We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dont stay here even if they offer night for free... I mean it....”
Review of Avantika Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Avantika Resort
Ranked #93 of 110 Hotels in Calangute
New Delhi, India
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Dont stay here even if they offer night for free... I mean it....”
Reviewed November 8, 2011

I took yatra.com fly n stay package to Goa and selected this pathetic so called resort. It is not even a dharamshala. I am just copying the email that I have dropped to Yatra guys as well...

Hi Amit,

We had horrible experience with this so called resort. Actually its not even a resort.

Some key observations:

1) Cockroaches roaming regularly in the room.

2) Dirty Towels and blankets.

3) No electricity backup (for hours we were without electricity and had candle lights). Imagine 33-34 temp and no light. This happened twice.

4) Poor Service (We had to wait literally for 15 min for plates for breakfast. When we objected, the receptionist taunted that it takes time to get plates)

5) Pool was dirty. Morever, pool timings were 9am-6pm. Obviously tourist will be out in this time. I needed a dip after I came back from my day excursion but I was not allowed to do so. And when I objected, the receptionist said(in his usual bad tone) that in no resort, you will find late evening pool timings. AND FYI: Last time I was in Lemon Tree Amrante, Candolim and always used to take late evening dips.

6) There was no flexibility in checkout timings. 10.30 means max 11. They didn't even allowed 1 hour and said that tourists are waiting in his Boss's office which was completely untrue.

7) The behavior of particularly the receptionist: Mr Radhey Shyam was very bad. He was always loud mouthed and never heard our issues. He was always upto altercations.

There were plenty of other people we met during breakfast and all of them had similar complaints. All of them were through travel websites only.

In short, I had horrible time in this resort.

Is Yatra such an irresponsible company that they will tie up with any resort just because it is cheap??? You guys never ever validated the condition of this resort. If you dont believe in my feedback, please go through what people have written on tripadvisor.

I want to escalate this to your management. Please forward this email to the concerned person.

Regards,
ankit

Room Tip: Dont even think about staying here.. You will ruin your trip...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Ankit_Kakkar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    15
    12
    14
    28
See reviews for
24
25
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Navi Mumbai, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2011

Please avoid and pay a little more somewhere else. The place is not at all maintained and yes as per earlier reviews there are cockroaches in the rooms. Bathrooms are big but not at all clean. the swimming pool size is 50% of the photograph and it was not at all clean. I doubt whether they really clean the same in 15 days also. In case you wanna just roam around in Goa and come to sleep in the hotel , then only choose this one. the only plus point was the room service.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mvtandon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Calangute hotels

Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2011

overall its a budget hotel at a very good location.the rooms are big enough to accomodate you,at such a price u cant get a better deal.the hotel is having a small pool,a very small restaurant along with a bar.the staff is good and helpful.but cockroaches in rooms as well as kitchen make you you feel like .........horrible!!!
so if you are planning for avantika resort or you can call it as a cockroach resort........better take along a cockroach HIT...

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank lovel1440
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaipur, India
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2011

We booked this hotel for our weekend stay in Goa, Some of the websites were showing the hotel is near main area, and the good and famous beaches are near by. The location was perfect but the disappointment started with the time when we checked in. The room they gave us was stinking, some weird smell was all around in the room. We asked to change the room but they said its only possible in the morning since the hotel is full. Bed sheets were full of dirty spots. there was no hot water in the bathroom.

Morning when we checked the hotel was entirely empty. no buffet breakfast arrangement. the pool was dirty.

over all the experience was bad. some how we spent three days and left.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DocSheena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bangalore
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2010

We had been here in August when it was raining. Take the pool facing rooms.
pros:
1. Located near to calanguate bus stop and is very good for reaching any places in north goa, old goa within a day.
2. Can book vehicle from hotel and is provided with very short notice
3. Has a in house restaurant which is open late and taste is good. need to inform earlier for availability of food.
4. Has swimming pool ( small ) and AC, mini refrigerator in room.

Cos:
-------------
1. Approach road is not good.
2. Rooms are little stinking @ times.
3. did not get enfield bikes from hotel.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vivekmattur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
delhi
1 review
Reviewed October 17, 2010

Location - Good, Food - Average, Staff - Good, Management - Poor,Cockraoches - In abundance, Swimming pool - Average. Overall not a memorable stay.
There are lot of good hotels at same location and same price.
You are suggested to check the check out timings especailly if you have taken holiday package as few surprises would be there at end of tour.

DW

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amanjind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sangli
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2010

I got a free passes for 3 day 2 night, from some schemes. Me and my two brothers went for the journey. It is the place to live only. This hotel is inside, you can not see the sea from there, not at all see facing but THIS IS A GOOD OPTION FOR BUDGET TRIP. As it is not a sea facing the rates are avg. and so affordable. We stayed there. and roam around the GOA. They have Swimming pool there so not a prob for relaxation. But I felt management was not sooooo cooperative.

But ok that was understanding. In short, It was a good for budget trip.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rajeshshah01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calangute
0.0 mi away
The Rivasa Resort
The Rivasa Resort
#92 of 110 in Calangute
189 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Park Calangute Goa
The Park Calangute Goa
#7 of 110 in Calangute
535 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hyatt Place Goa Candolim
Hyatt Place Goa Candolim
#12 of 65 in Candolim
469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Estrela Do Mar Beach Resort
Estrela Do Mar Beach Resort
#19 of 110 in Calangute
1,886 reviews
0.0 mi away
Casa De Goa Boutique Resort
Casa De Goa Boutique Resort
#4 of 110 in Calangute
737 reviews
0.0 mi away
Vila Goesa Beach Resort
Vila Goesa Beach Resort
#88 of 209 in Calangute
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avantika Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avantika Resort

Property: Avantika Resort
Address: Porva Baddo Opposite Shanti Durga Temple, Calangute 403516, India
Location: India > Goa > North Goa District > Calangute
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #93 of 110 Hotels in Calangute
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Avantika Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Avantika Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avantika Resort Goa/Calangute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing