We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Goan Food on the Beach in Calangute” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Souza Lobo

Souza Lobo
Ranked #11 of 408 Restaurants in Calangute
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $10
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Family owned traditional goan restaurant specialising in seafood and goan food with live music every night,situated right on the main calangute beach.
Corona, California
Level Contributor
136 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Great Goan Food on the Beach in Calangute”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

This was the only restaurant we visited twice in Goa. Located on the beach, it has tremendous food at very reasonable prices. It's a little hard to find. From the traffic circle, walk straight down towards the beach. Just immediately before you get to the beach there's an alley to the left (with a great geode shop). Go down the dark alley and Souza Lobo's at the end. There are two seating options - indoors with A/C and outside with a view of the Arabian Sea. The chicken biryani was outstanding as was the prawn curry rice and the chicken xacuti. I think you have to be a local to appreciate the sausage fried rice. The wait staff are great and they have a full bar (but steer clear of the Chardonnay). Had the ice cream twice with no ill effects. Best biryani in Calangute - Infantaria; best fried calamari - Redondas; but best overall - Souza Lobo.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank tmgarrett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,573 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    590
    651
    214
    71
    47
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Very good Goan food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

we ate here on a recommendation from the guy who owned our hotel in Candolim. We took a taxi along to Calangute and walked down a bumpy beach track which was dark an uninviting, though once inside we were pleasantly surprised. The atmosphere was lovely, service was good and the view over the sea was beautiful.
I don't remember all that we ordered, though I do remember a chicken kadai and a pork vindaloo which were both excellent with a nice blend of spices. Bill was really reasonable and we wouldn't hesitate to eat here again should we return to Goa.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank pr0fumo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baga, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The best goan food place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

When in doubt about goan food places, go to Suza lobo. In all likelyhood you would have to wait for a table in December but the food more than makes up for the hunger pangs. We ordered the masala fried prawns and licked the platter clean and then promptly ordered another plate of masala fried prawns. Its is the best dish and Suza lobo is the most apt place to consume it. The service is quick and the food never disappoints you.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Shazia_Das
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nagpur, India
Level Contributor
56 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Awesome!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

Souza Lobo is just an awesome experience. Everything about the place was perfect. Ambience, staff courtesy and most important the truly delicious food!!

We went there on Christmas day- Lunchtime and had to wait for 45 mins for our turn, but it was well worth it.

The staff was extremely helpful, was well aware of the menu and were actually properly suggesting and helping us to order our food. We had an enjoyable relaxed lunch and were not rushed into anything.Ask for Vikas, he is one smart and helpful chap.

Prawns, Crab curry in traditional clay pot was fabulous. Prawn filled papad was another delicacy and for me the prize winner was Fish crafeal - superb!! We already went there again in this trip and shall surely revisit Souza Lobo.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank exchangie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good Goan food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

There's has been some good reviews about this place especially about goan food and wanted to give it a try. I was not disappointed.
We had a meal of masala fried prawns, chicken xacuti, squid amobotik with parata and rice. We really enjoyed the spice and flavour of all of them. In my opinion, prawns were must try if, you really like the Goan food. I don't have much exposure to Goan food so far, but this is the best goan food I had till date. My quest will continue for my next goan holidays.

Other than food, I'm not convinced about location or ambience, as the whole place seem to crowded all time and this is definitely not my type of place. But for a great Goan food, this is a must visit restaurant.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ptomy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Souza Lobo also viewed

 

Been to Souza Lobo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing