We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty food, Value for Money”
Review of Souza Lobo

Souza Lobo
Ranked #8 of 411 Restaurants in Calangute
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $10
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Family owned traditional goan restaurant specialising in seafood and goan food with live music every night,situated right on the main calangute beach.
Pune, India
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Tasty food, Value for Money”
Reviewed November 2, 2011

I was given the reference by a taxi driver whom i met in fort aguada. I went there around 1:15pm with my wife & 2 kids. All of us were tired & it was really hot. When i asked for a table, i was asked to wait for 45 minutes. We were ready to leave, then they asked to wait in the waiting area. There were around 25 people waiting & it was ari conditioned. So we decided to wait. Our trun came after 50 minutes, we ahd already decided what we want. The order came in 10 minutes & food was really good. It was worth waiting. All of us enjoyed the food.
Restaurent was right on the beach, good view
Our family had a real good experience.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vazhipokan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,647 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    624
    681
    219
    74
    49
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Lovely Location”
Reviewed October 28, 2011

A wonderful place to drink and spend good 3-4hours. However, Vegetarians would not have a lot of option. We had a blasted and the staff is pretty helpful

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank sneha_vish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Udaipur, India
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Much hyped average restaurant”
Reviewed October 26, 2011

I went to this hyped restaurant with family had to wait more than half an hour. The food is just an average with poor service. The food is quite expensive for the taste. I had asked 3 different deaf looking waiters for a spoon and till now i have not given!! Orange clad waiters definetly need some better hospitality training, including the manager.One can find better quality foods either in calangate or candolim areas then wasting your time and money here

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DinRa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Food Joint!”
Reviewed October 23, 2011

A friend suggested that I visit, Souza Lobo, I took some time to go there, but I was not disappointed, the place is absolutely clean, offering a great view of the Calangute beach, unlike Britto's there are no flies, they have fans to keep away the heat.
The food is great, the waiters tend to listen to you and prepare food as per your request.
Sea food/Goan is not their only specialty.
Overall great value for money

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank SteKris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“awesome view, good food, not-so-friendly waiters”
Reviewed October 21, 2011

food is good, but not a whole lot of variety. pork tasted nice too. good desserts.
drinks are tad expensive - but well, you are drinking 'on the beach'.

Visited November 2010
Helpful?
Thank crak_in
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Souza Lobo also viewed

Calangute, North Goa District
Baga, North Goa District
 
Calangute, North Goa District
Calangute, North Goa District
 
Baga, North Goa District
Calangute, North Goa District
 

Been to Souza Lobo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing