We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of my fav and repeat places for good Goan food”
Review of Souza Lobo

Souza Lobo
Ranked #9 of 411 Restaurants in Calangute
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $10
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Family owned traditional goan restaurant specialising in seafood and goan food with live music every night,situated right on the main calangute beach.
Bengaluru, India
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“One of my fav and repeat places for good Goan food”
Reviewed January 1, 2014

My fav place in North Goa, if I am in Goa I must have at least one meal here. Awesome place, old joint lost of history, overlooking the beach, take a table closer to the windows. The king fish curry rice is deadly, you can ask for more fried fish v/s curry fish if you like fried fish more. Their sea food platter is to die for, has enough varieties very well made and will easily server 2-3. The service that many people don;t like is fine with me, laid back, relaxed but courteous.

What they can do better - have machines to catch flies, can get bothersome.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank minmaxmim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,646 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    624
    680
    219
    74
    49
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Redcar, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Not what we expected”
Reviewed December 28, 2013

We visited this restaurant a party of 3 after waiting in a cue to be seated the place was buzzing with customers we were very excited about trying the lobster after reading reviews on trip adviser. The staff were ok nothing special although we waited for nearly an hour to be served I had the the lobster which was ok but quite small my partner had lobster thermadore which was disgusting and looked and tasted like bechamal sauce minus the the lobster meat our friend decided to go with the beef steak which was more like a beef burger we ate what we could pallet (being very hungry) and left.This was not the best service or food although we were glad we tried it we will not be going there again.Quite expensive to £14 for the smallest lobster and then they go up in price.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank maz s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thane
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good place for dinner”
Reviewed December 26, 2013

Good for a family outing in goa.The food is excellent. Dinner time is excellent to seat outside.The menu has a good choice.Drinks choice is worth.we tried all the seefood dishes in the span of 5days but what i did not like about is the service.The steward prefer White skin on their table and they give a good service to them while the indians are left alone. the drinks and the food is just bought and kept on the table and the guest have to serve themself while on the foreigners table it is been served, and taken care otherwise.I had asked for a glass of hot water,2 times i had to return it as i was just lukewarm.I had to explain this thing to the Senior most steward inspite of that i got lukewarm water. thats the only problem with the people otherwise overall a good place to be

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank susheer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Authentic Goa cuisine”
Reviewed December 25, 2013

This is located right on the calangute beach.
If you want to taste authentic goan food this is the place to be. I tried fish curry rice and it was superb.
The hotel is better than a shack but not a modern ac restaurant.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Adarsh K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, Delhi, India
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Awesome crab curry!!!”
Reviewed December 19, 2013

Though it may sound brutal but i had to cut through atleast 20 pieces of CRAB SHELL!!!!! albeit with the help of a shell breaker..but the curry tasted awesome with glorious goan/coconut flavors...to top it up the open ambience was heartwarming..a must try...

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank prateek a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Souza Lobo also viewed

Calangute, North Goa District
Baga, North Goa District
 
Baga, North Goa District
Calangute, North Goa District
 
Vagator, North Goa District
Calangute, North Goa District
 

Been to Souza Lobo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing