We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this place”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Ronil Royale

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Ronil Royale
Ranked #39 of 110 Hotels in Calangute
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Love this place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2012

I stayed here with family we had two rooms near the swimming pool ..the rooms are very clean,big and nice with small private balconies..love the food here but the service has to be improved as the service for food is really very slow it take atleat and hour to get your food.
its in th ebest location walking distance everywhere,night life shopping,other restaurants etc
would recommend this place really enjoyed my stay and worth the amount paid..

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mohit s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    26
    15
    3
    4
See reviews for
11
20
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2012

The location of the hotel is great.. Beach, Tito's, Britto's all at 5-min walk.. Every morning of our trip we could go to the beach directly and go around other beaches and sight-seeing activities post lunch.. Awesome location.. Though there is traffic on the road outside because everyone in Goa hires a Activa/Bike for moving around (economical and easy transport option).. The rooms are decent in 2350 tariff.. The staff is exceptionally helpful, very friendly.. The inclusive breakfast was a huge disappointment. We didnt eat breakfast even a single morning at the hotel. But there are great restaurants nearby.. Overall a comfortable hotel..

Room Tip: Standard AC room is good enough. Take a room in B or C block. There is no noise from the road and re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kbhagia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felixstowe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2012

Just returned from 3 weeks in India, had two weeks at the Ronil Royal, Bagga Road, Calangute. The staff we fantastic,helpful friendly, nothing was too much trouble. Food was good and reasonbly priced as were the drinks, pint of Kingfisher rs 80/- . However, our holiday was ruined by a mass influx of 'Russians'. This hotel now seems to cater mostly for Russians. We were the only English couple there. They were up all night, shouting drinking jumping in the pool and dragging sunbeds about. They eventually go to bed about 6am and sleep all day. We eventually got the bus to south Goa and had a few nights peace and quiet in a beach hut at Palolem it was brilliant!! Went via local buses cost rs 160/- for two of us.
If you want a quiet holiday aviod the Ronil or should i call it ' Little Moscow'. We complained to the staff but as with most Indians they are quiet peaceful people and failed to confront the Russians. We have been visiting Goa for 12 years now and this was our last. We will be heading off to pastures new, we feel mass tourism has now ruined was was once a beautiful place.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2011

I stayed in Cidade Goa for two days and decided to move to Ronil (closer to Baga and half the price).
Pro's:
1.Good friendly staff
2.Cheap and great location
3.Good Pool
4.Clean room and bathroom with hot and cold water
5.Food price and quality is good (room service)

Con's:
1.No internet connection available in the rooms, have to go to the lobby for Wi-Fi Connectivity
2.The "complimentary" breakfast was bad
3.The AC in the room was an old unit, started leaking, filling the room with water
4. Maintenance folks at the hotel lack common sense, using drilling machines at 11 PM right outside the room

Room Tip: Chose a standard room with AC, since you wont be spending too much time in the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SteKris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2011

The location of this hotel is brilliant. Easy access to both Baga and Calangute beach.

The location is so brilliant that you would only need to walk up to the popular nightclubs and pubs located on the Mambos Titos stretch.

The rooms are comfy and the toilets are decent. They have a small pool which is ok if you want to take a dip to cool off. Changing rooms are built near the pool. However when you have a beach near you why would you want to jump into a pool.

The famous Britto's and Suza Lobo restaurants are 5 mins by scooter. All in all very conveniently located and pretty comfortable to stay in.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank C00lwave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Helier, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2011

Stayed here for 2 nights, the hotel has a nice pool that is life-guarded through the day. The rooms are average and the double beds are quite small. Theres hot water and a balcony to relax on and Calangute beach is a 5min walk. Taxis and moped hire on the door!
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9ktOxhqkZKk
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8jb4ywTbrCY

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank turbominicooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2010

We have been married just over 4 months now and I wanted to surprise my wife by taking her for a second honeymoon, only this time within India.....

Goa is one of my favorite places in the world, I know the place very well and hence chose Ronil Royal for its close proximity to Baga Beach, Economic pricing and good service.

The hotel is a popular name hence it was easy to locate them. We had a checkin time of 12pm and we arrived at 6am in the morning.... The counter staff was sleeping, the security woke him up and he was kind enough to give us the room 6 hours prior to our checking without any extra charge....... That was really sweet of them.

The hotel exterior is simple yet quite good. The rooms are not really great but very neatly maintained. Room service can be really a pain particularly in low budgeted hotels but this wasnt the case at Ronil Royal. We were pretty satisfied with the service.

The food menu is also good and some dishes were actually out of the world particularly the fish curry with rice....

The staff were kind enough to shift me to a room facing the pool.

Just outside the hotel, you will find two wheeler owners who rent the vehicles for around 200rs per day, the petrol is also supplied by them for 60rs per litre. This is the same price available at all places hence to get this at your doorstep is really great considering we had a limited days for holiday.

The beaches are walkable distance, particularly baga beach.... whcih is around 10 mins walk.

The hotel staff also arranged a local taxi for us back to the airport and even negotiated the price on our behalf.

In all I would say that we really got the value for our money spent.... In additional we had astounding memories of our second Honeymoon in goa

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Avil_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calangute
0.2 mi away
Casa Baga
Casa Baga
#15 of 25 in Baga
3.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bonanza
Hotel Bonanza
#9 of 25 in Baga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mira Hotel
Mira Hotel
#50 of 110 in Calangute
4.0 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Ticlo Resorts
Ticlo Resorts
#34 of 110 in Calangute
3.5 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cavala Seaside Resort
0.0 mi away
Keys Ronil Resort
Keys Ronil Resort
#4 of 25 in Baga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ronil Royale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ronil Royale

Property: The Ronil Royale
Address: Saunta Vaddo, Calangute 403516, India
Location: India > Goa > Calangute
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Calangute
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Ronil Royale 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your The Ronil Royale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ronil Royale Hotel Calangute
The Ronil Royale Goa/Calangute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing