Cola Beach is such a place ....and the great thing was that I didnt have to win the Lotto because its such an affordable price .
I just loved my beautiful tent....particularly the bathroom...what a joy.
I loved everything....the bliss of living on the beach (and having such comfort), the warm sea, the tranquility....the total relaxation.
My every need was met by Vixen and his helpful staff. I am dreaming of my return and I cant wait ...particularly as the winter descends on Europe. Enjoy !

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bettywhelan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (189)
There are newer reviews for Cola Beach Exclusive Tented Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

144 - 150 of 189 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2012

Yes, it's definitely one of the nicer places in Goa. And it is very calm and relaxed. However, there are quite a view points they could improve for the price they charge. First of all the food. It's tasty yes….but very simple. Then the environment: clean up behind the kitchen tent! They should also take down some of the coconuts from the trees. This can get dangerous, specially when there is light wind. The missing quality could be improved with very small effort. You just have to do it! Like at many places in India it's all about good management! Change the manager and change the attitude!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lecarre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2012

My OH and have been twice now but didn't get to visit Cola this year but we are looking forward to our next visit which we are hoping will be in 2013, we cannot recommend this wonderful place enough, tranquil setting, gorgeous Rajastani tent accommodation and Vixen and his crew are warm,friendly and attentive , food is lush!! a place away from the hustle and bustle of Goa. My fiance proposed to me on that very beach ( just by the big rock) he said to me he couldn't think of anywhere more perfect and he sure is right. Roll on our next visit. see you again very soon hopefully. Claire and Colin.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SunseaGoa6667
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2012

My friends Betty recently has been to this place and told me wonders about this beautiful place called Blue lagoon over there.She said she has never been to such a calm and peaceful place before.Luckily I had booked her stay through expedia and I got all the credit for a beautiful honeymoon.She told me things about this beautiful tents which they have which i cant express in words.

Room Tip: They have 2 categories of rooms.Tents are better.You can boo it through Expedia and choose Blue Lago...
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SandraRobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2012

We stayed in tent A (one of the closest to the beach on the ground level) and had an absolutely fantastic 1 night, 2 day stay. My husband has mobility problems and was assisted up and down the steps, which was really kind of them. There were a lot of steps, but they are quite shallow, with a walkway every 8 or so steps, making it easier to descend. The tents were basic, but fit for purpose and reasonably clean. There was a separate wet room/wc and a bedroom with twin beds and a mozzie net. About a 5 minute leisurely walk away there is a lagoon where you can swim with fishes. The beach is clean and deserted (apart from your fellow campers of course). It was a lovely experience and we may do this again when we return to Goa next year. The food was quite nice and the drinks were really cheap. Some ladies came from the village and danced for us on the evening; the same ladies turned up the following morning to clean the tents! They do tell you that all the ladies can say in English is "thank you". This isn't actually correct as I had a basic but understandable conversation with 2 of them and they were really lovely. The trip is reasonably priced and good value for money. We booked via our tour operator and a guide was present at all times. You can sunbathe, walk along the beach, play volley ball ... do whatever you like really ... it's your bit of paradise to enjoy as you please. TIP: Watch out for the very cute looking little kittys: despite the fact they come up to you and look at you adoringly (and have huge eyes like the kitty in Shrek); they're feral and have claws and know how to use them!! I found out the hard way ... ouch!! This is one of those trips that is so simple it's easy to overlook and be tempted by one of the more adventurous ones - but it's really not to be missed. Laid back and relaxing I think describes it quite well.

Room Tip: If you have mobility problems, a tent on the beach is a good choice as there are quite a few steps...
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wendyWestMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2012

In a state where most tourist views of the fine golden beaches is one in which they are largely obscured by a seemingly endless stretch of sun loungers and beach shacks, Cola Beach is often described as one of the last unspoiled beaches that survive here. The best really is unspoiled, primarily because it is privately owned and difficult to reach down narrow roads that end in 2-3km of unsurfaced dirt track winding down to the coast. At the end of this is a small bay, with a shore of the same golden sand backed by palm trees. This is how Goa must once have looked but is now the preserve of those willing and able to pay a little more. For those wanting to sample this Cola Beach trips, available through most of the tour agents along the coast, offer a holiday within a holiday, a mini break of calmness and beauty that for once live up to the advertising claims.
Located around two and a half hours by road from Candolim/Calangute or a little under two hours from Panjim, Cola Beach offers mainly overnight accommodation for which you should take an overnight bag, including swimwear a towel and any toiletries you will need. Don't forget your camera either!
The dirt road mentioned earlier ends just above the beach at a small wooden gate repeating the 'No entry' sign seen earlier on the road and from here you can see the small group of white tents spread among the palms. In truth this is not really a private beach and there is a right of access, but from the signage this does not seem to be the case and the tour operators discourage all but a few local fishermen. Set discretely back at the other end of the cove, near a covered area offering ayurvedic treatments, there are also a small number of quaint thatched roof cabins, with small verandas that belong to a competing concern, the Dwarka Eco Beach resort, offering a similar but slightly more expensive experience. This should not lead you to believe the beach will seem crowded. There are 9 twin bedded tents here and around 1/2 km of golden sand so especially if you are used to the popular beaches of North Goa this will seem pretty deserted and certainly feels exclusive.
The tents each have a small slate patio with a table and two beach/deck chairs and face seawards, though some have a slightly more restricted view due to other tents or the covered eating area and small bar set just off the beach. Inside there are twin beds, a couple of low tables and a heavy flap that covers the entrance to the slate floored rear that has a toilet, basic shower (cold only) and a heavy folding wash stand with tap, metal wash basin and mirror. It looks every bit as though it would have felt at home on a Victorian safari.
Elsewhere in the camp is there are a couple of hammocks and a handful of extra sun loungers and that's it! This is a place to forget your cares and chill out. Walk the sand, enjoy the sunset, watch out for a Kingfisher or passing Brahamin Kite and look for some of the gorgeous shells to be found along the shore. Perhaps the only source of possible disappointment relates to swimming. There is a remarkably small area marked out as safe for swimming that at first sight seems unreasonable. Wait until the tide goes out however and the reason becomes clear as more and more rocks are exposed. These are also formed of the same laterite as those whose sharp surfaces you can see here and there along the shoreline - you would not want to brush or swim into these when unseen below the surface.
The native boats drawn up at a couple of points on the beach are not here for show. Rise early enough in the morning and you may see one out in the bay and watch its owner drawing it up the beach over wooden runners laid on the sand, or perhaps mending their nets. Also for early risers are the many small crabs that burrow into the sand here, undisturbed by the thousands of feet that cross other Goan beaches daily.
For those who book an overnight stay here it includes a pleasant buffet lunch (mention when asked if you are vegetarian, pescetarian etc.) served around 1.30pm, afternoon tea and biscuits at 4.30pm and dinner with a few additional help yourself offerings at 7.30pm. Additional drinks are purchased at the bar with prices clearly displayed on a large board. This builds up a tab for your tent that is settled on the morning of departure.
Shortly after dinner there is, at the time of writing, a display by a group of local ladies who are students of Goan dance, introduced by the gentleman who plays a kind of small harmonium for them and displays an obvious passion for what they are doing. Using a single slow step for much of the time and using either rhythmically beaten sticks or bearing oil lamps I'm their hands and balanced atop their heads, they work through a series of routines. Whether you enjoy it or find it a little tedious after a while depends on your own taste, but it has taken a good deal of practice and it is courteous to offer a tip at the end. Photography, for which you will need a flash or video light as the display is not that well lit is perfectly acceptable.
Before retiring you can sit around a small bonfire and have a final drink or discuss the day with some of your fellow guests, or perhaps take a nighttime stroll along the beach to take in the stars.
Departure will almost certainly be unwelcome and occurs as soon as the bus returns which should be around 11.00am. Before this you will have had breakfast and perhaps taken a final walk on a beach with no-one else in sight. Alternatively, you have the option of a 45 minute power boat ride along the coast that as I write is priced at 300/- per person.
Checkout is at 10.00am and it's safe to leave your overnight bags grouped near the centre of the camp while you make use of the hammocks or loungers as you wait. This is perhaps where the only real criticism of the Cola Beach trip arises. There is a welcoming reception on arrival, but nothing on departure. Particularly if the bus returns a little early you can find yourself being called and left to make your way back up the steps, ignored as the new guests are welcomed. This can leave you with the sensation of being hustled out of the way and rather undermines the earlier sense of hospitality. Even if this is the case however, it should not put you off. This is a truly relaxing place to stay that will almost certainly leave you with very welcome and possibly quite romantic memories.

You can view the website at http://www.colabeach.com/ for more information.

1  Thank Geobar01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2012

I stayed here with two nights during our fortnight in Goa and didnt want to leave. This is a wonderful, secluded spot where the only sound you here is the sea. We stayed in tent "Evening Primrose" the closest tent to the water (only just as they are all really near). The tent had a double bed (with mossie net) and table, and a basic washroom. The tent was basic but really clean. We booked direct from the UK with Peter Fernandez - he didnt ask for a deposit to be sent but said he would meet us on arrival. He emailed me when we arrived to say it was OK and he would just get us picked us up on the day agreed - which he did.

The food was superb - kingfish cooked on a barbecue was wonderful. The guys were great and couldnt do enough for you. The drinks are reasonably priced and a wide choice.

The first night we were there, there was only one other couple - and on the second day there was only the two of us - it was like our own private beach - fantasic.

We went out both morning with the local fisherman (only a few pounds) to see the dolphins - the first day we only saw one very briefly, but on the second day it was fabulous - a whole family swimming very close to our little boat - what an experience.

Would highly recommended this resort to anyone who wants to get away from it and just chill in paradise.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bubbles1612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Canacona
6.8 mi away
The Tubki Resort
The Tubki Resort
#2 of 9 in Palolem
300 reviews
12.6 mi away
Taj Exotica Resort & Spa Goa
6.1 mi away
Bhakti Kutir
Bhakti Kutir
#5 of 19 in Canacona
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
The LaLiT Golf & Spa Resort Goa
1.4 mi away
The Bay Agonda
The Bay Agonda
#1 of 7 in Agonda
128 reviews
0.8 mi away
Dwarka Eco Beach Resort
Dwarka Eco Beach Resort
#4 of 141 in Canacona
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cola Beach Exclusive Tented Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cola Beach Exclusive Tented Resort

Address: Cola Village Matimol | Matimol, Canacona 403603, India
Location: India > Goa > South Goa District > Canacona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 82 B&Bs / Inns in Canacona
Price Range: $96 - $174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is a lux tents resort on a secluded unspoiled beach in Goa. All tents have attached toilets and showers. Price is per tent for 2 person per night with B&B. Cola beach yoga holiday and retreat starting from 5th Jan 2015 at cola beach. For beginner or Those who wants to strengthen the core of your existing practice in Hatha & Ashtanga.3 nights package all inclusive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Cola Beach Exclusive Tented Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cola Beach Exclusive Tented Hotel Canacona
Cola Beach Exclusive Tented Resort Goa/Canacona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing