We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a visit”
Review of Souza Lobo

Souza Lobo
Ranked #9 of 412 Restaurants in Calangute
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $10
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Family owned traditional goan restaurant specialising in seafood and goan food with live music every night,situated right on the main calangute beach.
Bengaluru, India
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
Reviewed March 31, 2014

I could finally visit Souza Lobo this time since I always missed it in my previous trips. We didnt try too many seafood dishes except prawns, and found it to be quite good. Drinks are slightly on the higher side. Tables are well placed with a good view of the Calangute beach. Service is good. Staff is reasonably friendly. They accept cards which is a good thing in Goa! Worth a visit I would say.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank abhijeetkol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,660 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    628
    686
    220
    76
    50
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Goan Food - It has to be Souza Lobo”
Reviewed March 29, 2014

Souza Lobo is the best place to have goan food... One meal in goa has to be with Souza Lobo... Be it Goan Prawns Curry... White Snipper... Fish Vendaloo... It is becoming difficult for me to write... Each dish I am writing and it is reminding me of the yummy food... Well for vegetarian - it is also the best place... half of my family is vegetarian but they too love to go to Souza Lobo...

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nitin_Tatiwala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noida, India
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“Authentic Goan food”
Reviewed March 27, 2014

To put in few words, it is a gastronomic paradise for sea food lover. You should try the Kingfish in Raichad masala(spice) if you like it hot and Goan. The fish in Goan curry was an absolute delight. The surpirse element is the desserts, try any and it will not fail you.

We tried a the chicken in green masala, honestly it was passable. You dont go to Goa and have chicken. The lobster was raided and completed in no time.So, you can imagin how good it is. The crab meat we tried was soft and succulent.

The service was an equal delight, helpful for someone who is not a regular with sea food. The place lives up to the legend of one of the finest Goan food in North Goa.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sachinchadha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Better food than all the shacks on Calangute”
Reviewed March 18, 2014

The Availability of the Seafood cuisine was a relief and most shacks and restaurants had the basic king-fish or basa to offer but at Souza we were treated to list of prawns,mussels,crab,squids and fish!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rohan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Authentic. ”
Reviewed March 14, 2014 via mobile

This place serves authentic Goan food and drinks like fenni. We tried couple of dishes and all were very good. It's not very cheap for India but this is Goa. The waiters were nice.

Helpful?
Thank Katja S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Souza Lobo also viewed

Calangute, North Goa District
Baga, North Goa District
 
Calangute, North Goa District
Calangute, North Goa District
 

Been to Souza Lobo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing