We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent food and location”
Review of Souza Lobo

Souza Lobo
Ranked #11 of 410 Restaurants in Calangute
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $10
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids, Scenic view, Bar scene, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Family owned traditional goan restaurant specialising in seafood and goan food with live music every night,situated right on the main calangute beach.
Gurgaon, India
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Excellent food and location”
Reviewed February 27, 2013

traditional goan food very delicious right at calaungate beach. it gives pretty nice view of beach while you take your meal.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tarunversatile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,607 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    603
    666
    215
    74
    49
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
51 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Very few places in Goa where they haven’t altered the traditional recipe & one gets authentic sea food…”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Its amongst very few places which haven’t altered the traditional recipe to cater to the taste buds of foreigners. I tried there tandoor masala tiger prawn & it was spicy & yummy, if you can handle the spices then do tell them to make it spicy & trust me you will not complain. Spice scared people they have things made in continental style or less spicy manner as well so don’t let this review scare you & go ahead give it a try. I also ordered chicken vindaloo & tasted a true goan recipe, it was unique & did placate my taste buds. There are always numerous shacks on the beach but you must try this place. Highly recommended.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gaurav S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune
Level Contributor
737 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,053 helpful votes
“Lovely sea food/sea BBQ food with music”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

We ate once in the Souza Lobo during our Goa trip. It is amazing place to have sea food. Located on very busy Calangute beach so better to avoid during day time
Plenty of vegetarian options are available. Taste wise I like the restaurant and will love to visit again.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank priteshkulkarni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Awesome Food!!”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

The last time I was at Goa I missed having food at Souza Lobo, this time my husband insisted we visit this place and it was so worth it. Very courteous staff too. I truly enjoyed the food and the overall experience. I honestly wish I could have visited this place on an emptier stomach ;-).

Food that we tried:
1. King Prawns
2. Prawn Fried Rice
3. Beef Fry
4. Pork Fry

It was worth the money and the taste too. Do visit if you like to try authentic Goan food.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Agnes2026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Authentic and nice goan food”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Try Goan Fish curry rice and pork vindaloo

Don't forget prawn stuffed in papad. Its yummy yummy yummy.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Shantanu B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Souza Lobo also viewed

Calangute, North Goa District
Baga, North Goa District
 
Calangute, North Goa District
Calangute, North Goa District
 

Been to Souza Lobo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing